We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first time in Miami!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #12 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great first time in Miami!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I had travelled from London via Miami to the Caribbean for a corporate event. On my way back to London I thought I'd visit Miami for a few days.

I really am glad I did. When looking for a hotel, I was initially put off by the name EPIC (bit cringe I thought) however based on other reviews and the Kimpton name I thought I'd give it a chance. No regrets at all.

I left the Caribbean at 5 am on the morning I was due in Miami. The hotel very kindly allowed me to check in early (at 12 noon) instead of the usual time. It was a seemless process and the staff really couldn't have been more helpful.

I was on the 30th floor - talen straight to my room and left to relax.

The hotel generally is really very nice with some great facilities. I enjoyed the pool bars, restaurants and superb food. Of particular note is the consierge service. These guys are great. I would like to mention Gene specifically. He is an asset to the hotel. When in the club lounge, he made me feel comfortable and very welcome. Engaging conversationalist and extremely happy to help. What more could you ask for?

My only issue, which is unfortunate, is that when I checked in, it was not explained that I was a club status guest. In truth I did not notice when I booked however I feel it should have been stressed and I should have been given guidance around the entitlement. It was a full day before I realised I was entitled to access to the lounge and all of its amenities. So, after overspending on breakfast, lunch and drinks - I should have been able to avail of this in the club lounge as part of the package I paid for. Not a huge thing but it shouldn't have happened.

Nonetheless - I will be back. If anything to catch up with Gene!

Room Tip: Go for club level - makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Ross O
Thanks a lot for your excellent review. I was excited to learn that you had a great experience at our Club Lounge, Gene, one of our our dedicated concierge team members genuinly cares and is very knowledgable about all aspects of the city. Please rest assured that it was my pleasure to personally pass on your praise to him.
We can't wait to have you back. EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,158
    633
    185
    99
    67
See reviews for
621
1,161
146
684
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I recently stayed at the EPIC hotel with my husband and the experience was truly EPIC in every way!

On arriving at the hotel, the line up of flashy cars reflects the Miami lifestyle and you feel you're in a Miami movie with the celebrity lifestyle. The vibe was amazing.

Check-in was pretty smooth. I recommend getting the Kimpton membership which is free as you benefit from free wi-fi and also a token amount to raid the mini bar and of course access to the vip lounge :) loved it!

The room was absolutely amazing. My husband and I stayed in room no. 2610. The river view was breathtaking and not to mention you can see the pool too. There was a party at the pool when we arrived and it didn't disturb us one bit as the music was turned off once it was time to sleep.

The room amenities I have to commend on as it has everything you want, and if it's not there they will go out of their way to get it for you. The lotion provided in the room is from their spa, hence has that aromatherapy feel which just relaxes you.

I am so glad we picked this hotel as the location is fantastic, a lot classier, modern and simply great views. Not to mention, its very central to all the attractions so a great pick.

The staff were extremely friendly, great customer service.

We will definitely be returning again!

Room Tip: Room No. 2610 had great views of the River and Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sito87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Sito87
Thanks you so much for your EPIC review. I love to hear that we truly deserve our name in terms of service, style and location. "Extremly friendly staff and breathtaking views", it does not get any more complimentary!
We can't wait to have you back, EPIC wishes / Felix Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel from an aesthetic standpoint. It's modern, well appointed, and provides the expected level of service for Klimpton property.

That being said, though, I found the place to be kind of bland. It just didn't feel welcoming or guest centric, but rather like it was busy showing itself off and expecting you to be impressed. I don't know if that makes sense or not, but all things considered I just wasn't comfortable here. Perhaps I'm not hip enough.

The fitness center is outstanding, though, one of the better ones I've found in a hotel, and that's a big plus. The restaurant was overpriced and the menu rather limited. All in all it was a pleasant but uninspiring stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

If you are looking for a great place to stay with outstanding service, this hotel is the place. My hotel experience starting with the smooth and fast check in by Mercedes and ended with the outstanding audio visual service provided by Jenssy Parra. I had an amazing view from my room and I also went on a 4 mile run around Biscayne Bay. I highly recommend Epic Hotel if you're ever in Miami, FL.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for a weekend, and the hotel itself is in a good location if you want access to the port area, where you can take tour buses from. It is also quite a pretty location on the river here, and in the evening from Area 31 if you eat dinner there you have great views. The food in Area 31 was good, but small in portion and very expensive. The rooms are good, but we had one which did not have a great view, just of the hotel opposite, which was disappointing. The issue has already been mentioned previously about the parking here, and the queues to get in the front of the hotel, my taxi just dropped me on the road as they couldn't get anywhere near the front entrance!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view not just of a nearby hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had our room through world mate, got pretty good deal. Hotel is fantastic,even though the location is in the middle of downtown, where nothing really happens. Our room was everything you can ask for - sea view with balcony, comfortable bed and enough space to work/relax. Didn't have chance to try the pool, but had manicure at the spa and breakfast (got free continental breakfast vouchers from the front desk) in one of the restaurants in 16th (?) floor.

The Area itself is little bit dull, but comparing to South Beach it's actually really nice and quiet.If you're looking for a party scene, this is not the place.... however if you're looking for a nice hotel with great amenities... this is your place. Bonus during our stay was free wine tasting at the lobby!

Room Tip: Room with sea view is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEmma_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The good:
The hotel is modern, clean, elegant and in a great location. The staff are nice and service is quick and attentive (for the most part-there are a few staff members who think their job is to just stand around and be pretty).

The bad:
The incredibly snarled and unorganized hotel entrance and parking situation. There is not organized effort by the valet staff to direct traffic in, get people unloaded, and get the cars parked quickly. It's all disorganized and for such as small area, this leads to things like waiting 20 minutes to pull in to the hotel, taxis that can't get into the hotel drive, other drivers fighting with each other to get into the drive, etc. Valet staff needs to get organized and step it up because being able to get into the hotel and also leave were laborious operations.

Also, the restaurant, Area 31, is very loud and service is slow. I suspect this is from the loud and obnoxious hotel guests (eurotrash and dudebros must love this place). Unacceptable for the prices being paid.

Public spaces at the hotel were elegant but were ruined by the behavior of the loud, obnoxious hotel guests who don't seem to know how to behave in public. I know this isn't the hotel's fault but if it's tolerated, it becomes the norm and it certainly is the norm here.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Kimpton EPIC Hotel Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing