We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe...”
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe - CLOSED

Bongos Cuban Cafe
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Embrace the authenticity of Cuban culture at Bongos Cuban Cafe, where Miami meets Old Havanas tropical ambiance, cuisine, and style. This magnificent restaurant and nightclub was opened in April 2000 and is located right in the heart of Downtown Miami adjacent to the AmericanAirlines Arena. Bongos Cuban Cafe boasts spectacular views of the port of Miami, Biscayne Bay, and the Downtown Miami skyline.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great vibe...”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I loved the ambiance, food and smiles all over the restaurant.. the food was on time, great view and great mojitos, our server Carlos guide us enough for us to stay 4hrs enjoying the view and mojitos...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    32
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines ,Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No Monfongo!!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were here for dinner after a concert at The Artsch Center,The restaurant was rather empty so we were seated immediately.The Chicken soup was great ,tasty and well seasoned.We had seafood and chicken dishes,the meat was tender and tasty.The decor and ambiance was great.The rest room was a mess.Our waiter was friendly and attentive.I was VERY disappointed that the waiter said Bongos no longer do monfongo.That was the reasons I purchased the groupon.It was an ok dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank madeintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego County
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent Tourist Cuban”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in Miami for one night and wanted some Cuban food but didn't want to stray too far from the tourist area since we'd never been here before. I guess we were there way tooo early for this place to be happening yet. It was dead, I think there was a cocktail party in the bar and us and one other table in the dining room. Despite the lack of patrons, the service was slow but the food was great and the drinks were delicious.

The music was really loud, but I kind of like that. The dance floor looked like it would be really fun if anyone was there. I know Miami's night life is really late but this place would have been a lot more fun if we had come later. We had to get up for a cruise the next morning or we would have gone later.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank datherto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the place it used to be”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Food was just average, service was slow. Was expecting a lot more from all the raving about this place. Needs to be updated, it rough on the edges by now

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dfeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Mother's Day Brunch”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I decided to treat my mom to Bongos' Mother's Day brunch and we were both so happy with everything. The food was delicious and the brunch offered a variety of options, including paella, skirt steak, eggs cooked to order, various salads, yucca, sweet plantains, various Cuban desserts and many, many other tasty items. The service was superb and the entertainment was outstanding. We enjoyed it so much that we would like to have dinner there in the new future. A big thank you to the entire staff for making my mom's day memorable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoRooroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bongos Cuban Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing