We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not-to-be-missed tour of the Everglades”

Everglades River of Grass Adventures -Tours
Ranked #1 of 229 Tours in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The River of Grass Adventures is a private family run Everglades tour company. We offer several ways to explore this vast and magical ecosystem. Small custom airboats for big adventures that are appropriate for all ages, Swamp buggies for the more rugged outdoor adventurist and an air-conditioned high roof transit van great for half and full day unique sightseeing tours. Our team of seasoned gladesmen / naturalist will educate and thrill you as you explore deep into the heart of the Everglades, a true national treasure. Reservation are needed. Visit our website, give us a call or send us an email. We look forward to welcoming you to the beautiful Florida Everglades.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Not-to-be-missed tour of the Everglades”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My partner and I, and his daughter all visiting from London did a private 1 hour tour with a friend of mine from LA. We found River of Grass based on all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and have to say the reviews were all completely justified. Becky and Robert were brilliant hosts- Becky extremely helpful and responsive throughout our correspondence in the months before our visit and Robert a lovely, friendly and informative airboat guide. It was great to do this tour with Robert as a local as his knowledge and passion for the area showed through and added to our experience. While we saw gators as well as Everglades bird life, we understand now that it's not always easy to see gators in particular at the time we visited in July so we particularly appreciated Robert taking the extra time to seek them out, as well as their nests and to take us out for more than the 1 hour tour we had paid for.

Whilst we later also did the Shark Valley Tram Tour (which I'd also recommend) I really feel that this airboat ride was one of the highlights of our 2 week Florida holiday and something I would tell anyone not to miss out on!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fandango78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    55
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nogent-sur-Marne, France
1 review
“Wonderful river of grass”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went there with our teenagers; the girls were a bit scared at the idea of boating amongst alligators but as Robert said: "they start with a worried face but they'll end up with a large smile". And that's exactly what they did! The 5 of us really loved the trip: the boat "air conditioning" was great, the sceneries are magic, Robert knows the Everglades very well and has been very instructive. We learned a lot about this wild nature. We've seen the alligators much closer than we expected, and so many beautiful birds, playing with our captain. Robert and Becky are very nice and Robert allowed us more time than planned. That's a unique experience we really recommend to everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Norway, Norway
2 reviews
“Breathtaking experience in a fantastic setting.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had been on the look for something outside mainstream and without the sales rally and fuzz that normally comes with tourists and some of the moneymachines in the US. Luckily we found this gem. Becky and Robert were professional, heartwarm and welcoming. As if you were invited into someones private home. Roberts interest and knowledge about this national reserve was a bonus and a learning experience. The local knowledge about all the wildlife and the tour was a lifetime experience. Show your interest, and you will be rewarded. The teens were overexited and had a blast. The five of us would not have missed it for the world.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kjartan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
“Everglades River of Grass Adventures”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We drove down from Fort Lauderdale to take the tour two days ago. Becky had been very nice and helpful in booking the tour. Captain Robert was a real gentleman. He grew up in the Everglades and obviously knows a lot about it. He was passionate about sharing the world he knows and loves. The boat ride itself was about as fun as many rides at the theme parks. We saw many wild flowers and birds and alligators. We could have reached out and pat the gators' noses except we'd rather keep our hands for ourselves. For our family of six, the ride was a bit over 1.5 hrs, but the memories will last six life time. We suggest doing it early in the morning when the weather is more pleasant. We've had rain almost every afternoon that we've been here (July)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vinh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its a true adventure,”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I vent there with my teenager family. I never thought Everglades would be such a striking beautiful nature experience. My teenagers where so glad they joined in on the trip and experienced this great adventure. I will really recomend it if you are in Florida. Becky and Robert also gives you a skilled education on the meaning of the Everglades to the eco-system. Great trip !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 853olej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Everglades River of Grass Adventures -Tours also viewed

 

Been to Everglades River of Grass Adventures -Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing