We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about this hotel...”
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #50 of 123 Hotels in Miami
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this hotel...”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed pre cruise, check in lady was rude and v.abrupt. Room was really nice and spacious and v. clean. Ate in bar area on evening food and service excellent. Breakfast was awful, wasn't explained how it worked, no clean bowls for cereal despite asking twice, no English breakfast tea, waiter was no help, couldn't understand that we did not want coffee - for America the service was shocking. Pity as the service the evening before was very good. If I stayed here again (unlikely) I would find somewhere else for breakfast!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vixta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis c, Manager at JW Marriott Miami, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We extend our sincerest apologies that you were disappointed by our service and your stay with us. The management teams in the departments you mentioned have been alerted and your insights have been shared directly with them and our associates. If you would like to further discuss the details of your stay and your schedule permits a brief conversation, please call me directly at 305.329.3500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    320
    112
    43
    42
See reviews for
150
208
48
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel right on Miami Downtown, beautiful views and excellent location.
We got a bay view suite, with breathtaking views, the room was really nice, with a quite large (60" ? ) screen, and even a TV embedded on the bathroom mirror.

We were given access to the concierge lounge, which was nice for breakfast since we were almost alone. The breakfast itself was ok, not too much variety, but it was good. Again with an awesome view of the bay.

The reason why i didn't gave 5 star rating to this hotel is due to a couple of annoyances:

- there was a buzzing sound on the room from the bathroom fan, which cannot be switch off.
- Upon our arrival e found a few nail clippings on the bathroom floor (yikes!) from the last guests.
- valet parking was quite expensive (~40 USD per day), but i guess that'd due to being in downtown.

But i will definitely come back, since all in all it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Get a bay view superior room if budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to our cruise. We arrived around 1pm and were able to check in. The valet staff and front desk staff were very friendly and professional. The lobby is beautiful, everything, both public areas and our room was very clean. Our room was spacious, the king size bed was very comfortable with nice linens. There was a scale in the bathroom, nice touch. I also liked the make up mirror. The hotel is centrally located, a few blocks from a very hip Brickell Ave area with nice selection of restaurants and bars, about 1 1/2 mile from Bayside Marketplace, touristy but fun, with a view of the cruise ships in the distance. The rate at this Marriott was quite a bit less than the at the Marriott closer to the port, and I was very happy with our choice. Breakfast buffet was very well laid out with a wonderful selection of baked goods, an omelette station, fresh fruit, etc. I felt that the $15.00 price was fair for the quality and for the service and view. The only issue we had occurred when I called for bellman service and was told it would take 10 minutes. After 20 minutes I called back and was told it would be longer and I could not be given an estimate, as I was "6th in queue." At that point, my husband and I decided to take our luggage down ourselves. When we mentioned something at the front desk we were treated rather indifferently. I understand that the hotel was very busy with everyone needing to leave at the same time but if I had been given accurate information the first time, I would have avoided the confusion and would not have ended our stay on a sour note. All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbringdrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I've stayed here twice - once on business for 3 nights in September 2012, the other time on vacation with my boyfriend for 2 nights in November 2013. On both occasions it was spectacular. A truly glamorous hotel with great staff, exceptional views, a very central location. The rooms are luxurious, sexy, comfortable and extraordinarily spacious.

A bit pricey but COMPLETELY worth the splurge!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ and get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My family and I stayed here for a week. We booked 2 adjoining rooms - 1 kingsize bed for me and my husband and 1 with 2 double beds for our kids and my mum. We were very pleased to be given rooms on the 7th floor that opened out to the pool - they were fantastic. Get back from a day out then don your togs, open the patio door and let the kids run into the wonderfully warm pool!
We had a couple of minor problems in one of the rooms but the staff at reception acted like lightning to sort them out and gave us some vouchers for breakfast to compensate too.
We ate breakfast in the hotel every day, the buffet was more than adequate, the kids (free breakfast for under 6s and only $8 for under 12s) absolutely loved it and ate loads! We did have the wholewheat french toast with berries off the a la carte menu one day too and it was delicious, highly recommended.
We also ate in the Terrace restaurant a couple of times - kids menus were provided and the lunches were really tasty and looked great when served too. Service was always excellent, whoever served us - couldn't fault it.
We used the gym (also on the 7th floor) excellent quality machines (didn't use the free weights) all equipped with towels and water.
I was expecting a business hotel that wasn't going to cope well with my noisy kids for a week but how wrong I was. It was mainly a business hotel - it's in the heart of the district, but it's walking distance to any public transport and really close to the buzz of Mary Brickell plaza which has great restaurants, bars and some cool shops too. Overall we loved staying here and if my husband gets invited to work in Miami again next year we will be reserving the same rooms!

Room Tip: 7th floor is where the pool is - great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koh256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have stayed here before and will stay again. It is in the middle of the business district of Miami. What you would expect from a JW Marriott. We are MR Platinum and were upgraded to a beautiful suite. Lounge was great. Staff could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUAYNABO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excelent choise in Brickell area, clean and comfy rooms, geat pool. Walking distance to 10 st with great choises of restaurants and close to Bayside Market. Excelent valet parking staff. Definitely we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALANA034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#18 of 123 in Miami
3,286 reviews
Conrad Miami
#14 of 123 in Miami
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#10 of 123 in Miami
518 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#9 of 123 in Miami
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Property: JW Marriott Miami
Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131-3101
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Miami has received numerous recognition's including, Best Design Award by Marriott International, Overall Guest Satisfaction Award, Connoisseur's Choice by Resorts & Great Hotels, and the Wine Spectator Award 2007-2014. Being selected One of the World's Best Business Hotels by Travel & Leisure Magazine is one of the most recent accolades. The JW Marriott Miami offers a one-of-a-kind experience that allows you to enjoy the comforts of home during your stay. This award-winning downtown Miami hotel blends the features of a premier conference and meeting facility with timeless elegance, thoughtful amenities and award-winning service. Elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites offer the finest details, including marble tubs, high-speed Internet and flat-screen televisions. Dine at La Terraza Cafe and Bar, a casual fare with an array of options to choose from. Relaxation is as close as the luxurious spa and the unique stainless steel pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott
JW Marriott Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing