We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Facility and accomodations...but not 'Ritz' Service levels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Ranked #15 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Facility and accomodations...but not 'Ritz' Service levels”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I am a frequent traveler and typically am a fan of Ritz and Marriott family properties. The facility is classy clean and well maintained. I will share some of my experience. Upon check-in there was a hard sell for an upgraded room at a much higher price. I should not have to say no thank you 3 times, in front of other guests. I started my first day with an early morning meeting and a quick 'navy' style cold shower...because there was no hot water. Then at 6:30 am my wife who was going to sleep in was awoken by very very loud noise from construction right outside of our window. As I departed at 7 am I shared my concern with the front desk and asked for the a call during the day to let me know the status. No Call. Upon returning that evening the front desk had no history. They did change my room. I asked for an explanation and was promised a call. It never happened. Finally departure day and I had a question for the front desk. They put me on hold for almost 20 minutes. Really?
Cold water, noise, construction, no follow-up and poor service? At a Ritz-Carlton...

Room Tip: specify away from construction side. There is major work being done across the street. They start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Jeffrey P.
Thank you for your loyal patronage to our brand and for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate to learn of your disappointing overall impression of our hotel, though I am happy to hear that you mentioned our classy and well maintained facility. Please know, our guest’s satisfaction is very important to us, and we hope to have the opportunity to impress you next time around. Rest assured we will use this feedback in a constructive manner to address those shortfalls you experienced during your stay with everyone involved. If you wish to further discuss please contact our Executive Office at 786-470-1101. We look forward to hearing from you.
Warmest regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    172
    85
    39
    21
See reviews for
168
200
41
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. Our first room was adjoining to another, and while the door was locked, we could hear them screaming at each other loud and clear. We asked for a change, and they couldn't have been nicer. The change was done while we were at dinner to a comparable room on a different floor. Service at the pool was excellent on one day and mediocre on the others. The guy who was just ok was clearly catering to a large family and paying little attention to the others. On the good day, the pool guy treated everyone equally and like royalty. NEVER ran out of towels or chairs. Food was expensive but to be expected at a Ritz so not surprising.
Came for the Sony Tennis. The shuttle left from a marriott around the corner. very convenient. Only issue was we had to walk back after a very long night, but worth it to stay at the nicer hotel.
In all, you cannot beat the service at the Ritz. They are at your beck and call, and if you have issues, they will take care to fix them immediately. Parking charge is $33/night which is excessive. If you plan to stay put, great food and shops are a walk so you really don't need a car.

Room Tip: ask for room that does not adjoin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSL10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear BSL10024,
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to our property over the Sony Open. I am happy to hear that our Ladies and Gentlemen assisted you when needed to make your stay comfortable. Thank you for highlighting the convenience of the Shuttle Service to the Sony Open, a very convenient transportation set up for our tennis fans.
Thank you for mentioning our food and pool service. We pride ourselves to have a little oasis at our pool for guests to enjoy a day of relaxation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back for the next Sony Open, or sooner.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff at this hotel was top of the line--highly knowledgeable and helpful, and dedicated to our comfort. From the valet parking guys who greeted us on arrival and returned our car on departure with cold waters for our drive, to the front desk staff, bellman who told us about all hotel services and amenities on the way to our room, and the lobby bartender who greeted us like family whenever we walked in, we appreciated their warmth and friendly expert service. They deserve a five star review, but the hotel does not.

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of a 10-day Florida vacation. The hotel, while nice, is not quite the luxury experience I'd anticipated. The lobby is beautiful and our room was very nice--king bed, loveseat, desk, large marble bathroom, terrace and the full panoply of in-room amenities (robes, toiletries, complimentary spring water, coffee setup). But some things weren't thought through. First, although additional electrical outlets were plentiful near the desk, there were none near the bed. For the millions who use a cpap machine to sleep, this isn't just a matter of convenience. We had to pull the mattress out and unplug the alarm clock to find an outlet that wouldn't have required an extension cord. Second, the lovely marble shower is extremely slippery--a rubber bathmat would have helped. Third, the shower pressure is the worst I have EVER experienced anywhere--there was none, literally a trickle, even adjusting the shower head. It took awhile even to get my hair wet, much less wash out the shampoo. Third, the walls are thin.

The ability to enjoy quiet is further hampered by a construction project going on just across the street. Our choices were construction noise (and a huge crane very close by) on the bay side or noise from the hotel's pool on the other. Obviously the construction isn't the hotel's fault, but it is an issue and will continue to be until it's complete.

Last, be mindful of extras. The hotel annoyingly charges extra for a wifi connection. I concur with most travelers who consider this to be a cheap shot. Marriott execs either don't read the travel columns or don't care. This was the only hotel of the four we stayed at on our trip to impose the junk charge. Also, note there is a $33 per day charge for valet parking (no self-park option).

Room Tip: Call ahead regarding the construction across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for submitting a very detailed review of your experience at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove. While I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the customer service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen throughout your stay, I will take your feedback on the other items such as (WIFI, additional plugs near the bed, water pressure, valet parking) to ensure we can find a solution to those. I apologize that your stay was not to your full satisfaction. We sincerely appreciate your comments and I will address this issue with the appropriate departments.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. I apologize your experience at the hotel was not a memorable one and hope you will afford us another opportunity in the future with a return visit.

Sincerely,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This location is not like your average Ritz. The service was really subpar. Pool ran out of towels and chairs pretty much every day we were there. The dining staff was very slow. The room was clean...until I decided to do some push ups and looked at the dust bunnies under the bed.

Had we not been there for a wedding party I would have complained to management. The price of the room was ridiculous for the level of service we got.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate to learn of your overall impression of our property. Please know, your satisfaction is very important to us, and we hope to have the opportunity to create a better experience in your next visit. Rest assured we will use this feedback in a constructive manner to address those shortfalls. If you wish to further discuss please contact our Executive Office at (786)470-1101. I trust though that you had a wonderful wedding this past weekend. We look forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Spent three nights here in January. The rooms were nice but not stunning, the location was great and the service on the beach good. Poolside looked and felt a bit run down but again the staff were friendly enough. The problem is everything is so expensive. $45 for breakfast. $35 for a small glass of wine and small gin and tonic. If the place looked and felt like a real five star hotel you could justify the expense but it feels like a middle of the range Spanish hotel.. It's a great location but I would not expect to much and eat and drink out of the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnieb1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Jonnieb1701,
Thank you for your comments and review on Trip Advisor. Feedback is very important to us and I appreciate the time you took to write your opinion regarding our property.
We will review our pricing, though I am happy to say that our Food and Beverage team continuously creates new events, one of them being the TGIF, The Grove International Friday’s, offering variety of menu samples from around the world with wines specials.
We hope to welcome you back to experience some of our specials in a future visit to Miami.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay, the staff are warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Food is first class and the choice varied. You will need to go on a diet after staying here for a few days. The glass of Champagne on arrival after travelling for a long time is a nice touch and very welcoming.

Room Tip: The sea was just visible from my room, but I was never in the room long enough to worry about the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johhnyboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Johhnyboy44,
I appreciate the wonderful comments about your visit to The Ritz-Carlton, Coconut Grove. Our Food and Beverage team continuously strives to create unique, memorable and personal moments for our guests, showing their culinary delights.
We looking forward to welcome you back to our neighborhood getaway.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We splashed out on two Ritz Carlton Hotels on our visit to Atlanta and then Miami. Having had a super stay at the Downtown Atlanta, we were hoping for the same in Coconut Grove. On arriving we were alarmed to see a huge construction site just opposite the front of the Hotel. We were greeted by Elizabeth, who gave us the Bay view room we had booked. Unfortunately it was overlooking the construction, opened the patio doors and the noise was awful, not great for a 5 night's stay. Went back to Elizabeth who apologised and was able to allocate a room overlooking the rear of the Hotel above the beautiful gardens. This room, 428, was so much quieter, and had a large bathroom with walk in shower and bathtub, which was perfect. Elizabeth wanted to know if we were happy with that room and we rang down to tell her that it was fine.
Our stay turned out to be wonderful after the initial hiccup. The building is very luxurious, gardens are beautiful, especially at night in the lighting. Used the pool which was a delight as it was so warm, and a good size for a decent swim.
Had drinks in the garden one afternoon, which was good, the Coconut Grove Cocktail is divine!
Didn't get to use the restaurant as we preferred to visit the many restaurants in the neighbourhood. We missed a Club Lounge at first, but were told that when it had one it was not used much, this being mainly a business hotel. Despite that, we found it great for a vacation , as the balcony was lovely to sit on and enjoy the view, and to watch the Sunset and the stars in the warm Miami evenings. Would also add that the location of the hotel is good, the restaurants, bars, and shops a short stroll away in what seems to be a safe area of Miami. Near to the Marinas and Parks by the Waterfront too.
Thank you to all who gave us a wonderful stay, including Housekeeping, who kept the room so comfortable . To Elizabeth, thank you so much for the efficient and friendly service, we think every Ritz should have Elizabeth on the Front Desk !!
Jane and Roy Jones, stayed 3rd to 8th March, 2014.

Room Tip: Do be aware that the Bay View rooms overlook the construction site. This was a no no for us on a 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeldar T, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Jones,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about our hotel. Although nearby disturbance was a concern, I was thrilled to learn our Ladies and Gentlemen were able to anticipate and fulfill your needs during your stay. I feel very fortunate to work with an outstanding lady like Elizabeth. I will be sure to share your kind words with her.
Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

William Yahr
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Miami, FL 33133-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among lush subtropical foliage and surrounded by the brilliant turquoise waters of Biscayne Bay, The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami provides an unforgettable escape to one of the city's most delightful downtown hotels. After a day spent exploring the eclectic boutiques, art galleries and restaurants that characterize Miami's original neighborhood, resort guests can indulge in a soothing treatment at the hotel's spa, discover dining that celebrates fresh Florida fare from farm to sea, and relax in accommodations that reveal views of the adjacent marina from a private balcony. Whether for business or pleasure, let us make our corner of Miami the one you return to over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing