We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to consider renting for the week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place to consider renting for the week”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We rented a studio unit on the 16th floor facing the bay. A parking pass was included and we rented a car, which saved $. Many fun things to do within an easy walk--restaurants, shopping, movies, boat & fishing tours. The Sonesta is a lovely property with an excellent fitness room, rooftop pool and hot tub, with fabulous views of Biscayne Bay for many of the rooms/suites. Beautiful weather for January, too!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor above 10 or so, that faces the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Abbie H
Thank you for posting your comments about our property. We are pleased you enjoyed many of our amenities and enjoyed the area. We appreciate your business and hope you will be back again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    425
    158
    72
    46
See reviews for
298
477
64
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If Coconut Grove is your destination, this is a fine place to stay, on the marina and the public park that runs along Biscayne Bay. Right by the Grove eatery action, yet a quiet location. However it is a $30 cab ride to South Beach and to the cruise port, which are not accessible by light rail from here, and the public buses require transfer. A very nice 8th floor pool adjoins the restaurant, with a great view. The place was very clean, and we had a large, well appointed room. Pleasant, helpful staff. The room was $197.00 night for a city view in January, but we racked up taxi fares. It also included paddle boarding in the Bay, which was the most fun thing,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southerntier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Southerntier
We appreciate your feedback about your recent trip to Coconut Grove and are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the area. Paddle boarding and boating are available nearby and are some of the most popular activities in the neighborhood. We hope you will return soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Amazing hotel and staff!
i had the pleasure of dealing with one of the managers there Mary Maya, and she was really helpful with any of our questions. the Hotel is super clean it smells amazing and you will never think they allow dogs at this hotel. this is one is one of my favorite hotels. the hotel is really quiet and the staff is really friendly.

i will recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quick get away.!

thank you.

Room Tip: any room is perfect but the the view every morning facing the bay is beyond amazing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kventura01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Kventura01
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you had such a great time and we agree that we are the perfect location for a quick getaway to Miami. Thank you for recognizing our team and we hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

great hotel: Staff was very polite from the moment we got out of the car, our room had great views of the waterfront, wonderful rooftop pool, close to cafes and restaurants but we ate at the Peruvian restaurant in the hotel. Food was delicious.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Teresa R
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased you had a great stay and we look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The outdoor 8th floor pool deck with its view of Biscayne Bay was fabulous for New Year's eve. The music was lively, but not too much. The crowd was a mix of "dressed to the nines" party goers of all ages, including a few children and seniors, as well as those who prefer a casual mood. The chef and staff kept up with the demands of a larger than normal crowd and presented excellent dinner and appetizer offerings, and of course champagne and party favors. See you next year!!

Room Tip: Bay front view over the sailboat cove is what sets this hotel apart from all in Miami
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N708Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
N708Y
Happy New Year! Thank you for joining in the celebration as we welcomed the New Year from our Panorama Restaurant. As mentioned it was a great night with a little something for everyone. We hope you have a prosperous 2014 and we hope you will join us when we welcome in 2015!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is quiet, clean, and friendly. The elevators to the guest room floors require a room key which is nice for safety purposes.

I had the opportunity to chat with some people who work here, and they were sincerely friendly and interesting people.

The pool area was perfect! What an incredible view! Wow! The nice part was the pool area was quiet when I was there mid-day (only about 3-5 people) and it was a hot day.

The rooms were spacious and clean, and my balcony had a wonderful view. I was so impressed by the view and would sit outside on my balcony (table and chairs were there) for hours.

There's a cute area within the block of shops, movie theatre and eateries. ALSO, you can catch the Miami hop-on hop-off double decker bus around the corner. It will take you to downtown Miami, where you can also ride the Miami Beach double decker bus.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel, and would book a room there in the future.

Room Tip: I think I had a "partial ocean view", but I really liked it as I could see the marina and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
JulesReviews
Thank you for staying at the Sonesta. We appreciate your feedback. Our pool has one of the best views in Miami and is a great place to relax. We hope you will return to Coconut Grove soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in Summer of 2008. I paid considerably less than the current advertised price as I got a deal through Expedia.co.uk. This hotel was finished to a very high standard and the staff were very helpful. The swimming pool was also excellent. Coco Walk is a short walk away from this hotel and we spent most of our nights in restaurants and bars in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
LukeN
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased your enjoyed your visit to our hotel and Coconut Grove. Our prices are competitive with the other hotels in the area. You can also find great deals on our website and if you become a travel pass member, you will receive special offers throughout the year. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#12 of 123 in Miami
863 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#10 of 123 in Miami
890 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#47 of 123 in Miami
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing