We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time at this Hotel, and I am Now a Fan”
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #58 of 128 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I tend to stay at luxury hotels. I really enjoyed this hotel for 1 night. Quiet on 18th floor, pool was large, weight room acceptable, free wi-fi and free business lounge with printer was key. 40" HDTV was really nice. Will stay here again whenever have early meeting on Brickell Avenue. Nicely appointed room and public spaces too. Extremely helpful front desk and concierge. Valet was efficient even at $29 overnight.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

Great hotel, great service but not cheap either. We visited the hotel in December 2009 and stayed for 2 nights. A very elegant business hotel with good food. The location is not the best as it is in downtown Miami which is not the nicest place to be as a tourist. Not much to do or see after 7pm. But if you are looking for a great business hotel with a business center in downtown and price is not an issue, you found your place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innerewut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the JW Marriott for 4 days and we had a great time. The room was very clean and the staff was excellent. The hotel amenities were wonderful. You will not go wrong by choosing this hotel. We have plans to stay there again later on this year. Excellent hotel....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswlsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This is an excellent hotel, rooms are very nice, staff was very nice. The resturants were failry pricy, but the food was good. Their pool was interesting and enjoyable. It is on the 7th floor and is all stainless steel. This gave a unique experience in swimming and it was very well maintained. The water was just like fresh water and you could not smell or feel the chlorine in the pool.

Parking is also fairly expensive, but this is in downtown Miami, so it is actually comparable to others close by.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Just stayed one night. Was fortunate to get a corner room with a water view, and the room and view were very agreeable! I didn't have any meals, nor did I have enough time to try out the facilities in general, so my review is based primarily on one night in the room. Bed was very comfortable and linens were excellent.

My complaints are relatively minor, but for a hotel at this level, one expects top-notch.
- As a Marriott member, I requested foam pillows, but didn't get them
- the wireless, though free (bravo, about time hotels quit gouging travelers for wireless!), but it took an unreasonable half hour just to get the damn thing to work! I was not alone, as it took my colleague even longer, so it doesn't seem to be limited to my computer challenges
- the in room coffee was lousy, and can't they offer real coffee mugs??

Overall, the location for our needs was just fine - had a nice lunch next door at the Gordon Biersch, and got coffee in the morning from Starbucks. I'd be happy to stay here again if I was coming for business nearby, but probably wouldn't stay if I was in MIA as a tourist.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourismspecialist88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My wife had a conference at this hotel so I tagged along with our 2 year old. The room was nice and clean and the staff was nice. You really have no option but to use the valet parking since there is no parking anywhere around the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I visit Miami, mainly South Beach, at least once a year. This time we decided to stay away from the beach so we could enjoy downtown Miami a little more. The JW Marriott was perfect. It seems to be in a banking district, which was fine with us, because it was nice and quiet at night. When we first arrived at the hotel, I was very pleased with what I saw. However, no one helped us with our bags when we pulled up, which was quite a surprise. The lobby of the hotel is very nicely decorated and the front desk staff was very inviting. Our room was perfect. I loved the bathroom, flat screen and computer with free internet access. The pool, spa and fitness center were all great. My only complaint, which isn’t really that bad, is that there was no place for us to store water or other beverages. The refrigerator was set up like a vending machine, so there was no room to put anything else. We did not get to go to any of the restaurants or lounges in the hotel, because we wanted to explore the city. The front desk staff referred us to a local Cuban restaurant called Versailles, which was wonderful. I thought it would be a stuffy, fancy place, but it was quite the opposite, and the food was great. There’s also a Gordon Biersch and Morton’s right across the street from the hotel for a good, quick meal. Overall, my stay at the Marriott was great, and I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msbrown76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#22 of 128 in Miami
3,445 reviews
Downtown
W Miami
W Miami
#51 of 128 in Miami
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Conrad Miami
#16 of 128 in Miami
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131-3101
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
#23 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £166 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Miami has received numerous recognition's including, Best Design Award by Marriott International, Overall Guest Satisfaction Award, Connoisseur's Choice by Resorts & Great Hotels, and the Wine Spectator Award 2007-2014. Being selected One of the World's Best Business Hotels by Travel & Leisure Magazine is one of the most recent accolades. The JW Marriott Miami offers a one-of-a-kind experience that allows you to enjoy the comforts of home during your stay. This award-winning downtown Miami hotel blends the features of a premier conference and meeting facility with timeless elegance, thoughtful amenities and award-winning service. Elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites offer the finest details, including marble tubs, high-speed Internet and flat-screen televisions. Dine at La Terraza Cafe and Bar, a casual fare with an array of options to choose from. Relaxation is as close as the luxurious spa and the unique stainless steel pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott
JW Marriott Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing