We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An EPIC Deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #12 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An EPIC Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are beautiful and the service was five star. I was upgraded to a JR Suite that had its own computer and an immense bathroom.

I have stayed at many five star hotels, including the nearby Mandarin Oriental, and by far the EPIC is the biggest bang for the buck.

Little touches like a hosted wine part every night, Aqua di Parma bath products and a top-notch gym made the stay all the more enjoyable.

If you want a gorgeous hotel that is a great value and only 10 minutes from South Beach, stay at the EPIC. (If you want overly-trendy with little substance and no service and want to pay hundreds of dollars more per night, stay in South Beach).

I give EPIC a thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prdomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2009
prdomm:
We loved your contribution, thank you.
It’s so true.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,159
    633
    186
    99
    67
See reviews for
621
1,162
146
684
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

Silvio & Maria Nov 26-30th
If you are looking for an amazing place to stay in Miami - home away from home - then the EPIC Hotel in Miami is the place to hang out!
Why? The customer service is EXTRAORDINARY!
o The staff are patient, polite and friendly
o Hotel is absolutely immaculate
o Room service is superb
o Restaurant – ambiance is incredible and the food is so DELICIOUS, thanks to a great chef!
o Club on main floor
o Heated pool, gym etc
o All this and more for a great price!
- South Beach is 10 mins by Taxi
- Bayside shopping; 10 mins walking
- Hop on the Metro mover it’s fun
To the Staff at Epic…a HUGE heartfelt ‘thank you’ to ALL of you for making our anniversary so special! Free Champagne at dinner was unexpected – we loved it ..we felt very special indeed..
We will bring the family in June 2010 (when kids are home from University).

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2009
shoelee:
Wow, thank you for the extraordinary contribution. Thank you for praising our property and for praising our customer service. Please do not hesitate to contact us before you arrive again in June if you require any specific preference to create as memorable an experience as your last.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

We asked our travel agent to put us into this hotel (based on TA reviews) as they had bkd us into a very poorly rated hotel in South Beach and as we were staying 3 nights pre cruise we didn't want to stay in a dive. On arriving at the hotel after travelling for 17 hours we were professionally and efficiently greeted at Reception and informed that we had been comp upgraded to a jnr suite and this was a wonderful surprise. The room was very large, extremely comfortable, had wonderful views from the floor to ceiling windows, and it was very well furnished with a corner couch, large flat screen tv, balcony, full PC with comp internet and we even had our own little goldfish (who we called Albert!). We also received comp vouchers for continental breakfast and what a wonderful start to the day sitting on the terrace overlooking downtown Miami. The only carparking at the hotel is valet and this costs approx $30 per day but we had no problem paying this as space in the area is at a premium and the service by the valets was very good. The hotel offers comp coffee in the morning from 6 to 9 am and also all guests are invited to attend a wine hour from 5 to 6 pm every evening - both are wonderful and unexpected touches that the hotel does not necessarily need to offer to it's guests. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did order room service one evening and although the choice isn't extensive, the quality,quantity and cost of the meal we chose was excellent. The location of the hotel is easily accessible following the very good directions provided on the hotel's website and there are many restaurants and bars in Mary Brickell Village which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. All in all we very much enjoyed staying at the Epic and would have no hesitation in staying there again if/when we are next visiting Miami.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireeTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2009
ClaireeTurnip:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed contribution. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would return the next time you visited Miami. We will look after Albert for you.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed here one night while awaiting our cruise. The hotel was newly opened and I must say the staff went above and beyond in every area. As an example, upon checkout the hotel called us a cab to go to the cruise ship terminal. After 20 minutes and no cab, the doorman got the hotel SUV and took us himself.

Upon our return to Miami, we stayed at the Mandarin. A notch up in every respect but almost double the price.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shinyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2009
shinyroad:
Thank you for your wonderful contribution. We appreciate you mentioning that the staff went above and beyond in all areas.
We look forward to your next visit with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed 3 nights at the Epic

The "wow" factor was there when we walked in the room for the first time,the view was fabulous and the bathroom huge!!

The flaws for me were the lack of reading lamps at the bedside and also no light switch by the bed, resulting in having to get up from the bed to switch out the lights and then fumble your way back to bed in the dark!

The bathroom had no hooks for hanging up towels or robes, and the rain shower pressure was very weak.

However we did enjoy our stay, and the positives for us were, breakfast served on the terrace,it was a lovely way to start our day and again those wonderful views
The staff are all extremely helpfull,friendly and always smiling !

I would choose to stay somewhere else when I return to Miami as I was left feeling slightly disappointed by the Epic

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
macca19:
Thank you for your contribution. Thank you for mention the extremely friendly, helpful and always smiling staff. We will immediately research and rectify the reading lamp concern and water pressure opportunity.
We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again the next time you are in Miami to regain your trust.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

We just came back from this wonderful hotel in Downtown Miami.

The negatives are the construction surround the hotel as well as the resturant/lounge that is being built in the lobby.

IT was truly wonderful to see a brand new clean 5 STAR hotel that deserve its rating. We have stayed in numerous hotels across US and seen many on tripadvisor.com and only to be disappointed. This one truly lilves up to its standard as #1 in the Miami area.

There are too many overpriced hotel in Miami South Beach Area. This is definitely a true alternative. The view to the Biscayne Bay was unbeatable. We also had a great wine evening reception. They GYM was the best I have ever been in. It is better than Intercontinental, Mandarin Oriental, Hyatt, etc, etc. Many treadmills, cross trainers, sitting areas. Above all, CLEANINESS IS THE NAME HERE.

The prices are also much better than south beach area hotels.

The concierge including OSCAR was truly helpful. He and the staff really go out of their way to ask and help whatever you need. EVeryone including the doorman smile and greet and ask if you need assistance. That is a rarity in America these days.

We always been weary about staying in KIMPTON HOTEL as most of their west coast hotels are OLD AND DESPERATELY need updating.

We will stay in EPIC AGAIN WITHOUT SECOND THOUGHTS when we visit Miami again.

FINALLY-----FREE COMPUTER AND FREE INTERNET in the room. THAT IS UNBEATABLE. NO CHARGE. COMPLEMENTARY alone with great morning coffee and tea.

TIPS: eat at South Beach but dont stay at overpriced hotel. It was radiculous how cheap (relatively) the food at South Beach is. They really work hard with breakfast and lunch specials. Loved the streetside style of eating. Also, taxis is a great way to get around. Not too expansive.

TIPS: USe miami tour company and go see Everglades with Gator Farm. You will see nature and the wild as it should. Say hello to SCARFARCE (the alligator ) when you go.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GymFreakRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2009
GymFreakRi:
Thank you very much for writing your first tripadvisor contribution about the EPIC and for the glowing review. We appreciate that you mentioned Oscar's service and that the employees go out of their way to assist our guests. Also, great tips. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan, italy
Level Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Excellent and friendly service, elegant rooms (on the smallish side, though), exceptional views. Breakfast wasn't top notch. But then again a good value for money choice, if you get a convenient rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2009
lucaerrante:
Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic contribution. We love short and concise feedback which mentions both friendly service and service excellence. We look forward to your next visit with us at the EPIC.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Kimpton EPIC Hotel Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing