We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great spot for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I spent a long weekend at the Mandarin Oriental last week, and it was just what the doctor ordered. We were looking for a place offering great weather, solid pampering, and away from the South Beach scene. This hotel is it.

We arrived late Wednesday night, and basically had the beach and pool to ourselves all-day Thursday and until 5:00 Friday - with the exception of the iguana who was interested in the fruit from my wife's sangria. The weekender crowd rolled-in late Friday afternoon (including a wedding party). However, that didn't affect the excellent service and attention that we received from all pool attendants, bar and food staff, and housekeeping. MO knows how to spoil its guests.

Bed was extremely comfortable, balcony views were great. One would be hard-pressed to find much to complain about on-property (other than some of the prices, maybe...)

MO is on Brickell Key, which is a small island between downtown Miami and Miami Beach. The island is less than 2 miles in circumference (great for morning walks) and a 10 minute walk to Mary Brickell Village (shops, bars, restaurants). In sum, it is quiet and separate from much of the Miami nightlife, but not entirely removed from the places you'll want to go if/when you get out of the beach chairs.

Room Tip: Southwest end of the hotel has the best views (city/bay combo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuseBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,758
    461
    179
    72
    54
See reviews for
446
1,027
118
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Nc
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a lovely visit to Miami in January. The location of this property is perfect in that you are close to all that Miami has to offer but slightly secluded by the location on a small island with fantastic views of the water. The level of service was what one would expect from a Mandarin Oriental property…every detail is perfect, very "zen like" atmosphere, exquisite bathrooms and beautifully prepared meals.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChathamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We love Mandarin Hotels around the world. We had a great room, Mandarin gets great linen, large towels and excellent amenities. High levels of service are the norm and everything works. No resort fees either, so no feeling of being ripped off. Have dinner at La Mar and sit outside and enjoy the night view of Miami. Difficult to beat!

Thank you for the great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for four nights in April. We booked a deluxe bayview room and it was so beautiful, clean, and comfortable. Every employee we encountered including all doormen, front desk, concierge, housekeeping, pool, beach, and restaurant staff were outstanding. Really stellar service. We had breakfast at La Mar each morning and the food was wonderful. The hotel is in a great location as you could walk across the bridge and find many great restaurants and bars. We will definately be back....we loved it. Special thanks to Cindy at the front desk, Pamela at MO Lounge, Mihel at the pool, and Adriana in housekeeping who cleaned our room to perfection each day!

Room Tip: We booked through Luxury Link. They have a great deal for a deluxe bayview room which has amazing vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyDavid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed last Weekend celebrating our anniversary. We were welcomed by kind personnel, valet parking and proceed to reception, Guest Relations Manager received us, nice asian tea to refresh ourselves, gentleman gave us our key(check in not more than 5 mins) and we were escorted to our room while Manager explained in details all facilities of hotel. Room was decorated amazing, few moments later luggage arrived. Room Service was requested and arrived at the requested time, enjoying delicious food with house bottle of champagne we prepared for our visit to the spa. Couple's Suite was the perfect place for 2 hours massage for my fiancee and myself. I did not spend in the spa, I INVESTED I would say, amaziiiiiiing!. Breakfast is gorgeous, lot of variety of everything, you can select from the menu or the buffet, I recommned The Buffet, but we had "Latin American Package" and includes:room rate, valet parking, breakfast and early or late check out.
LA MAR Restaurant is an experience you should have, excellent in all aspects.
Check out was as fast as check in.

The only things I would say about the hotel:
1) I visit a lot of hotels due to my job and the Bathroom is missing a bidet.
2) Valet Parking personnel is amazing , but when rush time appears you could wait easily 15mins.

Thanks a lot Mandarin Oriental Miami for such a magic Anniversary Weekend.

Room Tip: Choose Packages or Promotions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Pre paid the Mandarin Continental through a reputable Irish travel agent in order to start off out Honeymoon in Luxury to get over Jet Lag and normal Wedding induced fatigue. We specifically chose a high end Hotel to relieve any worry we might have had.
First of all they did not have the room we had already paid for ( we later found out there was a convention on, the obvious inference is that the Hotel gave our room away prioritising corporate clients) we were offered a complimentary bottle of champagne and $100 hotel credit and told we would be moved the following day. This did not happen and we were fobbed off. Numerous more incidents such as waiting 90 minutes for room service ( Club sandwich and 2 cokes ) or an hour for chips at the pool. We spoke to Pearline the manager, outlined our problems and were promptly ignored as we were checking out the next day.
Having checked out the next day, we waited around an hour outside the front door for a Taxi and saw another couple skipped us in getting the complimentary hotel car.
In summary, if you want "service" of the type of too many staff dancing around you looking for tips like pigeons around someone in the park or your a big corporate customer looking for priority over normal travellers choose this hotel. If you want to stay somewhere you will be treated decently, stay somewhere else!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Will243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. I regret that we did not provide the level of service we strive to extend to all our guests and I apologize for the inconveniences experienced. I assure you I will address your comments with the team and make immediate improvements.

I hope you will give us another opportunity and I am at your service for any future assistance.

Sincerely,


Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Mandarin's emphasis on service was clearly palpable all throughout our stay. The valet, the doormen, the reception and the service staff are all clearly on the ball as to what the guests and I guess, what their hotel expect from them. I especially like the way that the Mandarin is in its own quiet "cove" - close enough to enjoy the city and private enough to get away from it. The setup of their beach and the adjoining park make for a real city hideaway. The rooms are standard fare though the bed is definitely very comfortable. I wish they would just have a bigger pool and maybe an updated gym. Despite those, it definitely is a place to come back to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#15 of 122 in Miami
3,267 reviews
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
484 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio,YAKU by La Mar, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing