We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!! very pricey breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #25 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!! very pricey breakfast”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel location is outstanding in heart of the grove. Walking distance to most places in the grove. Breakfast is served over looking the pool and the grove skyline on 8th floor. Very nice!! However for 2 people price was $60.00.

Room Tip: Rooms on bayside are good however some bayside rooms have a full view of the bay other have only par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Babydell
Thank you for sharing about your recent trip to our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast in Panorama with the wonderful view of Biscayne Bay. In addition to the full breakfast buffet we also offer menu items a la carte if you prefer a lighter breakfast. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    420
    155
    72
    45
See reviews for
288
475
62
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Since I had never been to Coconut Grove and had never stayed at a Sonesta Hotel I really wasn't sure what to expect. From the minute we checked in, the front desk automatically upgraded us to a beautiful bay front view without even asking. The room was clean and modern and the view was do die for. The biggest surprise was the little restaurant Panorama on the 8th floor. The food was fresh and fantastic! The service was 1st class in particular Humberto Perez and Zulma Gutierrez. I found the whole experience at Sonesta Coconut Grove relaxing and refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dee C
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are always pleased when our guest leave happy. We will be sure to share your comments with Humberto and Zulma. We look forward to your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

this is an expensive Hotel for what it is but occupies a good location near Coconut Grove Town centre so easy to walk into for an evening stroll as well as being close tot he location. problem with fire alarm and door handle but Hotel dealt with and credited meal etc as compensation so good response. Hotel clean rooms fine.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
SteveBahrain
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Sonesta Coconut Grove. Although things were not perfect we are pleased that our staff responded and was able to address all of your concerns. We hope you will return on your next trip to Miami.
Margaret rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was not expecting a lot, as I was traveling for a volunteer event and they'd given the group a nice discount. Pleasantly surprised to find I had a great room with an even better view - and balcony. The room was clean and comfy, and how nice to be able to open the balcony doors for fresh air! The staff was helpful and pleasant. A small issue with non-functioning room keys at check-in (and I was really tired from an early morning flight), but quickly and pleasantly resolved.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_CT30_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
S_CF30_13
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed Coconut Grove. Thank you to you and your colleagues for your work in our community during your visit. We appreciate all that you did to make our city beautiful.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have been traveling from Houston to Miami weekly for the past 4 weeks. Each week I've stayed in a different hotel. Last week I stayed at the Sonesta and I was impressed from the night of check-in. Upon arrival, I was greeted at the front desk with an upgrade since I was staying the entire week. The room was clean and the restaurant and room service was above average...It's the little things that make the most difference and the staff here seem to genuinely go above and beyond. The only criticism I have would be the front desk man on check-out was a rude and dismissive. But his behavior seemed out of character with the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Lisa R
Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to Coconut Grove. We are pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel for your experience at checkout. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove we will have an opportunity to be of service.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had very low expectations for the Sonesta in Coconut Grove. I organise a lot of events in Miami and the cost of hotels and the quality are a very poor match. I am delighted to say that the photos are a real representation of what the hotel looks like. The lobby is impressive. The restaurant bar is incredible. The food was outstanding. The hotel rooms were fabulous. We organised an event and the banqueting staff and food were exceptional Frank and the banqueting staff were extremely professional. They bent over backwards to accommodate us and I'll definitely be returning here for future events.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freemancnicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Freemancnicola
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are pleased that all of our staff and especially our banquet team made such a positive impact on your event. We will be sure to share your comments with them and we look forward to your next stay.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I recently went to The Sonesta Bayfront Hotel in Coconut Grove in Miami for a couple of days. The hotel is perfectly situated in Coconut Grove, has a great modern vibe but the costumer service you receive lacks "service". All the personnel at the front desk were very rude to us from the beginning. The bell boys and the vallet boys where actually nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DTDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
DTDH
On behalf of the hotel please accept my apologies that the service you received on your arrival was not up to your expectations. Your feedback will assist us in improving our guest experience. We are pleased that you found our location and rooms up to your standards and we hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#19 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#43 of 122 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing