We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing is an understatement.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Ranked #5 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing is an understatement.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Have been meaning to write this review for a while now.
We had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel for 3 nights in February prior to our Caribbean cruise departing from Miami.

The hotel is conveniently situated in downtown Miami and is easily accessible from the busy roads surrounding this area. The Bayside establishment was in close proximity and was within walking distance from the hotel. Having previously read things regarding this wonderful city please avoid all negative reviews about safety, it's a lovely area.

We originally booked in for a Junior Suite. However upon arrival to the hotel the kind receptionist (Katie) informed us we had been upgraded to an Executive Suite courtesy of Marriott (this came complimentary because we are Marriott Platinum Elite Members). The beautiful room overlooked the lively city below. Enormous televisions, very comfortable beds. I did notice this hotel uses a lot of futuristic technology in comparison to it's competitors. There was also a TV embedded into the mirror in the bathroom, unfortunately this did not work, but was an error caused by one of the children!

Staff members were absolutely excellent, incredibly attentive and literally nothing was too much trouble. I also noticed they have evidently adopted the mandatory etiquette for a hotel of this standard, professionally presented and their postures were also fantastic, never really noticed this before.

Amenities again faultless, the roof top pool is excellent. However it's located between the two massive buildings so only really manages to catch some sunlight during the hours of 11am-1pm. Pool was of a perfect temperature and the staff member monitoring the area was always polite. Virtual bowling looked amusing but never managed to experience it, next time! The Concierge Lounge was magnificent. The decoration and furnishings were as expected however the views in the morning were breath taking, panoramic views of the coast. Breakfast offerings and afternoon bites were always available, very appetising and enjoyable. Soft and hot drinks, as well as other alcoholic beverages were accessible.

This hotel is undeniably superior to any other Marriott's I have stayed in. The Marquis is obviously one of the best in Miami as shown by the consistently excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in visiting this unbelievable city. I also noticed the American hotel standard out ranks the typical British offerings!

Love the JW and USA, we are already considering revisiting next year! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Contact the hotel regarding your preferred room. I would suggest a higher floor to appreciate the sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHENERY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    329
    75
    37
    24
See reviews for
363
470
77
477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is as expected for a property in this class, clean, comfortable, and professional. The rooms were spotless and service was first class. The concierge was extremely helpful in recommending dining options, and on the occasion that we wanted something casual appropriate recommendations were provided, which is not always the case at some upscale hotels. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPLPFBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We absolutely loved our stay here. The room was amazing. We actually were booked in for a city-view room, but when we requested a bay view room, the staff were really helpful and gave us the room without any extra cost. Ricardo was very helpful and so was the concierge, Jermaine , who gave us lots of info about how to go about seeing Miami.
My son enjoyed the pool and it was amazing to see the bay at 6 am! The view from the room was so beautiful.
The only reason I wouldn't give 5 stars was that on the last day, we noticed that our car that was being valet parked by the hotel staff/valet staff at the hotel every night, was nearly dry of gas. We were sure that we had more gas in the car when we gave it in for parking, but the following morning, we had just enough to reach the airport, which was fortunate.

For a hotel of such high repute, this was disappointing.
However, I wouldn't fault my stay at all, and would highly recommend the hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view rooms, fantastic views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srikavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was perfect, rooms were spotless, little issue with the booking however this was quickly rectified and a complementary suite upgrade was given. Ricardo was very helpful in assisting us to the room and giving us some great tips for activities/dining places near. Javier at the front desk was awesome too. Very polite and friendly. Soon to book again for August, already looking forward to seeing the team at the Marquis!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fxf430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel in early April and found it absolutely flawless. Javier on the front desk was polite, courteous and really friendly. When we saw him around the hotel he would always ask how we were and what our plans were for the day, just a really friendly gentleman. Then there was Ricardo who was just a great concierge. He gave us great information about where to go and what restaurants he'd recommend to us, as well as being a really friendly guy. The rooms are also excellent, tv's in the mirror in the bathroom and 2 60 inch tv's in the suite. Rooms were clean and brilliant all round. Hopefully I'll be back in August and see Ricardo, Javier and the rest of the great team at the Marriott Marquis in Miami.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for one night before hooking up with friends on the "other coast" of Florida. From the check-in to the check-out, the service here was professional, courteous, helpful and knowledgeable. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed when we needed it - the concierge, the valet, the bellman, room service, etc. Our room was beautiful and spacious and squeaky clean - there were no cons to staying here. Hope to get back there sometime! Wonderful property!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breezy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is one of the best small town hotels I have ever stayed at. Often, when you have to spend the night in a small town, it can be a dingy and dirty experience; this is quite the opposite! The hotel is VERY clean, rooms are comfortably furnished, staff are sooo friendly, and the prices are very reasonable as well

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#12 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Property: JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami
JW Marriott Marquis Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing