We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Lousy Food Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center
Ranked #62 of 121 Hotels in Miami
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel with Lousy Food Service”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Decent Rooms, and well maintained. Staff is very friendly, and helpful.

Neighborhood is suspect at best, but not a big issue for me. This hotel is perfect if you have business at the nearby hospitals, or Port of Miami/ Downtown Areas.

Airport Shuttle is disorganized, and needs work. No guest should have to wait over 40 minutes in the hot sun waiting for a Springhill Suites Airport East Shuttle to show up.

The Food Service, is just plain horrible. Free Breakfast offers lousy variety, inadequate amounts for the limited variety they do offer, and the food staff lacks proper training (guests should not have to knock on the kitchen door to get food staffs attention).
The restaurant menu never changes, and is comprised of mostly prepared foods which look and taste awful.

With other food establishments quite a distance away from the hotel, one would think more effort would be put into offering a better dining experience.

Springhill Suites Airport East needs to step up their food game!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sobeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we've increased our aiport runs to every 30 minutes and completly revamped our full american breakfast buffet

we hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    241
    136
    55
    32
See reviews for
241
137
44
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We were really excited to travel to Florida for a few days to enjoy some warmth. We did not expect to be sweating in our room all night long. We called the front desk for help. Maintenance responded but the air conditioner still did not do the job adequately. We spoke to the desk clerk but could not negotiate a reduction in cost. Bummer!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dad1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Springhill Suites Miami. I will be sure to follow up with our Maintenance team. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We flew in from West Coast and landed after midnight. Shuttle stopped at 11:00 p.m. but they were kind enough to reimburse for $20 cab ride from airport. The staff was very nice and accommodating - despite our midnight arrival. The location is the only reason I did not give it a VERY GOOD. Do not walk around at night. People underneath the freeway sleeping and poorly lit streets. In the morning we walked to Winn Dixie (15 minute walk) to get last minute items for cruise. A van took us to port for $8 a person. Breakfast was good and they were very efficient feeding all the guests. I would stay here if you were visiting Medical Center or if you come in late and just need a place to rest your head before heading to Miami Port for a cruise. A shout out to the staff that helped get us to the Miami Port :>)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBMBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Springhill Suites Marriott. We will share this feedback with the staff! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Although the hotel is not close to the airport, they do provide pick up. Breakfast is exactly what you will need. It is not in the greatest area, and I would not walk around after dark but during the day we could walk to Winn Dixie to get what we needed. We requested a mini van for our ride to Port of Miami and when it took more than 30 minutes the hotel for FREE provided the transportation. That is customer service. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler24NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you we hope you enjoyed your cruise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We needed a hotel near airport for an early morning flight it wasn't as close as I thought. The Front desk was friendly and helpful, Janet got us a 7th floor room and comped the parking room.The room was clean and comfortable ,road noise was a little disturbing. For the price it was OK

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us! We are happy to see you enjoyed the hotel. I will share this feedback with Janet. We hope you come back to visit Miami in the future! Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a most inviting stay at this hotel. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. Front entrance was not the most desirable. Only stayed one night and they had shuttle service for a nominal fee to the cruise lines. We thought the rooms were very nice. Did not have a meal here, so cannot comment of the food, etc. After we left and got on the cruise ship, I realized I had left my hand mirror in the hotel room. After arriving home I made several calls to the front desk asking them if it was found in our room. After getting several different stories, I gave up and bought a new one. There seemed to be a lack of communication between the front desk and the room service people. It wasn't the expense of the mirror, it was the pass-off they gave me. No solid answer! So, someone is enjoying my mirror, as I know that's where I left it! Kind of left a bad taste after enjoying our stay there.

Room Tip: "Got this hotel through Hotwire, and thought we would stay at one again after our experience, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cougshela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us! We are happy to see you enjoyed the hotel. We hope you come back to visit Miami in the future! Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

. First impression of overall hotel was not impressive. I actually thought we had pulled up to a construction entrance of some sort; but no, it really was the front entrance of a Marriott! Check-in was uneventful. Bathroom appearance was promising with nice white tile, but the shower felt like a birdbath with no pressure. The restaurant didn't fare much better: salads at dinner were ok, but the breakfast didn't accommodate all the crowd and the servers didn't care. Not leaving with a good taste in my mouth, literally!

Room Tip: Don't expect too much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us! I assure you we will follow up on the comments you provided to us. We hope you come back to visit Miami in the future! Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Miami Downtown/Brickell
Courtyard Miami Airport
#37 of 121 in Miami
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Property: SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center
Address: 1311 NW 10th Ave, Miami, FL 33136-2103
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Hotel Miami
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing