We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not nearly matched the expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Ranked #7 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kyiv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not nearly matched the expectations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

A tripadvisor No. 1 rated hotel in Miami means quite a lot. That's why i chose this hotel for my 10-day business stay over the likes of the Epic or the Viceroy. And while the hotel was generally fine, it was nowhere near what top in Miami should be. I'll just go over some things that caught my attention:

- breakfasts are really lousy there. The buffet is small, and selection is non-existent. A la carte is OK, but not great. And each morning this cost me 25-30 bucks per person - that is, until I quit doing breakfasts at the hotel and went for the local Starbucks.
- housekeeping - it just seemed it was lazy. All they did was do my bed every day. It was a bit dusty, we only got one large and one small towel each (no beach towels).
- the hotel boasts a full NBA regulation basketball court. Which, they forgot to mention, costs $100 per hour to use. The only reason i took 30 minutes there was because I had already changed into workout clothes and went down there - and when the arena manager told me it cost extra, i didn't have much of a choice.
- biggest issue was the hotel's billing system. They took my authorization on the credit cars at check in and the system blocked the entire amount in my card (i get sms alerts for every transaction). And then they started charging my card every day for amounts between $20 and $500 to the point where I really lost track of how much money they are charging. Finally, at the checkout, I specifically asked the receptionist how much more would my card be charged - to which they said that the balance was set and no more charges would be made. And then, two days later, the hotel charged THE ENTIRE BILL AMOUNT - almost 4,000 bucks. It took a while before my bank and I figured out that the other random charges were simply authorization that blocked those amounts - that the hotel had neglected to release. That led to my credit card maxing out. Very unpleasant and non-transparent, which is very uncomfortable when it comes down to your finances.

Not all was bad. The pool and gym were OK, the porters staff and the concierge were super helpful and efficient. But to say this is a #1 hotel in the city - sorry, no.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Marchiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    332
    77
    40
    24
See reviews for
367
478
78
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

First time staying here for business. The room was very spacious and very nicely decorated. The staff was extremely cheerful and friendly. The bed and bedding was so comfortable that my sleep was very good! The only downside was that the elevators cannot keep up with hotel traffic. They were always crowded and you sometimes have to wait for two or three cars to go buy before you could get on. Otherwise, I would have definitely given 5 stars. That was the only downfall to an otherwise excellent stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Subdoc708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Large, luxurious room with a nice view. Here for work. Front desk service was swift and welcoming. The top 4 floors are the Beaux Arts hotel. Room views for the bay are excellent. Floor to ceiling windows. Excellent bath amenities. Club level has an amazing spread of snacks, wines and the club level service is great. Rooms are quiet. Elevator service quick. Just outstanding.

Room Tip: Bay view, upper floor with club access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice and have loved each stay! The rooms are very comfortable and the lounge had a great breakfast! The staff is amazing and extremely friendly which says a lot for Miami! There are a lot of facilities you can use (though some at an extra cost). It's also in a good location and perfect for a before cruise taste of luxury! Highly recommend this hotel for the friendly staff alone!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DenTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
472 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

In the same week we stayed in two different hotels in Miami this Marriot specifically chosen been the first in the TRIP list at the booking time.
Absolutely perfect...thanks to an upgrade with a Key Biscayne viene! Try the restaurant DB bistrot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here prior to a cruise in March. This is the only hotel we use in Miami prior to cruises. The service is exceptional, rooms very comfortable and the view is terrific. Enjoyed the concierge lounge as always. The staff in the concierge lounge could not be more accommodating and the food is varied and good. We went to DB Bistro bar and then to the restaurant. As always delicious food and drink with excellent service. If you want to be pampered, rested and totally enjoy yourself this would be the place. The staff will treat you royally.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Briar502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a very beautiful and chic hotel with wonderful views of the bay and city. We stayed one night after a Caribbean cruise from Miami and was extremely impressed. The hotel is located in downtown Miami but is very secure with elvators only operating with room key access. I was also impressed with their energy conservation. The lights also function with the room key. The room itself is very modern with sophistication and class. Bathroom has tv built into the bathroom mirror and great size shower and separate tub. The room was spacious with a huge work desk and computer and large wall mounted TV. There is an eatery downstairs which is a little pricey but expected and overall hotel staff service is SUPERB!! I also enjoyed the convenience of the Wells Fargo ATM being located down the hall from the front desk lobby. I would definitely return this hotel and recommend to others. Oh I forgot, the beds are AMAZINGLY soft and comfortable!!

Room Tip: Recommend high floor with bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twn030577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#12 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Property: JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami
JW Marriott Marquis Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing