We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgraded Hotel in Coral Gables”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #25 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Upgraded Hotel in Coral Gables”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Nuvo clean and upgraded hotel near the center of town. It is close to shopping and has a nice view of the bay. Starbucks in the AM is 100 yards away. Large flat screen TV's and a nice room.
Very clean.

Room Tip: The best rooms view the bay. I would make the request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgreatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Drgreatoe
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you had a great stay. As you mentioned there are lots of options within walking distance of the hotel and we are also close to Coral Gables. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    416
    155
    72
    45
See reviews for
283
475
62
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I recently worked with, and stayed at the Sonesta Hotel in Coconut Grove, FL. My school had a reunion in Miami, and we chose the Sonesta Hotel. I enjoyed working with my Sonesta contact, Malena Orihuela, on setting up reunion particulars, including getting the goodie bags to our reunion members, getting maps and guides for the goodie bags, and setting up the dinner menu for a dinner event. Also, during our stay, the reunion gang spent a lot of time by the Sonesta pool (very nice, with a spectacular view of Coconut Grove harbor). The Sonesta pool employees were very courteous and accommodating, in particular, Alex Dubon. The rooms were quite comfortable, and the food and drinks were delicious. All in all, I enjoyed my stay at the Sonesta, and found the staff to be especially welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaRates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
MonicaRates
We appreciate your feedback about your experience at the Sonesta Coconut Grove. We will be sure to share them with Alex. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

First time at the Sonesta Coconut Grove.
The location is an okay location. It's near the bay and close to shopping and restaurants. A little distant from gas stations or any grocery stores.
The view of the bay is a plus. It's breathtaking and relaxing. I did my morning readings on the balcony with the breeze blowing.
The restaurant is not as large as the pictures make it see. It's not a panoramic view. The food is good but not worth the prices they charge.
The kitchen is a nice size. Not equipped with enough utensils.
Cleanliness could be better. I found things like the dining seats having crumbs on them. Underneath the books on the coffee table had an old and used nail file. Otherwise, it was a clean room.
The bed was comfortable.
Both bathrooms were clean.
The staff responded quickly and are very helpful.
Overall, it was a good and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Tasha0913
Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you had a great stay and we appreciate your business.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Grove
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed in this beautiful hotel and loved it! It is perfect for a business trip or relaxing vacation. The hotel is across the street from the bay with outstanding views. I loved the surrounding town too. A perfect place for those who like to take a morning run!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Laura H
Thank you for posting your comments about your visit to our hotel. We are happy you had such a great time and that you enjoyed the neighborhood. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I searched for a couple of days for hotels in South Florida. We finally decided on two in Coconut Grove, Miami. This was a business/vacation trip where I would be traveling solo. After reading many reviews of both, we decided on the Sonesta. A non-negotiable feature for me was a balcony with a water view. I was also looking for something that had a new and modern feel to it. Based on the reviews, Sonesta fit the bill.

Now, before making the reservation I called to verify that my room would have a balcony and water view. Well, on the morning I was supposed to leave I had a funny feeling, so I called to verify the room type. I was told that my room did not, in fact, have a balcony. So you can imagine how upset I was. However, after explaining how important this feature was and how disappointed I was that I had called to verify the room type and still had not received what I thought I was reserving the lady quickly provided me with an upgrade at no additional charge.

Upon arriving at the hotel, I was met by a very nice young gentleman of took care of my bags and vehicle registration. The check-in went smoothly. The lobby was elegant. The person who helped me take my bags to my room was friendly and efficient. The room was on the 19th floor and was awesome. Had a full kitchen, nice balcony with a great view. Everything was spotless. So far I was pretty impressed. Well, my stay just kept getting better after that. The staff at the pool and restaurant (Geraldine, Romy, Svetlane, and Alex were outstanding. Even the maintenance workers were super friendly. They really made me feel welcome and like they were there to serve me.

So, to wrap this up, I'd have to say that the staff, quality and level of service as well as the facilities themselves exceeded my expectations. I've traveled quite a bit and this was most definitely one of the best stays I've had. I highly recommend staying a the Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami if you have the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Michael W
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled that our staff exceeded your service expectations and made you feel right at home. We appreciate having you as a valued loyal guest and we hope you will return when your travels bring you to Miami.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My personal experience at the Sonesta Coconut Grove was positive. The staff is very attentive and friendly, my room was spacious, clean with a great view of Biscayne Bay. One particular encounter that stands out is the outstanding service and company my associates and I from the manager of the 8th floor restaurant and bar, John Avelino.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Carlos W
We are glad that you enjoyed a great stay at our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with John. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Good:
*Cleaning
*Good toiletries
*Nice view
*Balcony
*stylish lobby

Bad:
*Reception staff was not service oriented at all. Looked tired, bothered and unmotivated.
* Overpriced
*Had to make a reservation at the restaurant in order to watch 4th july fireworks from the pool area.
*Parking is expensive in the area

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Altheo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Altheo25
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing your comments. We offer competitive room rates for the area and offer specials to our frequent guest through our Travel Pass program. We do require restaurant reservations for holidays and especially for July 4th because of the spectacular view of the fireworks.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#19 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#43 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing