We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay all the way around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #22 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay all the way around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Very nice hotel, centrally located with walking distance to restaurants, shopping. The view was beautiful staff very accommodating. Perfect size hotel, not too big, but big enough to have everything we needed. Only have two recommendations, a mirror somewhere in the room, other than the bath, so if bath is in use, you can still put on make-up, get dressed, etc. It is the first thing i look for when I walk in a hotel room, but that is my only complaint, and a hook to hang towels in the bathroom!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear magsmom,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your time spent in Coconut Grove. We appreciate your recommendations for the extra mirror and hook in the room to make it more like home. We hope you will be back again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    414
    152
    68
    45
See reviews for
278
469
62
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have stayed several times at Sonesta Hotels with very good service. This was our first and last time at Sonesta Bayfront Coconut Grove. We arrived at 3am and left the Hotel at 10am. When we came back at 8pm the room was not done . They just said that they did not make the room on the same day of arrival!!!They did not even apologize or changed the towels!!! Even our dirty breakfast tray was still in the room. The only answer was that we has arrived that day....
The people in the front desk were every rude, they would not even say hello when you came in the hotel. Will never return!!!!

Room Tip: I enclose the picture of our room at 8pm .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marisol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear MarisolS,
Thank you for your recent feedback about your experience at our hotel and please accept my apologies that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on exceeding our guest’s expectations but sometimes we miss the mark. As returning guests, this is not the service you have come to expect from us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with the type of experience you have enjoyed in the past.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at The Sonesta for a long weekend. My husband contacted the hotel prior to out stay to tell them we had missed a 10 year anniversary trip and they upgraded our room to a suite with a beautiful view of the bay and surprised us with strawberries and champagne in our room one evening. The room was very clean and recently updated. The staff was very friendly and helpful about giving us suggestions about where to eat and shop. It was very quiet at night. Im a light sleeper and i disnt hear a thing. We didn't use our car during our stay because we could walk everywhere around Coconut Grove. Overall, we loved the area and te hotel was great. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandKatie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear chrisandkatie01,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our hotel and more importantly celebrating your anniversary with us! We are glad that you enjoyed Coconut Grove and all the activities within walking distance of hotel. I am pleased that our staff was able to assist your requests and made you feel welcomed. We hope you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I attended a conference at the hotel. My bayview room had a spectacular view of Biscayne Bay but regrettably the sunrise was not included in the view. We were within easy walking distance of numerous restaurants, sidewalk cafes and shops. I look forward to my next stay at Sonesta.

Room Tip: Superior bayview rooms with a balcony facing east get the sunrise view and also overlook the quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear fourhoops,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and conference. We hope you will return next time you are in Miami.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fondy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband was here for business and it just happened to fall during our 40th Anniversary. The Staff was excellent and the property was very clean. The beds were SO comfortable. We were in room 904-2 with the pool below us on the 8th floor. My husband is afraid of heights so this worked out well. I liked the pool on the 8th floor and when it at the peak of the afternoon sun, Mark came around with fresh water and cooling towels to serve the pool customers. We ate breakfast there in the mornings then went next door to the Peacock Cafe and had delicious food there as well. Hurricane Sandy was making it's enterance to the Florida coast while we were there and wefelt safe the whole time. Definetely a place that my Husband and I would visit again.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor which is centrally located by the pool and restraurant. If you are not afr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear Dudley D,
Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! We are happy that you selected our hotel for this important celebration weekend. Your photos show that the sunset from our pool deck is amazing and often before a storm even a little more spectacular. I am pleased that you had such a pleasant experience and we hope you will be back again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

The hotel was amazing from the acutal venue but the staff was just as great.

We held a meeting for our Caribbean distributors, our guests from Japan and Panana. Everyone was very content with hotel. The catering department did such an amazing job with our guests during our meeting. Especially Omar and Frank who was always so attentive to everyone and made sure everything was taken care of.

The executive office were a great help as well to make sure everything was smooth sailing with our conference. Thanks Carmen and Nicole.

We would absolutley hold another conference as well.

Room Tip: The deluxe bayview room was very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deniseth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear Deniseth R,
Thank you for recently hosting your conference at our hotel. We are very pleased that your experience with our Sales, Catering and Banquet team was so enjoyable. I will be sure to share your feedback with them. We look forward to your next conference and hope we can be of service again.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Been staying here almost 4 years and love it!!! Although I'll be happy when my son graduates Miami U the sad part is I'll be seeing less of the Sonesta. Great place for R&R and I really can't say a bad word about it. I'll miss it especially Ms.Varela and her helpfulness. Oh well it's not over yet. See everyone soon. Take care.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear James A,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your comments about your experience. We are pleased that you have selected our hotel when you come to visit you son and although he may graduate soon, you are always welcome at Sonesta. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#19 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#43 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing