We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sustainable?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sustain Restaurant - CLOSED

Sustain Restaurant
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 36th Street
Description: The menu, accessibly priced, will change with the seasons, and aspires to include both the accessible and adventurous. A wood burning oven will infuse flavor into vegetables, chicken, and pizza. Regionally raised grass-fed beef will be used in house-made hamburgers, sausages, and corned beef, among other items. Also on offer will be refreshing salads, including the notable "50-mile" salad, made with ingredients sourced within 50 miles of the restaurant. Food service will extend to the bar, and to complement menu items, old-fashioned cocktails, artisanal beers, and a large selection of reasonably priced wines will be available. Rather than bottled water, Sustain will serve filtered water from an in-house system, free of charge. Desserts, made on premise will feature homey delights such as warm fresh-baked cookies, cobblers, and doughnuts.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Sustainable?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Dinner on 5/6 at Sustain would have been excellent, except that "Tina's Pride" Heirloom Tomato salad did not do justice to the ingredients. For $12 I was served a "large" salad that was a surprizingly small pile of unimaginatively dressed arugula with a suggestion of bleu cheese and about 1/4 of a smallish tomato. So I was pleasantly surprised when my entree, the Fork n' Knife burger, was simply delicious. It lived up to the menu description with all of the ingredients tasting genuine and high-quality. Even the fries were a treat. I wish I had been more hungry because the side dishes and desserts looked enticing, too.

One word of caution, call before you go to Sustain... a message on their website reads "DOORS CLOSED 5/6/12. THANKS TO THOSE WHO SUPPORTED US, FOR THOSE WHO DID NOT – YOUR LOSS."

Dinner on 5/6 at Sustain would have been excellent, except that "Tina's Pride" Heirloom Tomato salad did not do justice to the ingredients. For $12 I was served a "large" salad that was a surprisingly small pile of unimaginatively dressed arugula with a suggestion of bleu cheese and about 1/4 of a smallish tomato. It seemed like a rip-off to me, so I was pleasantly surprised when my entree, the Fork n' Knife burger, was simply delicious. It lived up to the menu description with all of the ingredients tasting genuine and high-quality. Even the fries were a treat. I wish I had been hungrier because the side dishes and desserts looked enticing.

One word of caution, call before you go to Sustain... a message on their website reads "DOORS CLOSED 5/6/12. THANKS TO THOSE WHO SUPPORTED US, FOR THOSE WHO DID NOT – YOUR LOSS."

Looks like my Sustain experience will be my last. This is too bad because I loved the concept, the ambiance, and -for the most part - the food. I would have definitely been a supporter :-(

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 29Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
1 review
“healthy and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

sustainable food and practices, great open and airy atmosphere. Excellent staff, especially Jason and Julio !

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KLK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viera, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

In beautiful Midtown Miami Sustain appears cool and hip when you walk in. The decor is unique and modern with that eco-chic vibe going on. I was very interested to try the restaurant as it had been recommended by a foodie business colleague who was my dining companion that evening. The restaurants concept is to source locally and organically which I am very in favor of. We shared four small plates/appetizers to mixed reviews. The mussels - not so good. Overall atmosphere was nice but this restaurant isn't on my "I have to go back" list.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brittyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The art pieces in the dining room lend to the incredible atmosphere of natural and unique menu items. The staff is attentive and knowledgeable.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BenAnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Good, but Didn't Impress Me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Great service, really pretty presentation of food, and the pavlova passion fruit dessert was yummy, but our fish entrees were a bit salty and didn't taste super fresh. Loved the feel of the restaurant, but won't be dying to go back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sustain Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing