We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shakes - shame about the cockroach, dirty kitchen and slow service.”
Review of Johnny Rockets - CLOSED

Johnny Rockets
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating
Neighbourhood: Coconut Grove
Coleorton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great shakes - shame about the cockroach, dirty kitchen and slow service.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I do believe the shakes in Johnny Rockets are the best anywhere, but I was really disappointed with the restaurant in Coconut Grove. Firstly it is very dirty, the counter tops were filthy and a cockroach ran across it to shrieks from customers who abandoned their orders and ran out. Floor was full of grease and grime, staff did not seem qualified to handle food hygienically, and the service was slow/ disorganised.

When the shakes came they were great, and the staff refunded our money because of the cockroach debacle.

A shame that such an iconic place is becoming so run down with very low hygiene standards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“BAD BURGERS!, Deception!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

They failed to cook burgers. Had us in bathroom at movie theater-instead of watching movie. Burger was very greasy, establishment was dingy, broken chair/ tables and dirty. No wonder it was empty when I visited.

Sunday afternoon(9/8/13) ,Coconut Grove location in Florida. Ordered 2 Original Single burgers at advertised price of $5.79ea., and one order of fries at advertised price of $2.79ea. FL sales tax rate 7%. Bill total should have been $15.31 not $20.85 as my card was billed. However this particular location does not itemize its bill, deceives customers, includes tip before asking, and then the waitress(Named Charlene) proceeded to state, "tip was not included", and to please provide additional tip for her. I normally tip well 20-25%, but when a company promotes deception, I was inclined to do otherwise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value diner”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Simply good, basic burgers and sandwiches presented in a lively diner. It's not gourmet fayre, but excellent and generally good value for money. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kind of noisy and crowded but predictable.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

great cheeseburgers and their strawberry/banana milk shake is super! I would recommend eating at the counter as the outside tables have too much pedestrian traffic passing by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jef1jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unattractive - not a nice experience”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The place looks and feels run down. On walking in it smelled of old cooking grease. Not a pleasant experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny Rockets also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing