We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance?”
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #18 of 125 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed 3 nights at the Epic

The "wow" factor was there when we walked in the room for the first time,the view was fabulous and the bathroom huge!!

The flaws for me were the lack of reading lamps at the bedside and also no light switch by the bed, resulting in having to get up from the bed to switch out the lights and then fumble your way back to bed in the dark!

The bathroom had no hooks for hanging up towels or robes, and the rain shower pressure was very weak.

However we did enjoy our stay, and the positives for us were, breakfast served on the terrace,it was a lovely way to start our day and again those wonderful views
The staff are all extremely helpfull,friendly and always smiling !

I would choose to stay somewhere else when I return to Miami as I was left feeling slightly disappointed by the Epic

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2009

macca19:
Thank you for your contribution. Thank you for mention the extremely friendly, helpful and always smiling staff. We will immediately research and rectify the reading lamp concern and water pressure opportunity.
We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again the next time you are in Miami to regain your trust.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,565 - 2,571 of 3,325 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2009

We just came back from this wonderful hotel in Downtown Miami.

The negatives are the construction surround the hotel as well as the resturant/lounge that is being built in the lobby.

IT was truly wonderful to see a brand new clean 5 STAR hotel that deserve its rating. We have stayed in numerous hotels across US and seen many on tripadvisor.com and only to be disappointed. This one truly lilves up to its standard as #1 in the Miami area.

There are too many overpriced hotel in Miami South Beach Area. This is definitely a true alternative. The view to the Biscayne Bay was unbeatable. We also had a great wine evening reception. They GYM was the best I have ever been in. It is better than Intercontinental, Mandarin Oriental, Hyatt, etc, etc. Many treadmills, cross trainers, sitting areas. Above all, CLEANINESS IS THE NAME HERE.

The prices are also much better than south beach area hotels.

The concierge including OSCAR was truly helpful. He and the staff really go out of their way to ask and help whatever you need. EVeryone including the doorman smile and greet and ask if you need assistance. That is a rarity in America these days.

We always been weary about staying in KIMPTON HOTEL as most of their west coast hotels are OLD AND DESPERATELY need updating.

We will stay in EPIC AGAIN WITHOUT SECOND THOUGHTS when we visit Miami again.

FINALLY-----FREE COMPUTER AND FREE INTERNET in the room. THAT IS UNBEATABLE. NO CHARGE. COMPLEMENTARY alone with great morning coffee and tea.

TIPS: eat at South Beach but dont stay at overpriced hotel. It was radiculous how cheap (relatively) the food at South Beach is. They really work hard with breakfast and lunch specials. Loved the streetside style of eating. Also, taxis is a great way to get around. Not too expansive.

TIPS: USe miami tour company and go see Everglades with Gator Farm. You will see nature and the wild as it should. Say hello to SCARFARCE (the alligator ) when you go.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GymFreakRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

GymFreakRi:
Thank you very much for writing your first tripadvisor contribution about the EPIC and for the glowing review. We appreciate that you mentioned Oscar's service and that the employees go out of their way to assist our guests. Also, great tips. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Excellent and friendly service, elegant rooms (on the smallish side, though), exceptional views. Breakfast wasn't top notch. But then again a good value for money choice, if you get a convenient rate.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

lucaerrante:
Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic contribution. We love short and concise feedback which mentions both friendly service and service excellence. We look forward to your next visit with us at the EPIC.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Just left the hotel this AM - From check in to check out my exerience was FANTASTIC at the Epic. All of the concierges working on the Club Level are absolutely wonderful. Gene was truly impressive and a wealth of knowledge and an all around great guy and Jullian (I think that is his name) runs a very close second - but I have to say that everyone was TOP NOTCH. I am currently trying to find another reason I have to come to Miami as soon as I can so I can once again stay in the Epic.
I travel at least 3 weeks a month for work and EPIC is now the number one of all hotels I have styed in this year in the US.
WOW - and I will be telling my Company's meeting planner in case other folks in my Company need a hotel in Miami.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatricepugzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2009

beatricepugzilla:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome contribution. It thrills us to hear that you enjoyed your stay on the club level and that you received impressive service. Gene and the team will be recognized for exceeding your expectations. We look forward to your return visit at the EPIC and your companies visit as well.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Stayed in the Epic for my sons wedding which was on The Biscayne Lady. The boat docked right next to the hotel. What a joy to be able to walk out of your hotel and board and return right back to your hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunstac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

dunstac:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful contribution. Congratulations on your sons wedding and thank you for choosing the EPIC for such a momentous occasion. We love to share in creating life long memories. We hope to see you on your anniversaries.
Warmest Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My friend and I went for a girl's weekend and were very disappointed. The hotel is a high rise, and we were given a room on the 18th floor. Unfortunately, they failed to tell us that construction was taking place on the 16th floor. Instead of moving us to a higher room, they offered to buy us a meal. The service was hit-or-miss. The restaurant staff could not have been nicer; however, others were less accomodating. The cleaning service basically made the beds and picked up the towels. They'd leave room service trays in the room, didn't wipe down tables, etc. All-in-all, not a great experience for the cost.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

akearns:
Thank you very much for the contribution. I sincerely apologize for the noise complaints, the housekeeping opportunities and for the way the matter was handled. In no way is this the level of service we intend to deliver or how we expect our guests to feel. All items will be rectified immediately. I hope you allow us another chance to create the experience you were expecting.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

After a morning fraught with endless line-ups and silly airline delays, after an overly long shuttle ride from the airport - arriving at Epic was heaven. Check in took all of 1 minute. We checked out the beautiful room - with a bathroom to die for! Double sinks, rainforest shower head, deep soaking tub. Ahh. Having a computer with internet in the room was very convenient.

We decided to relax by the pool. Even though it was a windy day, staff ensured we were in the sun but out of the wind. After a few hours of lounging and having a nice lunch by teh pool we returned to our room for a short nap - sadly that turned into a 2 hour nap which caused us to miss the wine reception. DH was so comfy he refused to leave. We ended up dining at Area 31 - great food, good service.

After a good night's sleep, we decided to explore around the hotel a little. Not a bad walk along the waterway to Bayside market.

Check out was great - staff even lent us a stapler to attach our cruise tags to the suitcases!

This is the first time I felt I got my money's worth at a hotel. Great service, super staff, very clean rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

bunnyette:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a beautiful and warm contribution.
Thank you for mentioning the great value and the great service.
We look forward to your return visit with us at the EPIC.
Warmest Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £166 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Kimpton EPIC Hotel Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing