We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #4 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have stayed in the MO in Miami multiple times and intend to come back. The hotel has a lovely location - with most guest rooms having a view of the Miami skyline - which at night is spectacular. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, good quality, very comfortable beds. The hotel has a private beach, with huge lounge beds.

The service is some of the best I have ever experienced - the staff cannot do enough for you. Lots of examples - including one of the restaurants was being renovated during our visit - the hotel made sure we were aware of this before our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanneh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,681
    443
    172
    69
    50
See reviews for
422
977
116
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at the MO for a bachelor party in Miami. The hotel is nice, but definitely is missing the finer points to be an elite hotel. The service is average and could be considered below average for a 5 star. The shower was leaking water into the room and some of the finishings seemed dated. The pool was great. Overall, we had a good stay, but I would consider trying out other options before returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NainTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review of our hotel and value your feedback.

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. I regret that we did not provide the level of service we strive to extend to all our guests and I apologize for the inconveniences experienced. I assure you I will address your comments with the team and make immediate improvements.

We do hope you will reconsider and visit us again in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We recently stayed at the MO Miami for the 2nd time, and I must say it has deteriorated in the interim. We have also stayed at other MO properties in the US and abroad and found them to be, in general, excellent. This property, unfortunately doesn't compare, except in price. Our major issue is with the management and particularly the manager, Jorge Gonzalez. We had an issue upon check-in, where one of our 2 rooms was not available until approximately 6PM. Since we were only there for an extended weekend, this was a significant inconvenience. When I asked the staff to let the manager know what had happened I was told they would, but subsequently never heard from anyone. I followed up the next day and still no response. I subsequently wrote a personal letter to Mr. Gonzalez to which he also did not respond. When I received a survey from MO, I registered my disappointment. I then received a response that stated, "we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us." It made it very obvious that they do not read or consider their customer's input. On the upside the valet parking is probably the best I've encountered, the staff, in general, is very friendly, and the food is good. Unfortunately with management such as Mr. Gonzalez, the upside probably will not last long.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Dr. Labiak,

We appreciate your follow up note on TripAdvisor. As we have been in contact via email and phone on a couple of occasions, we do understand your note was probably already written before we were in touch.

Should you wish to further discuss, please contact me through our Executive Office.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The facility was ideal for a wedding. The beach, the view and the food were excellent. My room was a little small but the view of the bay made up for it.
The free trolley was convenient. Went to Vesqua which in its self was worth seeing.


Having a wedding? consider this spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

First stay at the Mandarin Oriental and was amazed at the service. This was the best service received at a hotel in the U.S.
Example: the concierge recommended an off-property restaurant that would be suitable for my 2 yr old son, husband and I, and once we were seated at said restaurant, the manager brought us a glass of champagne each courtesy of the hotel concierge. There were a few other instances like this in our very short stay.
Other five star things besides service: rooms, view, breakfast buffet.
Four star: pool, location.
Location, while not perfect, was actually quite convenient.
Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the water, the patios are beautiful to sit over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was a special treat for the family while my husband was at a conference for the weekend. There is a beautiful pool area. The mile long jogging trail around the island was fun. There is also a free trolley you can catch in front of the hotel.
We had a blast. Staff was super friendly.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahM2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have stayed here many times and it is my favourite MO (take this over London and Geneva) for service, room quality and the front desk. The breakfast is excellent, and I must say that in the off season, the hotel offers a lot of value for money. Beware though: this hotel is in the financial district and is not really suitable for pure beach lovers/tourists. Also, there was a lot of construction going on and the bar area was quite small as a result.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael01UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#12 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing