We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning”
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our rooms were perfect !! Service was excellent !!! Dining was great our food had no complaints !! I'll be back in 2 months to stay a few days longer !!! I'll be taking a trip soon can't wait to return !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angbaby_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Angbaby_77
"Perfect roooms, excellent service and great dining", what can I say besides a big "THANK YOU "for sharing.
We look forward to having you back for an extended stay with us in a couple of months.
EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,205
    661
    198
    101
    69
See reviews for
634
1,201
149
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a quick local getaway before Christmas chaos. We chose Epic based on a friend's recommendation. The parking is crazy, but we managed. Once inside, check in was quick and our room was available immediately. The shower has good water pressure, and their toiletries were great quality.
Our room was spacious, clean, and nearly soundproof. We never heard people above us or in the halls. The only bad I found was the bed got warm and I'm not sure the AC was cooling as it should have.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
opalcala
Thanks for having stayed with us based on your friends recommendation and for your review. We are a truly busy hotel, with all the activities from the restaurants and our spa, our Valet team is working hard. I am very happy to learn you enjoyed our spacious, clean and soundproof room. Please come back soon and I will be happy to personally ensure that your AC will be in top shape.
EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was a beautiful hotel with great service. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean! I joined their In Touch club, and received a bar credit and free wifi. I look forward to staying there again and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Buddy4us
thanks for taking the time to review us. EPIC is all about style and service. I am so glad your recognized what we stand for.
Please come back soon / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here for one night with my husband and 20 month old after getting a 24hour deal through Expedia. Right from the start, the lobby is extremely impressive - beautiful high cielings, marble & exquisite chandelier. You feel like a celebrity staying at this hotel. The room was beyond spacious, the tub was fantastic and the balcony view of the Bay and downtown Miami was the cherry on top. There was always fresh water available in the lobby, a free cocktail during happy hour and freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee available in the morning. We could not have asked for more. There are a lot of beautiful people staying at this hotel, so not really geared towards family, but they were still great with my daughter.The staff at the front desk even gave her a rubber ducky upon our departure. The location is also great, within walking distance of shops & restaurants. I can't wait to stay here next time I'm in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juls&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Juls&Chris
Thank you so much for your outstanding review. "Phenomenal Hotel which made you feel like a celebrity" is what we love to hear. Thanks again for making us proud of our "EPIC" hotel and our staff.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

You'll enjoy staying here, but only if you're under 30 and you consider sleep to be optional. We booked this hotel for Art Week, because it seemed more luxurious than hotels in Miami Beach that were charging double or more thanks to Art Basel. Plus, it was a handy location for visiting the satellite art fairs on the mainland. Physically, it's a stylish, modern building - think trendy, like a W - with good room and bath layouts. Our south-facing king room on the 22nd floor looked just like the photos, with great views of the river, downtown and Biscayne Bay from the balcony. The spacious bath was fitted with tub, shower, double sinks and separate water closet.

Sounds OK so far, I know. However, both Thursday and Friday night, the thumping dance music from the poolside bar six floors beneath us pounded our room until 11pm, rendering sleep before then impossible, even with ear plugs. Friday night, the hotel was besieged by college students (or were they high schoolers? Hard to tell.), there for a large year-end party of some sort. When we returned from dinner, the lobby was jammed with them as they were all awaiting the elevators -- not working just then, for some reason -- just to reach a ballroom on the 2nd floor. Anyone heard of stairs? An understanding front-desk clerk immediately escorted us to a hidden service elevator to get to our room. That night, sometime after the thump-thump of the pool bar ended, we were awakened to a pop-up party in the elevator lobby right outside our room. Thankfully it rained Saturday, and the kids were all gone, so we were spared any aural assaults that night.

The hotel's driveway was congested and chaotic, with long waits for valet-parked cars. Getting a taxi is a hit-or-miss affair -- you basically have to wait for a guest to arrive and snatch their cab as they get out -- and there is no designated passenger queue, nothing to prevent others from inadvertently (yeah, right) hopping in front of you, other than a lot of assertiveness. Kimpton, please rethink this.

Weekdays, breakfast at the 16th floor restaurant is buffet-only, and it was just OK. The one at the JW Marriott Marquis across the street was far superior.

On the positive side, the hotel's Exhale Spa and fitness center were well equipped and very nice, and I had an excellent massage from Robert, who specializes in sports therapy. Be sure to ask for him. Also, the front desk and wait staff were polite and eager to please, which is what spared the hotel from getting the lowest score from me.

But getting back to the basics, Kimpton seems to have forgotten that the primary purpose of hotels has been and always will be to provide travelers a place to sleep for the night -- and that the operative word is 'sleep.' Someday soon, they should look more seriously at their guest behavior policies and at the type of guests they're trying to attract to the Epic. Until that time, we will stay away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TicketFromMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
TicketFromMe
Thank you so much for your detailed review. First of all, thanks for having stayed with us throughout our extremely busy Art Basel period. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy our views, your spacious bathroom and our stylish ambiance. So sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the music by the pool and a group we had inhouse. In regards to the group, we have already taken proactive measures to prevent simliar issues from happening. This group did not turn out the way we excepted it to be and I am truly sorry about the inconvenience you experienced.
If you would be willing to give us another chance, I will be happy to personally ensure you will have the EPIC experience we are known for throughout your entire stay.
EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great hotel in Miami Downtown. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Outstanding views. Helpful and attentive staff, free of charge internet, large balcony, great restaurant on the ground floor, private marina. Will definately come there again when again in Miami…
They could only work a little to improve breakfasts...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawidKw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
DawidKw
Thanks so much for your great review. Considering us "perfect" from clean spacious rooms with great views with a great attentive staff up to our location certainly doesn't get any better.
Please come back soon! EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is my second time staying here. They had a great weekend getaway rate. The service is top-notch. You feel like a royal with all the niceties of the staff. The rooms are nicely appointed, but ours probably needed a little TLC. For 5 stars you expect perfection. Nonetheless we were spoiled being on the 28th floor. The views from the balcony were stunning. All of the rooms here are fairly large and comfortable.

Room Tip: Entry level rooms are large and have nice bathrooms
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle in the rooms but didn't see anything in the lobby areas
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
hjhoosier
Thanks so much for your kind review. I love your comment about our oustanding views and that you felt treated like a royal. We take a lot of pride in our staff, please rest assured that your positive comments have already been passed on.
Please come back soon! EPIC wishes/ Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#7 of 122 in Miami
450 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Kimpton EPIC Hotel Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing