We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Nearby Hotels
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport(Miami)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Miami Downtown(Miami)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay(Miami)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Regency Hotel Miami(Miami)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
InterContinental Miami(Miami)(Great Value!)
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveller rating
763
437
170
84
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
437
170
84
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut grovepanorama restaurantfrank ruizeighth floordeluxe roombay viewbiscayne bayfull kitchenvalet parkingkey biscaynecoral gablessouth beachrestaurants and shopsbusiness meetingrooftop poolvalet serviceper day
Filter
Updating list...
825 - 830 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We travel to Miami often as our daughter is a student at the University of Miami. We usually stay at the Biltmore or the Ritz Carlton. Because there were no rooms available there I booked at the Sonesta, expecting a mediocre experience. What a pleasant surprise. The views are amazing and the location is great. Service is excellent. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravimasih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear Ravimasih,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your comments on your experience. We are just a few minutes from the University of Miami campus and Coconut Grove is a great alternative to Coral Gables. We hope you had the opportunity during your visit to enjoy some of the many shops and restaurants within walking distance of our hotel. If not we hope you will be back again soon to visit and explore.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We hosted a cocktail reception and seated dinner in a private room at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove in August, 2012. During planning of the event, we encountered some difficulty, but the management team acted responsibly and made every effort to host a successful evening.

The event was exceptionally well-done thanks to the catering staff at the Sonesta. Particularly, Frank, Omar and Jose did an excellent job in making our guests feel special and welcome to the well appointed private room adjacent to the Panorama Restaurant. From the standpoint of the venue, the Sonesta is a gem of a property with spectacular views from the balcony just off of the private room. Our guests were treated to excellent food, attentive service, and impeccable care from the staff. Kudos to Sonesta Coconut Grove!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear Dan O,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent event at our hotel. I am pleased that your guest had such a wonderful experience. I apologize that your initial planning did not start off smoothly but I am proud that our team worked together to make it right. I will be sure to share your comments with Frank, Jose and Omar. We hope you will be back again soon to host another event or to dine with us in our Panorama Restaurant.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Spent 3 nights there in a "deluxe" bayfront room on the 18th floor. Nice balcony and a nice view, but the room is completely "unfriendly". Huge TV and a comfy bed, but there really wasn't enough space for anything else. In fact, we were contantly in each other's way just moving around normally. Perhaps as a 1 person room it might have been tolerable. This really doesn't make sense since the closet, bathroom and an empty "closet" intended for a washer and dryer were larger than the "living" space of the room. It was sort of ridiculous. In the bathroom there were at least 4 mirrors, but there were no mirrors anywhere else in the room. Housekeeping was poor. The first day they didn't come until after 4pm, and then were indignant when we asked them to return in a few minutes, noting we were gone all day. We were rewarded by them forgetting to leave coffee, and punished when the maid turned off the air conditioner...It was September in Miami! The heat index was 99! Oh yea..the closest ice machine was on the 8th or 9th floor...we stayed on the 18th...it melted by the time you got back to your room! The pool was also around the 8th floor, but was small. and did not have alot of room for people to lounge, or so it seemed. The required valet at $23 a day is becoming the norm, but the driveway was so small, only 3 or 4 cars could be handled at once, and that was an accident waiting to happen. To their credit, the guys that worked the valet hustled and did their best, and were tipped accordingly, but they were the only smoothe part of the operation. Sorry to be negative. I have been a Sonesta fan all my life, but this was a miserable experience. With the Ritz a block or so away, and a few other nice hotels in the Grove, I would unfortunately avoid this one. They are trying, but they just don't hit the mark set by my other Sonesta experiences.

Room Tip: If the deluxe room was as small as mine, I can't imagine what definately ask for a room on the top floors with a view of the bay....keeps the street noise out, and gives you a good view of Biscayne Bay.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beyerrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear beyerrd,
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that our facilities did not meet your expectations. As a boutique style property we offer a wide variety of room types all with different layouts to choose from. We appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in improving our guest experience. Although we missed the cut on this visit I hope that in the future we might have another opportunity to provide you with the experience you have come to enjoy from Sonesta.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

the hotel has a very nice location, the is alot to see at coconut grove specialy for the night, at panorama restaurant food was very good, is a peruvian kind, and the view is spectacular! perfect for a nice lunch!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear AndreaS,
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our restaurant Panorama with its Peruvian cuisine and amazing views of the bay. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sonesta Hotel for 5 days and it was great. The hotel is very clean and contemporary. It has many wonderful traditional features - restaurant, pool, fitness centre etc but also located in the inviting, cozy community of Coconut Grove. So there are many great things to do around the hotel. The hotel staff was wonderful - very friendly and helpful. My suggestion is to pay a little more for a bayfront view. Also, request a full kitchen and on an upper floor .. the view was breathtaking!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bayfront side have great views of the area and the water!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear tnaw,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed Coconut Grove and all it has to offer within walking distance of the hotel. We agree that our bay front rooms offer outstanding views of the water but our city views offer views of some pretty spectacular sunsets. We hope you will be back soon for another visit.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews