We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for an affordable place to stay, try this for a night or two!”
Review of Shalimar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shalimar Motel
Ranked #73 of 122 Hotels in Miami
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you are looking for an affordable place to stay, try this for a night or two!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Shalimar is an old motel in a gentrifying neighborhood in Miami. Once home to prostitutes and god-knows-what-else, the neighborhood has cleaned up and is improving. We stayed here for one night on our way to Key West and it was perfect for that. The locks are horrible, the check-in takes forever (no computers) but the rooms are remodeled and clean and will meet your minimum requirements. Best of all, it's very inexpensive when Miami is usually very pricey.

I wouldn't recommend staying for a long time unless you are really easygoing and not looking for better accommodations. Try this for a night or two. I think you will be happy you did.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindycityMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    110
    87
    31
    18
See reviews for
61
127
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The motel is clean and modest but every thing is working find, the a/c and even the ancient TV set. I was a little bit frighten by other reviewers about the neighborhood but it appears not bad at all, no hobos & vinos. The native language of course it's Spanish, like the rest of the state (the cleaning lady don't understand a word in English ) but the rest of the staff was very professional and friendly. The breakfast is basic and modest but fresh , well organized and served with cute Latino smile. Lots of parking place in the back.
Tip: take the fist floor back side.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Way back in the 50's Biscayne Blvd was the main drag through Miami and hundreds of motels lined the street for miles. Then I-95 came through a couple of miles to the west and left everyone high and dry. This old place has been rehabbed to some extent but it still shows its age. The room was Spartan to say the least; a Euro style bed, no pictures on the walls, no table lamps and a tile floor. Had trouble getting the door open with the old fashioned key, but that was nothing compared to the lady next door. Heard a lot of banging and saw the manager spend fifteen minutes trying to pry it open while the dear lady sat on her bags waiting to get in. The breakfast consisted of a bowl of fruit and toast! The property is still a couple of miles from the beach. You might as well go back out to the interstate and stay at one of the newer chain motels, probably for less money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed in 2013, all OK, then tried to make reservation for February 2014, 2 weeks go by and no response, many excuses by owner and management, very unprofessional, they claimed an employee caused the problem who was let go, told me they would get back to me with prices for an extended, never did, they lied by telling me the rooms were booked when they were not.

Room Tip: get all in writing, i have all emails, so they cannot lie
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj6850d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The area around it doesn't look very good. Coming from Europe it's actually a bit shocking. We looked at the map during booking and chose it for being pretty close to the beach. Arriving we found out it is all private beach around there.

We arrived at 1 and weren't allowed to check in before 3. We came back after 3 and got to our room.
Bed was very humid even though outside wasn't humid at all?! They don't dry their sheets completely?! Very uncomfortable.

Breakfast was bad.

Definitely wouldn't book again. Rather spend $10 more to stay in a proper Hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The front desk girl sits behind a bullet proof window. When asked about it she says it is a remnant of the old times. Bad old times I assume. You make up your own mind. No vent in bathroom so steam builds up. $100 deposit required just in case you trash your room. This should get them 5 or 6 replacement room televisions because the use older CRT TV's whose screens are going bad. Wireless seems good, has not dropped signal yet. Nice to see power outlets that are not already full of plugs. 1$ a night to use the room safe. On a bus line so you can hear the traffic all night. Here for 2 nights, asked wife not to unpack and just live out of our suitcases till our flight leaves. Did I mention the bullet proof window?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We took a cruise and they kick you off the boat early and when I booked this trip, I never thought about the time frame. The check in time for us was 3 here, but we ended up getting her around 9 am being we had no other place to go with all of our luggage. So when we get here the guy is a little impatient with us being we got here early. Told us he would wave the $25 fee for early check in. Then him and a woman (owner I assume) got into a argument in the lobby about a previous customer that stayed here that was complaining about getting a refund. They kept going back and forth if the man was fired for the way he handled the previous customer. We did however got into our room quick. Got grossed out reading the info about the room and seen they will charge for any stains on the bedding (so gross). There is nothing to eat around here in walking distance and ordering a pizza is like talking to someone from a different universe. Finally got to eat! Trying to take a nap and you can hear every car, bus, motorcycle going up and down the street like they are 2 feet away from you. Everyone likes to use their horns in Miami. These walls are made of paper. I heard someone relieving themselves in the room next door. Hear others conversations in the other room. Sounds like there is a buffalo above us stomping around. All in all people, find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: try a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michren95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.1 mi away
Sinbad Motel
Sinbad Motel
#72 of 122 in Miami
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
16.7 mi away
Quality Inn South at the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#36 of 122 in Miami
1,720 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs/Miami International Airport
0.6 mi away
Motel Bianco
Motel Bianco
#100 of 122 in Miami
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Motel

Property: Shalimar Motel
Address: 6200 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, Fl. 33138, Miami, FL 33138-6224
Region: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shalimar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Motel Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing