We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring ear plugs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Villas at Doral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Villas at Doral
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bring ear plugs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

I stayed in lodge #2, the laundry was under my room and every morning around 7am it sounded like a fiesta was taking place, on Sun March 14th, they had some party going on down there. Called to complain, didnt matter, yelling, screaming, latino dance music, terrible way to be waken. The room staff are continually yelling in the hallways, their nextel phones chirping all hours, the pillows remind me of that ol motel on the edge of towns quality. I could not get a good sleep, the pillows were the worst. At night when you finally get some quiet, i was awaken by some type of critter running through the walls, it was either a rat or a mouse. I would assume a rat beings there are rat bait traps everywhere. That is only for the hotel. Forget trying to shop or buy anything, small bottle of sunscreen, 15, baseball cap 30, can of hair spray 35, yes you read that right. A can of hair spray was 35 big ones, and the list goes on. This is the first time i wrote a review, but this is the first time i have ever stayed in such a lousy run hotel where the staff have no regards for the quests and be prepared or should i say, bring your translation software or a translator because the only people who speak english are the golf and dining room staff. I would never stay at this hotel again and in the future i will try very hard to never stay at a marriott branded facility again. Golf was just OK but there are many other choices in the area. In summary, the hotel was built in the 60s and it shows, i did not get good sleep from the noisy staff and critters in the walls and the old flat pillows. You will be overcharged for everything. I am sorry i stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasoned_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    210
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
297
123
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Stayed here with my husband during a seminar he attended. The rooms needed some work. However, I did notice on our last day that they were painting the hallways and some outside fences, so maybe they are in the middle of renovation. The bathroom needed cleaning, new caulk and the shower doors scrubbed better. The toilet ran and the fan for the air was noisy. Maids who could not speak english or even tell me where the ice machine was yelled up and down the hall at 8:45 am.
Otherwise, the grounds were lovely. The Champs restaurant which overlooked the Blue Monster was great and the staff VERY attentive. Strong drinks here. The pool area was very nice, with a waterfall and separate pool area for kids to play with a slide. Staff here was also great, taking orders for the poolside bar. Did not venture to the spa, but from the looks of the other buildings, lobby, etc. it looked good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

We stayed for a week with friends in a two bedroom, two bathroom unit on the top floor of one of the units at the Marriott Villas. The location is convenient if you have a car but otherwise it far from most Miami tourist locations. The unit was clean, comfortable and well laid out. The kitchen was reasonably well stocked with dishes, utensils and pots and pans- so much so that we ate all evening meals in the suite. There are 3 TVs with almost a hundred channels and free Wifi. The staff at the Villas and at the associated Doral golf course, which we admired but did not use, were excellent. Whatever we asked for was attended to quickly. We did not use the pool but it looked great for kids with lots of safety fencing to ensure that parents could relax. The associated Doral Golf Resort and Spa, which you can use, is amazing! It has 5 golf courses, and many restaurants, shops and pools. The spa is pricey but looks like the services it provides would be worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Droynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

I came here for a 4 day conference. It's a great hotel, but it is a little away from the Miami beach area. The rooms are nice, I would say around average; not what you would expect from typical Marriott Hotels. Walking to the conference rooms is a little difficult when it's raining since there is not a covered walkway directly to the doors of the conference room. The scenery is beautiful and relaxing, as is the pool area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but if you are expecting an extravagant looking room/hotel, then you may be a little disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

Nice place, but I won’t say it is up to the expected Marriott vacations standards. When we check the bedding upon arrival and discovered we needed new sheets for the master bed. I called the desk were delivered sheets in about 15 min. They did not offer to change them, just handed them over. Maybe I am being critical, but if I just checked in I expect them to take care of anything that is wrong. The room lay out was great, but they are not capitalizing on the potential when in comes to maintenance. Paint on the lamp posts and trim from when they did the walls, worn carpets, sofas, chairs. Prominent cigarette burns on the carpet, sink counter top, coffee table and night stands. The kitchen was nice, got to love the dishwasher and in room laundry. I would be upset if I had paid more than I did for the 2BR.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthEastRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

I thought this was a great place. We've stayed at other Marriott Villas before and, yes, this is a bit smaller but it is in a major city and it is still VERY spacious. Staff was excellent, helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetmarieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wareham, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

We stayed here the week of October 11, 2009 on a timeshare trade. Everything about the resort was excellent. It was very quiet while we were there - which is what we like. The location was good - easy to get to where we wanted to go. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I took the "Painting on glass" class which I thoroughly enjoyed. The unit had everything you would ever need. Beds were comfortable! Transportation was provided to the Doral Golf Resort. We went over one day, much busier than where we were. If you want to shop, there are malls everywhere. I read an earlier post that spoke of expensive parking. The timeshare Marriott Villas at Doral does not charge for parking.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gottagoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Villas at Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Villas at Doral

Property: Marriott's Villas at Doral
Address: 4101 NW 87th Avenue, Miami, FL 33178
Region: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Villas at Doral 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Marriott's Villas at Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Villas At Doral Hotel Miami
Marriotts At Doral
Marriotts Hotel At Doral
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott
Marriott's Villas At Doral Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing