We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami Hotel convenient location for Cruise Terminal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #52 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Miami Hotel convenient location for Cruise Terminal”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Recently we went on a transatlantic cruise starting from Miami. As we were going to spend a couple of days in Miami before the cruise, we decided - my husband and I, together with another couple - to look for a hotel close to the cruise terminal, but also lighter on the budget than the hotels recommended by the cruise company. We chose Holiday Inn Port of Miami, 340 Biscayne Blvd., 1 877 660-8550, and it was a very good choice.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes drive from the port, and there are always taxis available in front of the hotel. The rooms are comfortable with all necessary amenities, air conditioned, with a large walk-in-closet, coffee machine provided with all necessary ingredients for coffee and ea, and a large screen TV.

The reception staff was curteous and efficient, providing local information and maps. A comfortable and rather large and inviting lounge completed the main floor of the hotel, together with a dining area serving meals and drinks. We only had breakfast there, and we were very pleased with the quality and the service.

We were pleasantly surprised by two unexpected bonuses connected to the location of the hotel, besides the expected one - the proximity to our cruise departure area.

Across the main street bordering the hotel (Biscayne Blvd.) is Bayside Market, a lovely place containing about 100 shops, many restaurants, live entertainment along the open areas, sounds, smells and sights, all against the background of the ocean and the yachts moored everywhere. We spent a lot of time there, having great dinners, shopping for gifts, listening to Latin music, and just people watching. At night, it seems that all Miami comes there to have fun.

The other pleasant surprise was that behind the hotel is the line of the Metromover, a train with no conductor and free (really pleasant surprise), which takes you through the "inner loop" of the city, as well as through two other lines going in different directions. We spent a few hours just travelling and sightseeing from the comfort of the Metromover, and also had a chance to meet and converse with locals and get more information. The train has many stops and also connects to the subway and bus lines.

We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a cruise from Miami, or just wanting to get a fairly inexpensive but good quality hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: The rooms we had were "queen size beds", and apparently all these rooms open to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kasuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    1,015
    523
    165
    98
See reviews for
807
725
94
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very good hotel, nice people, nice price, near to to the atractions. Very clean, a strange bellring but nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardoVargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here before a cruise, our first time in Miami. We were pleasantly surprised, the location was perfect, the hotel was beautiful, our room was clean and quiet and we were directly across the street from the Bayside Marketplace which was a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel, overlooking the equipment on the roof. It was as quiet as ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoleman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, md
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The rooms are a little small, but the prices were reasonable and the food was better than I expected. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Parking is right outside and there was a guard. If you want to swim a small pool was just out back with nice, not great decor. I was previously staying at the Intercontienental and I preferred the HI. Would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Highly recommended.
Room: King Suite (at good price!) – amazing port view, spacious, clean.
Hotel: perfect location for cruisers and Bayside Marketplace – full of restaurants, bars and shops.
Service: check-in and check-out very fast, good customer service from reception, cleaners, bar, dining room.
Internet: free wi-fi.

Room Tip: King Suite - reasonable price and good quality (high floor, spacious)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamila0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The positive- the location is across the street from an outdoor area that has great food, live music, shopping and on the water (bay). As a female, traveling alone, the location to the entertainment was nice. Bonus- night I was solo- there was a Heat game, so there was all kinds of police out. Trade Winds (bar/restaurant in the plaza) is a great place to chill by the water and grab a tropical rum drink.

Now- the rest of the story....
Customer Service- it was horrible. I wasn't expecting a 5 star experience- it is a Holiday Inn- but I was expecting something more than the rude, disinterested service I found in both the front desk and onsite restaurant. One of the things I realized, even if you are dining solo- gratuity is included on the bill. So one conclusion I made re: the service is they don't care because no matter what, they get a little "something extra". However- if the service had been even somewhat good- I would have paid the server more gratuity. (SIDE NOTE: I found the customer service to be spotty in the restaurants on the water. I did have some great servers- then I had some that were "disinterested" in serving you.) The hotel front desk- they did their job, but if you had a question, or needed something repeated (due to heavy accent or hard of hearing) you almost got an eye roll. It's hard to put into words- but I just got the feeling they didn't want to be "bothered." One example- as I was checking out, I noted that the connecting door and lock were very loose- if someone wanted to use a little bit of muscle the door could have been pushed opened easily. When I told the lady at the front desk, her facial expression and verbal response made it appear as if I had bothered her by this information.

The room: I had read on trip advisor about the construction and the hotel even mentioned it on the handout provided at check in- but I didn't see any. I asked about the room renovations and asked if my room was one that was renovated. They assured me it was. Well- all I have to say is they need to ask for a refund. I stayed in a double bed room on the 7th floor, which did not have a view of the bay. It was a bit oddly shaped and had an odor (the entire hotel had an odor- kind of like mold) The mattress was not that comfortable- it was if they never turn them. It appeared "clean" yet it didn't "feel" clean. The carpet seemed like it was not vacuumed- and I never did feel comfortable getting under the blankets and sheets. In the bathroom, the towels were stiff from being washed with a heavy detergent and I found someone else's hairs (gross!!) in two places- the sink and on the edge of the tub where the shower liner was located.

Other- there was no information about Miami in the room (although I found a booklet on a table outside the elevator.)

Safety- as I had seen mentioned on this site- anyone can get access to the rooms- including restaurant marketing folks. The hotel does not discourage this practice, because they talk about it in the information sheet I was provided at check in. This just gave the hotel the "creepy" factor.

Why did I stay there??- I was on a business trip, it was one of the suggested hotel's (the other 2 were booked) and it was close to my meeting. Would I stay there again- NO!!!!!

Room Tip: See notes above about my room experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MandCtravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear MandCtravel_11,

Thank you for your recent correspondence on Tripadvisor. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent experience with us.

We are always pleased to receive areas for development of such a positive nature. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is great. It has excellent transport links. We were able to get to the cruise port, South Beach and Miami Zoo with ease from here by bus or metro. Its is opposite a nice shopping area with restaurants, a pier and a few fair rides and petting area for small kids.

I booked a 'room only' stay here for myself and the children and was unexpectedly surprised when I entered a warm, spacious, clean room, with a selection of different pillows on a huge comfy bed and a large sofa bed. Breakfast was great especially because the kids ate for free each morning. I couldn't ask for more. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rightstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 122 in Miami
2,604 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 122 in Miami
3,599 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing