We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The mandarin took good care of us.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #5 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The mandarin took good care of us.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful stay delivered as expected. Great food and service is fantastic. Spa was marvelous. It's a treat given the price but at least they deliver. Only one suggestion to have coffee in lobby throughout the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newaukee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,678
    441
    171
    69
    50
See reviews for
419
975
116
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have never stayed at this hotel, but upon getting quoted a good Florida Rate, which included a couple of different options, we decided to stay here. Upon checking in, our agent advised us we did not have this rate and would have to speak with the manager; which proceeded to take close to 15 minutes. During the time we waited, I was able to walk around and view the amenities, which were definitely not what I had expected (small pool, which is where were going to spend the majority of our time). After a very unpleasant start to our weekend, we contacted the hotel where we normally stay and was quoted, and honored, a very good rate and not to mention impeccable service. When we left this hotel, which was about a total of 25 minutes, the valet attendant remarked, "didn't you check in yesterday?" No personal attention to detail whatsoever. We will probably not choose this location again due to the lack of customer service and wrong information we were provided for our reservation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soupfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I regret to learn that your stay was not up to the standards of service we strive to provide to all our guests. I would like to better understand the rate issue that you experienced upon arrival to correct the communication breakdown that occurred when confirming your reservation. If you could share this information with the Executive Office at +1 (305) 913 8288, we will certainly turn around your poor first impression.

Although we are not located in the heart of South Beach, we pride ourselves on being a private island oasis away from the high energy of the beach area with a Five-Star Spa and excellent restaurants. The tranquility and surroundings of our pool and man made beach, although not ample in space or made for swimming, provide a quiet escape for guests trying to get away from other crowded areas of the city.

Thank you again for sharing your valued feedback and again my apologies for the disappointing experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit and I am at your service for any future assistance.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on recommendation of my travel agent and simply loved it. Beautiful view right on the edge of the marina.....what a beauty I gotta say. Breakfast buffet was amazing, staff was courteous, concierge desk was helpful. Had an amazing experience!!!!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vkpatodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you are looking for something different for a small group, this place is great. The staff was a pleasure to deal with and the restaurants and bar staff are wonderful. Front desk was very helpful with early arrivals all 3 times I've stayed here.

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petermay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's a lovely hotel with wonderful and pleasant employees. If only my husband and I were traveling, we would have enjoyed our stay. However, we were traveling with our 2 year old son, and the hotel was not sensitive or accomodating to our needs. When we arrived at the hotel at 9 in the evening (due to a delayed flight), it was way past our son's beditme. It took well over an hour for the hotel to deliver his crib to the room. They assigned us a room which was right over the restaurant featuring live outdoor music - it was like a discotech was in our room. By the time the music started, our son was sleeping, but it kept us up until after 1 am. I don't understand why we were assigned a room where we could hear loud music, especially with a toddler. The hotel was accomodating and did move us the next day, but the room we were moved into was not clean. There was matted hair along the shower wall. Again, they were apologetic and took care of the issue. Another incident occurred while I was waiting for the call to change rooms. I called the front desk and specifically asked them not to call me because my son was napping, and shared that I would call them when he woke up. Well, sure enough, 30 minutes later I received a phone call from the front desk. Staff also rang the doorbell TWICE, and the second time woke my son from his nap. We did speak with the hotel manager who was very understanding and apologetic about our experience, and they did offer us a small concession. We thought it would be a fun and relaxing weekend away, but came back exhausted and frustrated and in need of "a vacation from our vacation". Again, the hotel was responsive, but we expected more from a 5 star hotel of this caliber. We would stay at a Mandarin Oriental again, but never again if we are traveling with children. We find the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton tend to be more accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nvs1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

As we are a city resort, many families choose to stay with us year round and enjoy our Family Rooms and Suites. I am sorry to learn that your stay was not up to the standards of service we strive to provide to all of our guests. I will share your comments with our colleagues and reinforce training, efficiency and attention to detail as we wish for all families to have a memorable and enjoyable stay at the hotel.

I will also address the lapses in services you experienced with our housekeeping service and take corrective measures to ensure such miscommunication does not repeat itself.

Again, our apologies that your stay was not seamless and enjoyable. I do hope you give us another opportunity with a return visit and I am at your service for any future assistance.

Sincerley,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed there for one night in July. That was our very first trip to Miami and we wanted a hotel that gives us the harbour, city and river view (the one you see from CSI Miami) all at one. Mandarin Oriental was the one chosen. It is conveniently located in Brickell Key, which is in the downtown area. Because it is just off central downtown and is well guided, it was at a very safe location (safety was a bit of a concern for us after reading all those tourist related crime stories).

Services were great from valet parking to reception. The hotel does not appear to be brand new but it was still very modern and well maintained. We had a river and sea-view room and it was great. Slight drawback is that the balcony isnt big enough.

We ordered room service for dinner and quality is also very good. A 5-star experience.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a river / sea view room. That is what this hotel is for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A little bit tired, but you can see where they have modernised it and the new La Mar restaurant was a huge hit with us.

Rooms were spacious, I think we had the basic room - low floor, twin queen beds. Bathroom was ok, good shower and we had a largish balcony.

Service was a little disappointing, but not bad.

The pool was better than I imagined and although the hotel was busy, it was big enough to appear not overcrowded. We didn't try the spa, but it looked quite nice.

We liked it, was good value, wonderfully positioned and will use again.

The MO Miami was better than average to be fair, if not a 4 star mark.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoAddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
375 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#12 of 121 in Miami
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing