We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing value and management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miami Marriott Dadeland
Ranked #70 of 123 Hotels in Miami
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing value and management”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I reserved a concierge level room, which was considerably more expensive, thinking that the concierge lounge would provide us with the amenities usually found in such places. We were very disappointed. Although the lack of ANY services the first day and evening (Saturday) was somewhat compensated for by a voucher for breakfast, the Sunday evening spread was pitiful. The food was sparse and cheap, and not even a glass of wine offered. When I asked to speak with the manager, I was given a front desk assistant Manager who exhibited attitude. Although she comped us hors d'oeuvres and a glass of wine through room service, her attitude made the experience a negative one.

The room was small, dated and the flat screen TV didn't swivel, and could only be comfortably watched from the bed. The tub is very small (Hampton Inn-sized) and the towels are adequate- not plush. The pillows and bedding were great, as was the bed (very comfortable). The climate control was good, as well.

The Sunday brunch in the restaurant was not good (it used to be one of the best in Miami) and they gave me real coffee when I had asked for decaf, which made me very physically uncomfortable.

Our main beef with the hotel is the cheap approach to the concierge level of service and the attitude of management.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimrichmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    229
    125
    40
    24
See reviews for
122
77
39
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

1. While the staff seems to try very hard, they seem to be understaffed. Phone calls to front desk ringing 20 times before being answered - not the definition of responsive service.
2. While the phone in the room has buttons marked for various purposes (room service, wake up call), they don't work. Again, you pretty much dial "0" for most anything.
3. Our room was tired. Lots of scuffs, mirror behind the sink clearly had suffered water damage, beds could use new mattresses.
4. Housekeeping - a pin on the floor can't be vacuumed up? Lucky we found it before stepping on it.
5. Heating/cooling - thermostat needed to be replaced - until then, we wore sweatshirts even though the unit said 78 degrees.
6. TV - I hope it simply needs a new battery - difficult to get a response.

I travel nearly every week and tend to utilize Marriott and Hilton properties. Won't try this one again, though.

Room Tip: Use this hotel if you are not paying for it yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellngcircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Not sure if there is a reason to stay here other than business, as Dadeland doesn't seem to be a tourist destination. This Marriott is a fine business hotel. Very comfortable, nice concierge level lounge. The quality of the room service food left a bit to be desired - not sure how you cook terryiaki chicken too dry - but I wasn't expecting a culinary masterpiece. My room was large with a good view. The pool area looked nice, unfortunately I didn't have the time to visit it. I'd stay again when in town on business.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed here one night and opted for the concierge level. It cost about $60 more but was on a very high floor (23?), and included complimentary snacks in the evening, complimentary breakfast, and beverages like coffee and water throughout the night as well, in a "lobby" area on that same floor. This area is also nice for playing cards or watching tv, if you don't want to be in your room. As we were two, I thought it sounded like a good deal.
Room was fine. Clean. Bed was comfy. I don't know why I had assumed the room would be much bigger. Nice addition to the coffee machine in the room was the espresso machine in the room.
In order to take full advantage of the room perks, you would have to be at the hotel the whole evening and for breakfast too. I believe this additional price would be of greatest value to a family of three or four, staying in the same room. The evening snack was sliced cheese, fruits, mini egg rolls, mini quiches, and cookies and petit fours. The breakfast was scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, oatmeal, and yogurt (?). There was some cereal as well.
Ordered room service and was happily surprised by the quality and the reasonable price (for room service). Ordered two burgers at about $9 each; actually juicy and tasty! Would order again.
The location of this hotel is great if you are coming for shopping at Dadeland and its nearby stores. It is also right by an access to the expressway that takes you north to the airport (20 min) and to South Beach (25 min). Do not stay here if you want to be in touristy areas that are accessible by foot; this is an area used very much by local residents and it does have many stores and many restaurants within walking distance but it does not have any tourist destinations or beaches close by. This is a secure area of Miami, in case you are wondering. There is an adjacent office tower so, during the day, the area also has business people eating lunch, etc.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel is close to the Dadeland Mall, Target, a Publix supermarket, plenty of bars and restaurants and the Metro rail which takes you to Downtown and MIA. It would not be good for anybody wanting to visit the South Beach area by public transport as the journey would require a train and then a bus ride and probably take over an hour.
The reception area is pleasant and the staff good. The pool is large enough for swimming and it is surrounded by some fairly comfortable loungers and there were plenty of towels provided. The pool area is overlooked by a tall office building which acts as a sunshade for part of the day. The gym is well equipped but I found the temperature a little warm.
The rooms are standard 'Marriott' style with a tea/coffee maker but no fridge. The bed was comfortable, the desk a good size. The carpet and lounge chair were old and worn. The bathroom was small and the towels thin. The rooms need a little updating to bring them up to standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A wonderful hotel with all the comforts you'd expect from a Marriott
It's 2 blocks away from the Dadeland mall and a great Macy's!!
The staff are so helpful and really looked after me as a single traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateJoNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is NOT the place to stay if you are vacationing in Miami. But if you have business, or another reason to be in this part of town, I would recommend it. The service is very good. They gladly accommodated a last minute early check in. They always retrieved my car promptly. And, the housekeeping was timely and very good. What else do you need?! These days that kind of service makes a difference. The beds and bedding are unbelievably comfortable, and the rooms have nice flat screen tvs. Not sure there was a downside other than the location as it would relate to someone visiting Miami for a vacation. But if you need to be in lovely Kendall/South Dade, this is probably the best place to be. You are across the street from Dadeland Mall, a Publix market, and a number of restaurants. Pretty much everything you need is within walking distance. Business people will appreciate the desk, iron and board, and high speed Internet in the rooms ($10 @ day but "regular" WiFi is free!). I would stay here again in a second if I had reason to be in the area. I recommend it with that caveat. If you are not familiar with Miami, look at a map before you book this. Most of the tourist-type venues are at least 30 minutes away with traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beyerrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Aloft Miami Dadeland
#5 of 7 in Kendall
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Marriott Dadeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Dadeland

Property: Miami Marriott Dadeland
Address: 9090 S Dadeland Blvd, Miami, FL 33156-7825
Region: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#45 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Marriott Dadeland 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Marriott Dadeland boasts 302 beautiful guest rooms including our newly renovated art-inspired Design Guest Rooms, a welcoming lobby with complimentary internet access and 35,000 sq ft of newly renovated flexible meeting space. Located in the heart of South Miami, we are minutes away from Downtown Miami and South Beach. Our hotel is steps away to Dadeland Mall, restaurants and activities. Located near the Historical Coral Gables, Sunset Place Shops, The Falls and Merrick Park, makes us an extraordinary shopping destination. We are a short driving distance to Baptist & South Miami Hospitals, Univ. of Miami and Florida International University. The Metro Rail station adjacent to the hotel provides ease of transportation to the Miami Airport and much more. International cuisine can be enjoyed at Whitney's Restaurant opened for breakfast and lunch. Looking to relax after a long day, unwind in the Le Mirage Lounge or sit poolside overlooking the sites of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Miami Marriott Dadeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Dadeland Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott Dadeland Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing