We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average on its kind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Got a price of $379 per night with a $50 credit to use towards food or spa. In other words it cost $329 per night which is close to other hotels of this kind like the JW marquis, etc. The difference comes to the overly high prices in food, valet, etc. For example, breakfast for 2 was $80 (egg white omeletes, coffe, and juice).

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Negroycanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. We apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations as we strive to ensure all our guest have a genuinely delightful experience. We take your feedback into consideration and would like to share that the hotel is competitively priced with luxury hotels within the area.

Thank you again for writing about your visit. We value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,580)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Miami
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,580 of 2,580 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

The only way to make this a better hotel would be for it to have an actual beach, which would inevitably place it in South Beach, ruining the superb location this place offers.

I believe most of the rooms are different from one another, and that the luck of the draw will get you a larger or smaller room, a nicer bathroom, or a more usable bathroom. What I am sure of is that you can definitely ask for sunrise or sunset side, and if available the staff will accomodate... At least that was my experience and what helps me give these guys a 5 stare service rating.

The room we got had a bay view and an incredibly extense bathroom (you could hold a small party in there) lined in marble and with a very modern design and feel too it - a deep contrast to the traditional design of the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong.

I was not able to eat at the hotel restaurants, although the complimentary roomservice breakfast we received one of the weekend mornings was great.

The pool area is not hit by the sun in the early hours of the morning, so those who what to tan before the scorching heat of noon comes around must use the cabanas or the open grass area to the east of the premises. Other than that, it is nicely designed and offers plenty of areas to enjoy, with choices for those looking for privacy or wide open seating areas. Gym was excellent with state of the art gear and very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

From the moment you enter you are welcomed with the incense....the flowers, the staff...beautiful lobby! All staff is very welcoming and pleasant. The standard hotel rooms are very nice, comfortable with a zen style. large bathrooms with separate tub, they all have a balcony. I don't think there is a room that doesn't have a nice view....Nice gym and a beautiful spa!! Definitely a luxury hotel...There are many restaurants in the area! I totally recommend it... you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

As frequent visitors to Miami, we have tried a variety of properties both on Miami Beach, and downtown. The Mandarin Oriental has fast become our preferred Miami hotel (especially for business). It doesn't look or feel its' 10+ years in existence. It is kept immaculate and the building is ideally situated on Brickell Key, surrounded by spectacular views of Biscayne Bay and downtown. It feels as if it's on its own "island". Both restaurants, Azul and Cafe Sambal are exquisite, as is the room service menu. Typically we stay in the Biscayne suite, which is just gorgeous with stunning views. All room details are 5 star across the board. This hotel is true to Mandarin Oriental quality and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesintheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Although this hotel is ten year old, it is kept meticulous. The level of service at the front desk is fantastic. The rooms are beautifully furnished in a zen style and are very relaxing. The view was great but all rooms do not have a view to the bay. The beach are and the surrounding have quite a bit of activity to do. Downtown and bayside are near by so is Miami beach and the gables. Great location

Room Tip: Tell them it for a special ocassion
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

There are not enough superlatives for this hotel. Everything, and I mean everything, is first class. The location is spectacular, the public spaces and rooms are equally gorgeous, the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and contemporary without being pretentious. The service is absolutely over the top. The front desk treated me as if I were the only person staying at the hotel all day. I have stayed at some of the top hotels in the country, and I can honestly say this hotel is as good as any of them. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at MO in April. The hotel is very beautiful and the location is great. Breakfast and dinner can be very pricey, but overall, the food was really impressive. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious enough for us both. Our balcony overlooked the city and had an ocean view. The bathroom was beautiful as well. The customer service was EXCELLENT. The staff was very kind and helped us in any way possible. We were also given the option to check in early, which I appreciated. Anything we asked for was immeadiately delt with.

Although it was a great experience, I was WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED that I was charged to use their internet service. For a luxury hotel, I really find that to be unacceptable. This fee is not mentioned anywhere on their website so I was under the impression that this service was included with the room. The mini bar in the room is very expensive so bring your own drinks and snacks if you wish to save some money. For instance, a small tiny can of Pringles cost $6! So think about their prices for a bottle of beer or vodka if you wanted some. Although, the valet service was fast and the staff was friendly, there is NO free parking. You must pay about 36 dollars per night for parking (they don't tell you this when booking).

Besides all of that, we did enjoy our stay. But it can be expensive once you add up all the small, unmentioned fees. So if money is not an issue. This is a great hotel to try.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#19 of 124 in Miami
3,308 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £208 - £590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio,YAKU by La Mar, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing