We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star - almost there”
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not 5 Star - almost there”
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We stayed for one night. We arrived and no one took our bags, got to reception and we were given the room key but not shown to our room, had to find it ourself. The room was fantastic on the 28th floor with a sea view. Beautiful bathroom. The decor was lovely and the bed was blissfully comfortable. The downside is the noisy bar on the ground floor.. there was a party on and it was full of drunk 20somethings, we saw a girl being wheeled out by security as she was too drunk to walk. Got in the lift and there was sick on the floor. I alerted the desk to it but it didnt get cleaned up immediately. We were very upset. The pool and restaurant on the 16th floor has amazing views friendly staff, but the food is not exactly gourmet. We had to wait a long time for them to sort out our food bill. After this experience we decided to have lunch at the Mandarin Oriental instead which is a class apart. The EPIC did give us a refund on our food and bar bill and allowed us a very late check out due to us complaining about the party - this was a very good gesture. The hotel itself is an amazing building, but it lacks the wow factor in terms of attention to smaller details and exceptional service. If it can correct this it can truly deserve to be a five star hotel. I really like this hotel and want it to be exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2009
SteveTrips:
Thank you for taking the time to write your contribution. Thank you for mentioning the friendly staff by the pool and the amazing views. We will be discussing your concerns to assist with establishing ourselves as the premier 5 star property in downtown.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,219
    671
    203
    103
    71
See reviews for
644
1,215
151
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
orlando, fl
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2009

I arrived in this hotel and there was a girl named Belen Mejia who approached me first. While my partner was fixing our luggage, i noticed that this girl starring at me with a bad attitude looks. I was wondering what was her problem for her to look at me like that. But as a professional, I did not say anyhting at all. When I started to talk to her, the way she answered me was inappropriate manner. I felt like she disrespect me in front of my partner. My partner wants to tell the front manager but I told him not to. But i realized that we should've done that. I had been customer in this hotel and I never had bad any experience not until this last visit. Everything was still ok and good in terms of the cleanliness and other services except from that girl. Hope the officers in this hotel would be aware from their worker's attitude.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfajardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2009
dfajardo:
Thank you for your contribution. Thank you for mentioning that other services and cleanliness were good. We apologize for the incident and implore you to believe that this incident does not reflect the level of service we believe our guests deserve. Thank you for the contribution and we look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga.
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at the Epic for 8 nights over Thanksgiving and could not have been happier with our choice. I grew up in Miami and go back every year to visit. Hospitality service can be down right indifferent, if not surly in Miami hotels and restaurants. I am used to that, even at expensive, top rated places.
So, we were continually thrilled with the friendliness and service we received throughout the hotel: the car attendants, front desk, general and housekeeping staff and particularly the restaurant. By the way, the breakfast is nice, lunch delicious and dinner at Area 31 wonderful. Some of the best prepared fish I have had in years. Look for the private dining rooms overlooking the Miami River. Also, the River Bar in the lobby is right on the water and a hot place on weekend nights.
The rooms are stylish, well thought out and fairly large. Computers and flat screen TVs in each room and free internet access was available. The only thing you may not care for is the glassless, open window space between the bedroom and bathroom. While there is a heavy Roman shade to roll-down, noise from the bathroom for a sleeping guest may be off-putting to some.
Still, the views of the bay are nice, the pool, a beautiful edgeless place in the sun overlooking the bay, and good rates can be had for those who look and plan ahead. I will be back there for my next visit, and know they will re-open as good as ever, if not better. Well located, even though downtown, with great access to other areas: Miami Beach or Key Biscayne:10 minutes, Coral Gables 15 -20 minutes, airport:15 -20 minutes, depending on traffic, which feels like rush hour most of the time in Miami.
Note: valet parking is pretty much necessary if you have a car, as it is downtown and other parking options are at least a few blocks away and have restrictions. Parking was about $32/night OUCH!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButImRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2009
ButImRight:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful contribution. Thank you also for mentioning the friendly service and stylish decor. We look forward to you returning to EPIC next year for your annual stay in Miami.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed here on our last night before flying home and for this it was a perfect option. Location... eeehhh...but it all depends what you are here for an for how long. Downtown like in many US cities is a bit depressing. You can however walk down by the water and there is a shopping centre nearby but it is a few hours distraction, nothing more. It is close to the Historical Museum and Art Museum so for an overnight stay, there was enough to keep us busy. As detailed by others, the rooms are great. I just loved the balcony and the views are fantastic. Service also very good. Free internet in room (always a bonus for us Europeans who are not used of this). Valet parking was about 30 dollars if I remember correctly and on a small sample (having only got the car out once), it was a little slow.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagesthemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2009
Tagesthemen:
Thank you for taking the time to write your contribution. We appreciate that you mentioned the very good service and great rooms. We will address your concerns with the speed of service of our valet.
We look forward to your return during you next visit to Miami.

Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I stayed at the Epic Hotel for 2 nights in October. When you walk in the front door, you are greeted by staff immediately and made to feel right at home. I got in early, but my room was already ready for me. The rooms are a great size, love the glass shower and separate tub. Very spacious bathroom and plenty of counter space. The beds are super comfy and every room has a balcony! And the views are amazing! Every room also has a computer! Can you believe it! I was able to surf around and find a few different restaurants for lunch and dinner.

On the first night, we ate at the hotel. They have a great terrace up on the 16th floor. The menu is priced decent and the food was amazing! On the second day, we had breakfast at the restaurant and then spent the day at the pool. We had lunch poolside at our cabana...the food was amazing again...you definitely don't sacrifice quality for eating at the pool. The pool staff are fantastic, offering fresh water frequently and sun block if needed.

For dinner, I called down to the concierge and they made a reservation for us down on South Beach, called a taxi for us, and sent a confirmation up to the room. The staff are amazing. On the third day, we asked for a late checkout (granted) and spent the day at the pool again! Another poolside lunch (delicious again) and then off to the airport.

I would stay here again and again. By far, the best hotel and best staff I've experienced in the area!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlms1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2009
hawkeye0905:
Thank you for taking the time to write an absolutely amazing contribution. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service was amazing. We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2009

I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. I stayed for 5 nights on business and had a very unpleasant experience.

During our stay, I (and several colleagues) experienced problems with bites/rashes. My problem was so severe that I had to seek medical treatment when I got home. The doctor diagnosed the problem as bed bugs or Scabies and told me to contact the hotel. When I did so, I found the staff to be very unhelpful, evasive and hard to deal with. I’m disgusted with the experience I had of staying at this hotel and the subsequent level of customer service I received. I feel extremely let-down and will not be staying at a Kimpton hotel ever again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodders_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2009
rodders_9:
Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed experience with us. I am embarrassed by the experience and the service level that you received; let me apologize for all the opportunities which you denoted. We also appreciate you bringing the bed bug concerns to our attention all areas of your stay will be reviewed with the appropriate departments will rectify. I did leave you a reply and would be interested in hearing about your experience in detail if you have a moment to discuss. Again my sincerest apologies and please contact me to make this experience right for you.
Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to communicating w/ you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Fantastic stay at the Epic. Nice sized room with two double beds, balcony, and great bathroom (glass shower and separate tub). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasgmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2009
thomasgmay:
Thank you very much for the fabulous and concise contribution. We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Kimpton EPIC Hotel Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing