We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot - as a day room pre Uk flight home”
Review of Hotel Urbano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Urbano
Ranked #69 of 128 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 hours as a base, whilst waiting for our London flight. The location, by a main road and flyover, is hardly ideal but both inside and outside the hotel you do not really notice. We received an indifferent welcome initially but the staff and, especially Katrina, warmed to us. Spacious room with very large walk in shower and good toiletries. Art around the hotel is colourful and modern but, overall, the decor seems rather dark.

The pool area is small but lovely - well kept, nice seating and covered gazebos and a good deal of space made this area very pleasant to pass some time. Bar prices are not cheap - 17$ for a glass of white wine - the same as the Ritz Carlton, Miami South Beach

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review your short visit with us - we hope you had a nice flight back to the UK and that we have the chance to welcome you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Upon entering hotel staff was great, friendly & accommodating. The interior was undergoing renovations but they did not interfere with our stay. Rooms were clean & beds were comfortable. Outdoor pool/bar area was perfect for relaxing. Would recommend HUM to a friend & would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks so much for review your stay with us - we appreciate the feedback! Our hotel has not gone any renovations in the past month - perhaps we were making a small repair? We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Hotel Urbano for a mini family reunion. It was a great experience for our 5 children and our families. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very accomodating and pleasing to communicate with. The bar area had delicious meal options and the service was great. The pool area was relaxing and peaceful. Our children enjoyed the pool to the fullest. In the evening they lit the firepit and it's the perfect way to end your night. Hotel Urbano is in a great location and very family friendly. We highly recommend this hotel for location and price for the area. We will definitely be visiting again. Thank you Hotel Urbano staff for a great weekend for our family and we look forward to our next visit!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sensationalseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! It's great to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy our lovely pool area - especially the kids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Out visit to Miami was fantastic and it all started with the wonderful staff at Hotel Urbano. They were friendly and helpful. Jerrell in particular stood out. He was extremely helpful in finding places to go. He even printed out directions and reviews from the Internet. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jmichae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks so much for your kinds words! Jarrell is great, and we're so glad he was able to help you out - We appreciate your comments and hope you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Pool area is probably the highlight of this hotel, it's small but very attractive and well kept, and the fire pit is a nice touch.
The rooms are smallish, we only had a shower (no tub ) in ours and the bed was a little on the hard side; the aircon unit pretty much sounded like a small plane landing, but then lots of them do.
I'd requested a quiet room location as we're light sleepers and had deliberately chosen to be away from central miami / south beach to get away from the worst of the noise. The manager had kindly allocated us a room away from the expressway, although still road facing, and we didn't have any trouble with noise either from the road or within the hotel, although the A/C unit would probably have drowned quite a lot of that out anyway!

One big grumble though, is the way they handle parking. Like a previous reviewer, I don't believe in paying for hotel parking either (another reason for avoiding south beach) and I arrived armed with his tips for finding free street parking. When i told the lady on the checkin desk that we were planning to park on the street, she said something along the lines of it's a residential area and "they" tow parked cars away regularly. I said i was pretty sure there were areas which didn't need permits or decals, and she said *categorically* that this wasn't the case, everywhere did, and basically tried to scare us into using the valet service.

We said we'd drop the car on the way back from a beach trip, and duly went off to check out the nearby streets. Sure enough, there is a large section of S Miami Ave a short block away which is perfectly fine to park on; the top section near to the Brickell village DOES have signs up stating residential only, but the section near the hotel doesn't. We parked there for four days / nights with no issues, in fact we got the same parking space which was the physically nearest to the hotel probably 8 times out of 10 we returned. No other cars had decals, and I even checked the Miami Dade County parking website which told me that you can't be towed unless there are clear signs stating that you will be, who the operator is and how to recover the car.
Anyway I didn't really trust the staff after that. It'd be one thing to say that they just weren't sure whether decals were needed and we should be careful, but what we were told seemed like deliberate lies and scaremongering to get the extra money off us! Plus, the parking lot is directly behind the hotel so if it wasn't just a money grabbing exercise they could easily offer a reasonably priced self parking option.
There's also no breakfast provided (could be a coincidence that it's a long walk to the nearest alternative option, but based on the above i doubted it!) and although the food is fine, by the time you've included tax and tips you'll be looking at a $40-50 bill. After the first day we went to the Publix at Brickell Village and got a few yoghurts and muesli bars instead.

All in all, nothing special for the price, but this is a decent option for an area that's expensive to start with. I'd stay there again if i returned. But i'd have enjoyed it a lot more if they'd been more helpful about the parking, and provided at least free tea and coffee at breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k4ssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us - we are very grateful for the feedback and are happy to hear you will return and stay with us again.

Regarding valet parking, it is certainly true that if you park (without decals, which we assume all visiting guests do not have decals) cars will be towed from those restricted residential areas. Because this has happened on occasion to our guests, we do not advise to park on the street for several days. We are confident our front desk staff was simply trying to make you aware of that, and not trying to scam you in anyway - dealing with a towing company is not a good experience!

Having said that, we're glad you did your research and found a spot on the street and that it all worked out in the best way possible.

Please drop us a line at sales@hotelurbanomiami.com next time you are heading to Miami, and we will be happy to assist in making your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We used the Hotel Urbano as our base for a three-day exploratioin of Miami. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood, but a short, free trolley ride from downtown and the MetroMover, also free. Can walk to the amazing Vizcaya museum and gardens, also to small beach just before the causeway to Key Biscayne. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We were happy with our room; didn't knock our socks off, but it was good. Loved there was art everywhere in the hotel (altho not always the art itself), and that it was small and away from the big city feel. Photos on their website represents it well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHungry47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to review your recent stay with us! It sounds like you were able to explore our little neighborhood quite well - isn't Vizcaya stunning!? Our art collection actually rotates on a quarterly basis so perhaps next time you stay there will be some pieces more to your taste!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was staying here with my daughter because we wanted to know the neighborhood. The location is fine, easy access to everywhere in Miami, very nice and friendly staff. Simple rooms with small bathrooms but good for a short stay.I only had one complaint and that was about the internet. I kept having problems and could never access on my phone and Ipad at the same time. So if you need to work, this is not a good option.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysonthemove001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.... I am sorry to hear that you had trouble connecting your devices to the internet - this isn't a typical concern at the hotel.....perhaps it was just glitchy that day. If you're in the area again please send us a note at sales@hotelurbanomiami.com and we'll be happy to assist!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Regency Hotel Miami
#41 of 128 in Miami
2,019 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#59 of 128 in Miami
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Habitat Residence
#37 of 128 in Miami
690 reviews
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#10 of 128 in Miami
1,472 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urbano

Address: 2500 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33129-2429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £88 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Urbano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urbano is a stylish, urban boutique hotel with a resort flavor, well situated within the active Brickell Avenue Business District. The eclectic and relaxing ambiance of the inviting pool deck and innovative, savory cuisine from Bistro Urbano & Bar with indoor and outdoor seating create the perfect setting for both guests and local residents to mingle and meet. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Miami, Key Biscayne, Coconut Grove along with many of Miami's famous attractions such as Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Jungle Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Urbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Urbano Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing