We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction in the area dampened what would otherwise have been an excellent rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Ranked #18 of 123 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Construction in the area dampened what would otherwise have been an excellent rating”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Unfortunately, current construction in the area makes access to the hotel difficult. Moreover it is very loud with work starting at 6am and ending very late in the evening. Although the value for this very high quality hotel was good, had I had the chance to know about this drawback in advance, I would've probably chosen differently. I recommend to anyone considering a stay here in the near future to take this into consideration before booking. Otherwise, the service, friendliness, cleanliness and everything else is on par with what one would expect at the Ritz ..

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the construction (noise) as possible ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikeST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeldar T, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Mr. VikeST,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the viewers of TripAdvisor. I am sorry to know the neighborhood enhancement project had an unfortunate effect on your stay with us. I can only wish that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back for a true Ritz-Carlton experience. Thank you once again for sharing and have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,

William Yahr
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    177
    90
    41
    22
See reviews for
186
207
41
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Attended an event for Make a Wish foundation and it was done so beautifully. We had a gorgeous tea party to raise funds for make a wish children. The hotel is stunning and rooms impeccable! I highly recommend this hotel if you do not want the craziness of SoBe but still want to enjoy one of the most historic parts of Miami.

Room Tip: view of the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeldar T, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ms. Rita,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us viewers of tripadvisor. I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your event on property. I look forward to welcoming you back to our little oasis in the Grove the next time you are in the area. Thank you once more.

Sincerely,

William Yahr
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

All hotel staff should be trained the way each and every one of these people
were at the Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove. I stayed at this hotel for one night
before a cruise and for two nights after the cruise. Staff members from all
areas in the hotel remembered our names throughout and were very pleasant and
friendly. They bent over backwards to please and we didn't have to even ask.
John J. handled my checkin both times and was excellent. We were warmly greeted
with glasses of champagne. Osee and Geovanny were both awesome as our bell
people going out of their way to tell us about the hotel and things in the
surrounding area. This time I wanted a more quiet relaxing stay rather than the
South Beach scene, which is why I booked this location. We ate dinner twice at
their restaurant and both times it was excellent as were our servers who both
came to check on us multiple times. We had breakfast several times. Twice we did
the weekend buffet brunch, which was excellent and another morning ordered off
the menu. The eggs Benedict Oscar was very good as were the fresh strawberries,
raspberries and blueberries. Breakfast staff was awesome too. I stayed with a
friend. Each time we had a spacious balcony with chairs and a table. Our rooms
had two beds and each bed had six pillows on it and beds were heavenly
comfortable. The room temperature was adjustable and I was able to get it down
to a nice cold 68 degrees. It felt great under the covers. We had quiet rooms as
requested. Vicky, the spa manager was extra nice and we really appreciated it.
If I forgot to mention someone by name, I am sorry- you were all beyond awesome
and it made all the difference in our stays. The lobby also had a very pleasant
smell and tasteful decor. Bath amenities by Purple Asprey of London were very
nice too. There was a beautiful marble bathroom with separate shower and tub.
Housekeeping did an excellent job each day. Everything about our stay exceeded
our expectations. If you like to be treated like royalty, be pampered and happy,
then this is the place for you. Our stays were worth every dollar we spent.
Thanks again everyone for making us so comfortable and happy both before and
after our cruise! By the way, I have stayed at other Ritz Carltons long before I
began writing reviews on Trip Advisor. each was a positive experience, but this
location had the best staff and service by far of any I have stayed at. When
things are great, I think it is important to recognize and give praise where it
is due.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVIATRIXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeldar T, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear AVIATRIXXX,

It is such a pleasure to read your wonderful feedback and know that our Ladies and Gentleman took great care of you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future the next time you are traveling to Miami. Thank you for sharing your experience with the viewers of TripAdvisor and have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,

William Yahr
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was by far the BEST hotel experience I have ever had. If you have not had the opportunity to stay at the Ritz do yourself a favor...do it! My daughter and I took a mother daughter vacation to Miami to soak up some fun and sun. We decided to stay in Coconut Grove at the Ritz. From the moment I stepped out of my car onto the property "Friendliness" was turned on and it never turned off. From the front desk to the concierge and housekeeping everyone was very accommodating, helpful and friendly. Diego who helped us with our bags you are the BEST!! He made sure we had everything we needed. There was a lot of construction going on out in front of the hotel but that if any was the one distraction/frustration that I had with my whole experience. For once we got inside the hotel all was good. The room...when we arrived we had a problem with the door at our room, the staff immediately moved us to another room and Diego brought all of our stuff up to the new room while we ate a great meal in the restaurant downstairs. The view was overlooking the pool area and the restaurant 8 floors down, Loved the balcony outside the room also, nice place to sit down and unwind after a great/busy day down at South Beach. All in all I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, it was a wonderful experience I will stay there again as we are now planning a trip back to Miami for New Years!! I highly recommend anyone going to Miami and wanting a really nice place to stay the Ritz Carlton in Coconut Grove is definitely the place. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeldar T, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Ms. Maria,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the viewers of tripadvisor. It was such a great pleasure to read your wonderful comments about our facility, service and the Ladies and Gentleman who helped to create a true Ritz-Carlton experience for you. I will be sure to share your comment with Diego and recognize him for a job well done. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our little home in the Grove the next time you are in our neighborhood.

Sincerely,

William Yahr
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at this property for a business meeting over 4 days and have to say that the experience was fine. The rooms are good, though the view not exceptional. The location, only a few blocks from the Grove is convenient, though the neighborhood construction was really distracting. The food was better than average for a hotel and I found the staff to be very accommodating. All in all, a solid stay, though probably not as nice as I have had in other Ritz properties and thus, probably not worth the Ritz prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeldar T, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear AAF62,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the viewers of tripadvisor and for making our property your home while traveling. I am sorry to hear that we failed to exceed your The Ritz-Carlton expectation. Please know that your feedback is truly valued and is a great tool in our continued efforts to provide the finest personalized service to our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we can only hope you will give us the opportunity to recreate your experience the next time you travel to Miami.

Sincerely,

William Yahr
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I'm really frustraded with the Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove. I've chosen the hotel for my honeymoon and I'm very regretful for it, because the treatment is being terrible. My room wasn't good, bad view, so I told the manager, Anne, to change the room. The hotel's staff seems indifferent with me. It seems that my preferences doesn't matter for them. I think this is a lack of respect. The manager gave me another room, with a worse view and very noisy, near a construction. It seems a joke, isn't? I'm guest of Ritz-Carlton since many years. I used to go to Ritz-Carlton Orlando twice a year and there everyrhing work, the staff is wonderful and the treatment with the guests are perfect, everybody are courteous and dedicated, unfortunately the staff of Ritz-Carlton don't know what it means, everybody are unpleasant. I'll never come back this hotel again, my family neither and I'll never recommend for other people. This hotel couldn't be part of the flag Ritz-Carlton, because it's much different of others Ritz-Carlton from United States and Europe (Germany and Austria). I never feel so frustraded with a hotel like I'm with this.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkkky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeldar T, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the viewers of tripadvisor. I am quite disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your time with us. Please know that the care and comfort of our guests is our highest mission. For this I truly am sorry you did not get that sense of importance. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly on this matter at your convenience.
Thank you again for sharing your concerns and I look forward to your response.

Regards,

William Yahr
Hotel Manager
William.Yahr@ritzcarlton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this Ritz Carlton for two days. It was wonderful! The pool is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is walking distance to shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend this property!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeldar T, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear MG,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the viewers of TripAdvisor and for your wonderful feedback. I am so pleased to know that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is such a great tool in our continuous efforts to provide the finest personal service and facility to our guests. Thank you for making us your home while traveling to Miami and we look forward to welcoming you back to our oasis in the Grove.

Sincerely,

William Yahr
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#12 of 123 in Miami
863 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Miami, FL 33133-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among lush subtropical foliage and surrounded by the brilliant turquoise waters of Biscayne Bay, The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami provides an unforgettable escape to one of the city's most delightful downtown hotels. After a day spent exploring the eclectic boutiques, art galleries and restaurants that characterize Miami's original neighborhood, resort guests can indulge in a soothing treatment at the hotel's spa, discover dining that celebrates fresh Florida fare from farm to sea, and relax in accommodations that reveal views of the adjacent marina from a private balcony. Whether for business or pleasure, let us make our corner of Miami the one you return to over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing