We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCHOOL FIELD TRIP WHAT A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE- going on year 5”
Review of Air Boat USA

Air Boat USA
Book In Advance
More Info
US$175.00*
and up
1-Hour Private Air Boat Tour of the Everglades
More Info
US$300.00*
and up
2-Hour Private Air Boat Tour of the Everglades
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
1-Hour Wildlife Adventure in the Everglades National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Moody, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SCHOOL FIELD TRIP WHAT A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE- going on year 5”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have taken students from Moody Al, to the USA AIRBOAT experience for 4 years now. This year will be year 5. IT IS WONDERFUL! The guides are so accomidating and helpful. The knowledge they share about the Everglades is amazing. I take 6th graders to Key Largo Marine Lab and we always plan a tour on the way home, it is the highlight of the trip. I have gone 4 times and I learn something new every time. Even in the rain- we loved it. I would be devistated if we didn't get to experience the Everglades with USA airboats. I highly reccomend it to ALL visitors!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ginger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    55
    22
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best $50 I've Ever Spent”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

If you have 1 & 1/2 hours to spare, the best $50 you can spend is to take an airboat with Totch's Everglades Island Airboat Tours. Having reviewed other reports on Trip Advisor, this seemed by far the best of the numerous companies operating on the Everglades. $10 off per couple vouchers are available from various sources including hotels. Each airboat only takes a maximum of 6 people. Our captain today was Bill who was very knowledgeable about all aspects of the Everglades including the animal wildlife and plants. Some of the reviews regarding the competition, complained that the airboats did not go fast. The same can certainly NOT be said of Totch's Everglades Island Airboat Tours. Once out onto open water, the airboat is opened up thrashing through the water making sharp turns to enhance the ride. But, high speed is not just confined to open water, once in the mangrove forest, Bill traversed some of the narrow straight sections at break neck speed - so exhilerating. Then he pulled into a narrow section of the mangrove forest where we were met by a family of, what appeared to be very tame racoons, about five in all. Bill then fed the family by hand from scraps he had bought with him. On the return to the dock, three pelicans landed on the airboat, just inches from where we sat, they were so gentle and inoffensive. If I had of known, I would have bought a few small fish prior to the trip to feed them.

It's worth paying the extra and doing the 90 minute airboat trip. If you have a video camera, you will have memories to last a life-time. We travelled from England to tour Florida. This was by far the highlight of our holiday. Like I say, the best $50 I have ever spent. You must try Totch's Everglades Island Airboat Tours.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank SussexApollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara falls, canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“absolutely great”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We took the one hour airboat ride and the time went by so quickly. There was enough
water this year for the driver to really crank up the airboat and it was great.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank darmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison Township, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unique experience all around.”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Fourth trip to Totch's Island in six years. As some other reviewers have said, each tour/trip has been very different due to the captains. The folks working here are, for the most part, pretty friendly however you have to just accept that Everglades City is a unique place...and even though we (tourists) are providing revenue, you can't help but get the feeling that we're annoying the locals. With that being said, the airboat and scenic experience is amazing. We saw pelicans - one nearly sat on my lap - and dolphin, alligators, raccoons (our tour guide fed them marshmallows - co cute!) and tons of birds. Ignore the cranky appearance of your captain, ask lots of questions, and you'll have a great time!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank aimeeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This airboat ride on the Everglades is something we have always wanted to do. We boarded the airboat and after some advice from the 'pilot' regarding dangling arms over the side we were off with a mighty roar from the two V-8 engines mounted directly behind us. As we sped over the swamp at crazy angles and breakneck speed we held on tight and enjoyed the ride. Our pilot stopped for a while and seemed to summon the ever present alligators with a whistle to come out of hiding to observe us. It was with regret the trip was called short when the weather took a turn for the worse and the heavens opened. Our pilot made for base as quickly as poosible. Must do this again though, great fun.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterboroughKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Air Boat USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing