We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Hotel in a Good Location”
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impressive Hotel in a Good Location”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a perfect location for anyone taking a cruise out of Miami. We always stay there for a day or two before and after a cruise to allow for travel issues and begin getting some sun. There are some excellent restaurants nearby, including Zuma which is in-house and a French bistro across the street. A shopping mall (The Bayside) is a very pleasant 20-minute walk from the hotel. The restaurants in the mall are on the water and afford a good view of the harbor. Other attractions are walkable through urban areas but I would take taxis, which are readily available just outside the door.

The rooms are comfortable and impressively rendered in what I would call "Art Deco," though the rooms are beginning to show their age. The staff are very personable, approachable and eager to help.

In all, this is a pleasant package at a premium price, especially for cruisers.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms with good water views are susceptible to noise from cars going over a drawbridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,205
    661
    198
    101
    69
See reviews for
634
1,201
149
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for one night after a cruise. Since we arrived early , the room wasn't ready. After camping out in the lobby for an hour my wife went to the front desk to inquire about the room. They wer so apologetic that that they hadn't called us for a room that they upgraded us to a club room on the 29th floor. The room and the view from the balcony were out of a movie. The hotel has every amenity and is a much better bang for the dollar over the next door Marriott Marquis.

There's a beautiful pool area on the 16th floor and there was a great buffet breakfast in their restaurant, Area 31, also on the 16th floor. If you want a special place in Miami, this is it.

Room Tip: Higher the better. The elevators are fast and the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are environmentally aware. They even have a special toilet and shower that conserve water.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdubowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
smdubowsky
Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am thrilled you had chosen us for your after cruise destination. EPIC and Kimpton are all about service, genuine care and style. So happy to learn how much our dedicated Front Office team cared and upgraded you to our prestigious club floor.
By the way, you mentioned the speed of our elevators, they are in fact one of the fastest in Miami.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay but felt the service was friendly but not very attentive. They smiled, said all the right things and yet we had to wait 1 1/2 hours for our luggage to arrive in our room at check-in and when we requested additional blankets and pillows (none in the room) it took 4 phone calls and almost 2 hours. They did give us a small credit for the inconvenience. Location to the Heat Arena is fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbh7305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
tbh7305
Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and the location. Sorry about the delay delivering your luggage and the pillows. I totally agree with you, it shouldn't have taken that long, I will absolutely look into it.
Prior to your next visit, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally ensure you will experience an EPIC style service throughout your entire stay.
EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

It took us 1.5 hours to get here from the Miami airport. The reason why? Everyone was coming HERE! There was a famous comedian playing, and I guess that this hotel is super trendy and popular.

Regardless, the check-in was prompt and cheerful. Our rooms were clean (we got 2 rooms that were adjoining). The bed was super comfortable, and the thermostat worked quickly. The doors and walls must be super thick, because we couldn't hear a sound outside of our room. The balconies are expansive with comfortable patio furniture.

The bathrobes and slippers are nice. The only thing missing is bathsakts for the minster tub.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank happy_go_lucky_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
happy_go_lucky_guy
Thanks so much for your perfect review. We are indeed quite a trendy location, I am glad you had chosen us and ended up enjoying your stay that much. Our adjoining rooms combination and the big balconies certainly offer a great deal of comfort.
Upon your next visit, please ask us for some bath salts, we have really nice ones available free of charge.
EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

What a lovely Hotel! A Terrific place to stay in Down town Miami. The rooms are amazing, one of the most comfortable beds I have slept on! and the service is impeccable. Definitely dine at Zuma which is in the hotel. Can't wait to stay here again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caymananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
caymananna
Thanks for your terrific review and most of all for sharing. Considering your stay "OMG" in a good way is the EPIC way to go we want to be known for!
I am super happy to learn how much you enjoyed the comfort of your bed, in our opinion that's key for a great stay besides service.
Please come back soon / EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I should disclaim that I've totally guzzled the Kimpton kool-aid and am a fanatic Kimpton loyalist right now. That said, the Epic continues to deliver an experience that keeps me coming back and is worthy of recognition.

My most recent experience included a pre-cruise 1-night stay and a post-cruise 1-night stay. This is a great hotel for such purposes since it costs $10-12 + tip for a taxi between the Epic and Port of Miami and is a quick ride.

Highlights from this experience include:
- Front desk team (Aubrey, Emily, Mallik) who are professional and competent yet still make you feel like a friend
- Area 31 for the breakfast buffet where one of the servers (Juan) remembered us from months back and the manager (Kenneth) quickly removed a second dinner charge from the night before that was signed to our room
- The InnerCircle perks, stepped up for my partner's birthday, included a one bedroom waterview suite, sparkling wine, two glasses of wine from Area 31, fruit, nuts and water; on our post-cruise stay we also got upgraded and the Kimpton secret word scored us free breakfast
- The ability to check in early... REALLY early... at 7:30am when we arrived back from our cruise
- A vibrant happy hour on the pool deck with a crowd that was engaging and approachable
- Modern, clean, comfortable room design with ample space

I do agree with other reviewers that the valet area is a bit crazy, so just know this going into your stay. The valet team hustles and the bell staff are ready and willing to help as well. The actual drop off space is cramped and quickly gets congested during peak periods. Your car will be available on time when you need it, but you may spend a couple minutes navigating around other vehicles in the driveway.

In summary, this is a great hotel in a convenient location with a fantastic team that delivers a VIP experience. My only apprehension in giving these glowing reviews is that rooms here will be in more demand as more savvy travelers find out about it and that means I may be paying more next time I stay here! Ah well, I'll pay it forward for now.

Room Tip: Ends of the corridors are suites... Go for rooms ending in 01 (one bedroom waterview suite) or 33 (j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
johnruda
Thanks so much for your loyalty with EPIC and Kimpton and for having taken the time to review us on trip advisor. We strive to create personalized and memorable experiences and I am thrilled we have met and exceeded your expectations. I have passed on your review to our highly dedicated Front Office staff Aubrey, Emily and Mallik. They say "Hi" and want you to come back soon.
EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

From the moment, we entered through the doors of the Epic, we were blown away with wonderful staff members. ( Love the bell-hop uniforms).

We were in town for a wedding and had the best time. Nightly wine hour was always a plus!

Make sure you go to the Italian Restaurant that is right down the road- the concierge should know as they referred us. It was like dining in ITALY!!

We stayed in Junior Suite- beautiful spacious room. The bathrooms were amazing. Rainfall shower and large soaking tub with jets. I would highly recommend this property again.

Only downside is valet parking was expensive, but for downtown Miami- what can ya do?

South Beach is a 15 minute cab ride away. Can't wait to come back to the Epic!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Ellen U
Thanks a lot for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. I am really exciited to learn that you pretty much enjoyed it all starting from the location, the service and last but not least your Junior Suite with the great bathroom.
Please come back soon and check us out on Kimptonhotels.com prior to your next visit with us.
We can't wait to have you back. EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#7 of 122 in Miami
452 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Kimpton EPIC Hotel Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing