We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not a favorite and will not go back”
Review of Bangkok Bangkok

Bangkok Bangkok
Ranked #700 of 4,192 Restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This is not a favorite and will not go back”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were seated immediately and noticed not a wonderful Thai food aroma but the scent of ammonia or mildew. Not a very good first smell inside a restaurant.

We ordered the spring rolls which were a typical Thai/Chinese egg roll. The beef satay was thin but very chewy with threads of fat throughout. The sauces were very weak-the peanut was heavy and thick without flavor as was the cucumber sauce because it was without the vinegar and pepper flakes. The Tom Khai Khai soup was watered down, it was not creamy and heavy with coconut milk. The chicken and mushrooms in the soup were cut into chunks that were too big to fit on the spoon.

All of the dinner entrees were very small in portions and lacked ingredients. The Pad Thai had a few pieces of chicken, 5 small shrimp, bean sprouts and peanuts. The red pepper chicken curry did not have a red paste and had only had a few pieces of red pepper ribbons, not strips. The large prawn curry with broccoli had the same curry sauce as the red pepper chicken curry dish but it had a nice bed of steamed broccoli florets.

So, the highlights were the large grilled prawns with broccoli curry dish and the pear saki. There are so many other quality Thai restaurants that this one just doesn't compare.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4-having-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Thai Date”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It was our night without the children and my lady purchased a deal on restaurants.com. What a nice surprise! Let's go Honey, we are going for Thai food tonight. Well, I sort of had an idea of what to expect; but I was surprised at the option to sit in the back and on the floor. We went for it and had a nice experience. There might have been about 4 parties in the place besides us. We highly recommend this place for some great Thai Food..... We started off with some SATAY for the appetizer: "Thin strips of pork or beef, your choice, marinated in coconut
with a hint of curry, then barbequed to perfection on the
Bangkok grill. Served with peanut sauce and cucumber sauce" Then we ordered the NAME THAT TUNE: "Thin slices of beef tenderloin cooked in two different sauces.
One sauteed tender and lightly flavored and the other tangy and spicy.
What a medley!" she ordered the GANG PANANG" Choice of meat: Beef, chicken or pork cook with coconut milk
in sweet panang curry paste and sprinkled with fresh red bell pepper.
shrimp or squid" for dessert we had the THAI STICKS which are the donuts with like a sweet caramel..... We had a wonderful evening and the staff at this location was excellent. We will surely be back with the family....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Thai Restaurant in Miami”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We love this place and visit whenever we are in the area..The staff is always very friendly and the food is great.. My favorite is the Ginger Chicken but my husband swears by the Earth Wind and Fire Beef... visit this rest for some great food

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“delicious asian”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

small place ,reserve to have a table ready,be preper to eat seating in the floor,very good food and ambience.valet available.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BLUE512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Its True is The Very Best Thai Food in Miami!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Awesome food! but Pricey.
Nice small place, but its really different than any other restaurant, is very quiet and relaxing.
Don't forget to try Their Beer..
The service is pretty good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pitboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing