We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #22 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had very low expectations for the Sonesta in Coconut Grove. I organise a lot of events in Miami and the cost of hotels and the quality are a very poor match. I am delighted to say that the photos are a real representation of what the hotel looks like. The lobby is impressive. The restaurant bar is incredible. The food was outstanding. The hotel rooms were fabulous. We organised an event and the banqueting staff and food were exceptional Frank and the banqueting staff were extremely professional. They bent over backwards to accommodate us and I'll definitely be returning here for future events.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freemancnicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Freemancnicola
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are pleased that all of our staff and especially our banquet team made such a positive impact on your event. We will be sure to share your comments with them and we look forward to your next stay.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,437)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I recently went to The Sonesta Bayfront Hotel in Coconut Grove in Miami for a couple of days. The hotel is perfectly situated in Coconut Grove, has a great modern vibe but the costumer service you receive lacks "service". All the personnel at the front desk were very rude to us from the beginning. The bell boys and the vallet boys where actually nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DTDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

DTDH
On behalf of the hotel please accept my apologies that the service you received on your arrival was not up to your expectations. Your feedback will assist us in improving our guest experience. We are pleased that you found our location and rooms up to your standards and we hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel location is ok if you want to be around the Coconut Grove area. Otherwise is limited, not a lot to do at a close distance (Brickell area or Lincoln Rd offer tons of more options). Rooms with carpet are much cozier, and ask for room at higher floors to enjoy the view. If you need to rent a car they do offer convenient alternatives at their garage. Just ask for one at front desk. negotiate terms, pickup right on the spot and drop at several locations. Price will be a little bit higher, but nothing considerable. Very good service.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdGG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

EdGG2013
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Sonesta. We value your feedback and will be sure to share your comments with our team. We strive to provide outstanding service and appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you to our area.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location was awesome! They also upgraded our room so we had a balcony and a bay view - completely worth it! The pool was nice, smaller than expected. The whole area is very beautiful with a lot to do. Definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

JeanB
Thank you for posting your comments about your stay. We are thrilled that you loved the hotel and we hope that we will be your first choice when your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

WOW! What a view from the pool area on top. You can sit and have something to eat or drink and take in an amazing view of Key Biscayne off in the distance and the Bay area....lined with gorgeous sailboats. The rooftop staff was so nice and accommodating. The hotel is clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Wonderful toiletries...glycerin face soaps, vegetable bathing soaps...just real nice little touches to make your stay perfect. We had a super view of the restaurant district just below. A must do is ---within walking distance (just about a block or two)-- go to Jaguars restaurant...a mix of Mexican and Peruvian food. Amazing good!!! The rooms have nice darkening shades to keep the light out and get a good nights rest. Would return...hopefully, soon. I love the view of the bay. Is the perfect anniversary, birthday or special occasion location to celebrate. Order champagne for the roof/pool and toast to a fabulous life!
Enjoy...I know you will. Anxious to return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Brenda S
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. We agree that our views are incredible and worth the trip. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

very well located but the hotel is old. lobby very small and not much to do.
concierge service not up to date with the latest restaurants.
nice pool area on the 8 th floor.
sleep quality is very good.
no mirrors in the room

Room Tip: get a corner room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Jackn
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We will follow up with our Concierge staff. We are pleased that your room was clean and that you enjoyed our amazing views.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Overall experience was pleasant. Did a "stay-cation", traveling down from Palm Beach County to hit a Marlins game. No complaints on our stay. Would stay again. The pool area, although small, was great. Poolside staff abundant and attentive as well. The room was very clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Hotel is across from a City Park. Ice only on 9th floor. Pool & bar/restaurant on 8th floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjjj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Sjjj7
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your staycation. We are pleased you had such a great experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#17 of 124 in Miami
863 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#48 of 124 in Miami
1,213 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £109 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing