We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Ranked #49 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The rooms were nice but need a little updating on the furniture. Trying to check inn was a nightmare. They tell you 4pm check in and if you get there early there is no way to get a room before 4pm. Pedro in the restaurant was the nicest person I meet at the hotel. He couldn't do enough to help you. He should be running this place. The location is great and is close to everything.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Brian H,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our hotel specially since you were celebrating such an special occasion as a graduation.
Our check in time is guarantee at 4:00 p.m. however we are very good at checking in our guest prior 4:00 p.m. availability permitting of course. It is truly difficult during graduation time to have all the rooms ready before that guarantee time due to a lot of the guest arriving before that time.
We sincerely apologize that you couldn't get your room before 4:00 p.m. but we do hope that you can understand that we do our best to have our guest happy and we sincerely hope that you would stay in our property again enjoying all the great amenities available in the city of Coconut Grove.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked this hotel for a one night stay as we had a 1 day layover in Miami after an international trip. It was booked through Priceline "name your own price" so I had no choice in the matter. After we were learned what hotel we got, I immediately read the reviews and was TERRIFIED to stay here as almost every review wrote something horrible. I actually called Priceline to try to get out of this hotel, based on the reviews, but that was not possible.

Anyways, we stayed here and I am glad we did! It was a great stay with very friendly front-desk and hotel staff and was perfect for what we needed. Our flight was not leaving until 7 p.m. the following day, so we spent the day at the Mayfair pool, which was awesome! The pool was perfect---more than enough lounge chairs that were all very comfortable and well-positioned. There were also many tables and bar seating as well. The pool water itself was warm. The pool floor appeared clean. We ordered lunch and drinks from the pool bar, and the food was fresh and tasty, although overall it was quite expensive. However, it is Miami, so it wasn't unreasonable.

Our room itself was VERY spacious----the sleeping area was large the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also HUGE----in a way almost too big, for just the two of us, but it was very nice! The toiletries they provided smelled wonderful. It took several minutes for the water from the shower to warm up, but was not a big deal.

My only complaint was the balcony of our room was under construction. As in totally unusable---there were 4 plastic garbage bins filled with gravel and rock, dust everywhere on the balcony, along with random tools. Obviously it was unusable, but I am surprised the workers left their tools on the balcony and didn't clean up after themselves! That morning, work on the balcony started a little before 9 and was very loud---I think they were drilling concrete. If i hadn't already been awake, it would not have been pleasant to been awakened by that sound, but we were already up and headed up to the pool so it did not bother us. However, I can see how it would be very annoying if this is what woke you up or you were trying to sleep in---there is no way anyone could sleep through that sound! I am surprised the hotel chooses to occupy the rooms that are under construction.

The other thing that was a bit of an annoyance, although this was not the fault of the hotel, was the fact that it took us almost 35 minutes to get a cab to go back to the airport. Granted, we left around rush hour, but the hotel staff stated that they called for a cab and that one would be there in 10 minutes. We waited and waited....and nothing. We ended up sharing a cab with another guest who was also going to the airport who had also been waiting a significant amount of time for a cab. Odd, but I feel that falls on the cab companies, not the hotel.

Some people on here have also complained about the layout of the hotel and lobby. Yes, it was different, but I don't think it is anything to complain about! It struck me as unique, but not old fashioned or out-of-date, as some have said.

All staff---from the front desk, to the pool staff, to the bartender at the pooll---was very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and comfortable bed and the pool was PERFECT for us. We would definitely stay at the Mayfair again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Anne L,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and we are extremely happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations; we truly hope to have earned a loyal guest for your future visits to the city of Miami.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is the worst hotel ever i got there may 8 room was drity bugs crawling around horrible service no one seem to speak english so wen u ask the house keepers for items they say no english mangers are even rude if u like trash stay here if not find a better hotel for the price of a room here you can go to the marriot everything is old and out dated when i say please dont stay here 'DO NOT STAY HERE WORST STAY EVER

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Envy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Envy1221,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay in our property and for providing feedback that we could used to improve our service overall.
We would like to apologize for the issues that you encounter and I would like to share with you that the Mayfair Hotel and Spa is an equal opportunity employer and we are extremely proud of our entire staff; some of them may not have fully master the English language but are fully capable of communicate with all of our guest, we truly apologize if you feel that they didn't understand you.
I sincerely hope that our managers were professional as we expect all of them to be with our guest furthermore we hold all of our managers to extremely high standard and once again we would like to apologize if you felt that they did not meet those standards.
Overall I would like to make you aware that with the feedback that you have provided we will put it to use to make sure that none of our future guest feel the way you did.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I canceled a reservation because i think is not fair for pay 30 dollars for the use of the hut tub in your room. No way!! found another hotel with hut tub for free. Is not fair, is like if you pay for a room and need to pay for the use of towels... ridiculous

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Marilusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Marilusy,

We are disappointed in reading that you cancelled the stay due to the fee that the Japanese hot tub requires.
We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to regain your confidence sometime in the near future for you to experience all of our great amenities.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The bizarre 70's architecture notwithstanding, this hotel claims to be newly renovated. Wonder what part of the hotel they renovated as I thought the hotel needs a total renovation. Location is good by the village of Coconut Grove if that's your thing, but it is depressing to come back to this hotel. I was afraid to sit on the chairs in the room and the truly disgusting lounge chair on the balcony. And $30 extra for the hot tub - you have to be kidding me. Sheets were not comfortable, bed was mushy. Marble bathroom is large and was fine. And the elevators - seeing scratched out numbers on the elevator buttons and a cracked glass in the slow moving elevators made me wonder once again, how could this hotel claim to be newly renovated? Staff seemed ok though but leave an extra 10 -20 minutes early for valet parking to retrieve the car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear ChRubin,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay in our property and even though you didn't find our property of your liking, the feedback provided is always welcome.
I would like to share with you that our property was renovated about three years ago which in total was the rooms and the pool area and now we are finishing renovating our entire landscaping and by the end of the summer our elevators.
Our hotel separates itself from any other property with its unique art style and architecture and all of its great character and charm and we are extremely proud of being such an stable of the city of Miami for so many years.
Once again we thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion and we truly hope that you continue to visit the Miami / Coconut Grove area which has so much to offer to all of its visitors.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We've stayed at the Mayfair over the Christmas holidays for about 5 years now. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The staff, valet and front desk personnel are very professional and accommodating. Being pet friendly is a major bonus. The food at the restaurant is delicious. The location in the Grove is convenient for about everything including a short 2 to 3 miles drive to access I95. We are rather picky and feel comfortable recommending this property. we wouldn't return year after year if it was not a 1st class operation.

Room Tip: That's really personal preference. We like quiet but also sunshine from the patio. There are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear troy p,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and we are thrilled to read from our loyal guest.
Our entire staff takes great pride in making our guest feel warm and welcome and reading comments that praise our staff is truly rewarding, not just for us but for the whole staff which works extremely hard.
We can only continue to work as hard day after day to make sure that all of our guest feel as you do and we hope to have you back in our property in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I dont know how this hotel/motel received 4 Dimonds.. it is horrible and over priced. The only thing this motel have to offer is the location. Its in a great location.. they charge you $30 to use the hot tub thats in the room you paid for.. its like me paying for a room and then you charge me to use the bed.. and the balcony had algae, mold, bird droppings, cigarette butts, leaves and old water from who ever used it.. nasty nasty.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaReaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear DaReaper,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback in relation to your recent stay in our property; it is truly unfortunate that you were not able to feel comfortable in our hotel and we will do everything in our power to avoid having any of our guest have those feelings.
We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to regain your confidence sometime in the future and for you to truly enjoy the Mayfair experience.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#18 of 127 in Miami
871 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#9 of 127 in Miami
1,287 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave, Miami, FL 33133-5213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £126 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the most exciting and luxurious Coconut Grove Miami hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing