We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! THAT’S WHAT I CALL AN AMAZING CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #12 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW! THAT’S WHAT I CALL AN AMAZING CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

I’m passionate about a great customer experience. I’ve built my career in the Hospitality industry, traveled throughout the world “bench- marking” world class customer experiences, and spend much of my time helping my clients create even better experiences for their customers.
When an unexpected experience comes along that really knocks my socks off, as one did this past weekend at the Epic Hotel Miami (a Kimpton Hotel), I feel I really must share this example of excellence.

The trip down to Miami started with long flight delays due to severe thunderstorms, and, following the cancellation of the flight, ended with an impromptu car rental and four hour drive. Upon arrival at the Epic, we were tired, frustrated, and ready to pack it in. However, there was just enough time to dash up to the room, change, and dash back out to our appointment. Thank goodness check in was fast and friendly, and the room was even better than expected.

I arrived 30 mins. too late for the breakfast seating the next morning, and lunch seating wouldn’t begin for another 30 minutes. Ah well, to the pool bar I went, hoping to round up something tasty. At this point I was starving and happy to munch on an orange wedge. We were greeted by Cesso, the attendant, who told us that breakfast had ended but that he would be happy to see if the Chef wouldn’t mind preparing us a few eggs.

Within minutes, Cesso had taken an ordinary poolside table and created one of the best breakfast experiences I’ve ever had . . . complete with omelets, pastries, amazing coffee, linens, and fresh fruits. Ok, that was pretty cool. He then lingered to tell us a little about the area and make sure we were satisfied with our meal.

After breakfast, the weather had turned sunny and I decided to work by the pool. Cesso again appeared, selected the perfect spot, set up my chair cover, headrest, and umbrella, and brought over some fresh water. Within minutes of getting settled in, the weather turned stormy and Cesso was there in an instant. He quickly offered the complimentary use of one of the beautiful poolside cabanas, where I could continue to work during the rain. Once the storm passed, he set up new chairs by the pool and, not wanting to leave his great care, we ordered lunch in the afternoon.

Here I was, in Biscayne Bay Miami, with hundreds of great restaurants within easy access, and I would up having lunch by the pool three days in a row. I know, it sounds excruciating. My point is that the atmosphere was beautiful, the food was excellent, and the service was amazing. The entire experience was so positive, I had no need to go in search of anything else (at least until dinner!)

Over the course of my four night stay, I continuously encountered Kimpton staff members who went out of their way to treat me as if I were a welcome friend. The guest reception employees were warm and friendly, the valet and hotel front door attendants never failed to “welcome me back” or wish me a pleasant day, and I just can’t say enough about Cesso. Happily buzzing around the pool area (and working his tail off), attending to each guest as if they were his only concern, he may have just set a new standard in guest experience. He may also be one of the Kimpton’s greatest assets.

I have always enjoyed staying at a Kimpton hotel, but this stay certainly sealed the deal. I highly recommend taking a trip down to check it out.

Room Tip: I'd call and talk to the reservation staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaB-ActualizeGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
LisaB
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that our staff, especially Cesso, took good care of you. We are happy to hear you felt pampered and spoiled while being our guest.
Please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,173
    642
    194
    99
    67
See reviews for
631
1,174
147
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

The Epic is one of the nicest, warmest, fun and hip hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff is warm but professional, helpful, knowledgable and friendly. It is such a pleasure to stay at a hotel that makes you feel like you add to them by just being there. We have been going there since the Epic opened and the staff always remembers us. Now I try to plan all of my hotel stays at Kimpton Properties but especially the Epic in Miami. The only tip you need is if you need anything, just ask and it will be taken care of. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.
Sharon
Winter park FL

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonwhite333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Sharonwhite333:
WOW! What a greed feedback -thank you so much! We are excited to hear that you ‘Fell In Love With Us”. We are looking forward to welcoming you back – at the EPIC or at any other Kimpton Hotel.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

This was one of the best hotel experience that I have had. The property is gorgeous. The amenities are quite satisfying. The in-hotel dining at Area 31 is very good. The staff goes out of there way to make one feel welcome and cared for. I have no reservations in reccomending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

Passed 4 nights in the EPIC hotel, together with a large group of colleagues. I was impressed by the overall quality of the hotel and the service (in most cases). Compliments to the chief not only on the 16th floor, but also for the buffets: reaching this level of quality for more than 100 guests is not an easy task!

Only flaw: the quality of the housekeeping. Cleaning was "so so", and often all but on time (one day, they cleaned my room after 17.00, despite the signal "please clean room" switched on at 8.00.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarosassoneCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
CarosassoneCH
Thank you for taking the time and posting your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear that your room was not serviced timely – please accept my apologies. However, I am happy to see that our Executive Chef was able to impress you with the quality and presentation of the food in our restaurant and during your meetings.
I hope that you and your colleagues will be our guests in the near future again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

My wife and I travel a lot and often are the expectations regarding hotels not forfilled.
Epic hotel however far exceeded all our expectations. A fantastic staff make you feel welcome from arrival to departure.
Service as this hotel provides is in a class of its own and is always present without being intrusive.
We stayed at the club level, one bedroom suite with fantastic views of the Miami bay.
Club level is more expensive option but is without doubt a good option if one is looking for something special.
We were in addition so fortunate to have Lucia and Mark who took care of us in a wonderful way and gave the golden touch to our stay!
Convinced? ...we will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul71220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Paul71220
Thank you for such a great review. I am thrilled to see that we were able to exceed your expectations and that our staff took good care of you. I am looking forward to your return.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Epic in late January. He had a business conference in the area, and I just went along for some time away. He booked the room through Orbitz, and we didn't know until we checked in that we had a room on the "Club Level." This was such a surprising luxury! We loved the service in the Club Room; Lucia was wonderful, so cheerful and polite every morning, and great to chat with. I often stopped in for a snack or a drink while he was away at the conference, and I went about the business of my day. The Exhale Spa was great too; I got an amazing pedicure there (1/2 off with the voucher we received at check-in!) We even made it into Zuma one night even though there was a 2 month waiting list--we ate at the sushi bar, which was wonderful--one of the best meals (and sushi experience) we've ever had. Everything was very clean; the pool area was wonderful too, where I lounged and read during the day, and where they hosted wine hour in the evening. SO relaxing and luxurious! We were spoiled rotten, and I didn't want to come back to cold, snowy Boston. We easily walked to shopping during the day, and restaurants nearby at night, and saw a great live band at the Blue Martini. Great hotel, we always use Kimptons when we travel, and this one was top notch.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Renadog,
Thank you for sharing the great experience you had at the EPIC. I am happy to see that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed Zuma, Exhale Spa and our Club Level amenities.
I loved to hear that Lucia took good care of you and provided a memorable service.
Please return soon.
Kind Regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Wow. This place is AMAZING! Beautiful rooms! But the best part - CLUB LEVEL. Every single person from the concierge (MANY OF THEM) to the cleaning staff were absolutely amazing. The attention to details are amazing. And every single person there makes you feel like a thousand bucks.

If you are in Miami, you MUST stay at Epic!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Candy311,
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments. It’s great that we were able to make you feel special and that you had an AMAZING stay with us.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Kimpton EPIC Hotel Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing