We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #25 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I really wanted to love this hotel! Greeted by a beautiful lobby! My husband and I spent three nights here. It was a good central location we could take side trips from without staying in Miami.
The food was average. Very nice rooftop pool with a view. It is a older hotel, but loved the charm.
Sometimes communicating with the staff was a challenge. Great little restaurant next door and several very good bistro type places to walk to. There is a place called Coco Walk very close by.
Down side was a lot of road construction going on in the area, so traffic wasn't the best.
We attended a Marlins game, spent a day at the Everglades ( I highly recommend) especially the Shark Visitor Center, they have a tram tour that was excellent. Then spent our final day hanging out the Crandon Park Beach on Key Biscayne.

Room Tip: Don't do the breakfast buffet they have on weekends, not worth it. But the OJ was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
PennyS
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We are pleased that overall your experience was positive. We have shared your comments with our F&B team so that we can improve our offerings. We hope we will have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the level of service you have come to expect from us.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    422
    156
    72
    46
See reviews for
293
476
63
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Grove
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Coconut Grove has been our favorite place to stay while our son attended The University of Miami over the past four years. We chose this hotel when we moved him in four years ago and have stayed each time we visited. It is exceptionally clean and the staff goes out of their way to be helpful. It is a perfect location to be near the University yet feel like you are on your own vacation away from the campus as it allows you access to great restaurants, walking paths, bay views, and entertainment. It is in the heart of a neighborhood that has a great feel for fun yet lets you relax as well. Our son loved how close we were to the campus yet he could go to class and study knowing we were being pampered by Alex at the pool and well taken care of by Elizabeth in reservations! We hope to return even though our son graduated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
DianeS
We are so pleased that you have chosen to stay with us whenever your travels bring you to Miami. Now that you have found us, we hope that you will continue to come for visits. Since your son has graduated you can come for a fun weekend getaway just for you. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My fiance and I were in town for a wedding and this was the host hotel. We had a bay view and loved our room. The hotel was very clean and the service was excellent. The rooftop pool was our favorite part.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlobo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Rlobo12
We appreciate you sharing about your experience at the Sonesta Coconut Grove. We look forward to your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Palmetto Class of 1964 recently held their 50-year reunion at the Sonesta the first weekend in May, 2014. As part of the reunion committee, we chose this hotel for several reasons. I can honestly say, we were never disappointed. Our functions were well presented and the food was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff at the hotel would not have been more accommodating. The location was central to many shopping and dining options by foot or a short car drive. A huge thank you to the everyone involved in our reunion at The Sonesta.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PelicanPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Pelican Pam
It was our pleasure to host you and your classmates for such a special reunion. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time back in Miami. Thank you for your comments about our team. We hope to see you whenever your travels bring you to Miami.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with a contemporary feel. The hotel is centrally located and very walkable to all the sites in Coconut Grove. Initially our room had no balcony so we asked to be moved which the front desk staff graciously did. However, we also had a to upgrade our nightly rate which was more than we planned to spend but it was worth it for the balcony and views. One thing that you should be aware of was the overnight parking charge. Hotel parking is only valet with a nightly fee and of course gratuity. Lastly the pool was on a roof deck which was very nice and the staff there were fabulous to us. In general loved the hotel and location in Coconut Grove.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Gigi P
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your comments. As you discovered we offer several different room types with different features. We encourage travelers to check out our website for complete room descriptions and photos. We are pleased that the Front Desk was able to assist in finding you a room that you enjoyed. We hope you return soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Grove
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My High School Reunion was held at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel. The view from the hospitality room was spectacular, The beds were comfortable. The food on the 8th floor dining room was good. The hotel was close to everything in walking distance. I will be back...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Nardis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
NardisK
We are very pleased that you and your classmates selected our hotel for your reunion and had a great time. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms needs renovation, but they are clean and have all the basics (fridge, good bathroom etc)

Views from swimming pool are fantastic

Not great of you are on holidays as it does not have a beach nearby.

Also, if you are on a tourist trip and plan to go to Miami Beach/Downtown/Little Havana etc taxis are required and they are about $30 each way (takes about 20min).

Friendly staff, although the restaurant is a bit overpriced ($8 bottle of water, $16 omelette for breakfast. On the plus side, portions are massive, I could never finish my plate, which was a shame/waste. Ex: the French toast breakfast had 6 toasts on it! Good if you like big portions, but too much for me :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lopezpinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Lopezpinero
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you found our rooms clean with all of the necessities and great views to enjoy. Although we do not offer the white sand beaches, it is a short taxi ride to Key Biscayne or Miami Beach. We hope you will visit us again if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#15 of 122 in Miami
840 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#44 of 122 in Miami
1,158 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#10 of 122 in Miami
721 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing