We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #52 of 122 Hotels in Miami
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Just checked out after 3 nights pre cruise here. Hotel is in brilliant location for most things. Opposite bay side to use for eating, drinking and looking around. We ate breakfasts in hotel and found them good value. Staff were polite and well Informed for ideas and helpful. Our room was on front with good views over the bay on 4th floor lots of things to watch. There was a miami game on while we stayed this was a must and one of the highlights. We used the hop on off red bus tour which was good for going over to south beach and the city loop. The timings weren't always on time but hey it's vacation time. This collects just outside hotel . We would use this hotel again if in miami. Good value for money

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katy161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear katy161,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for letting us know you had an enjoyable stay! Good to hear you liked our great location near so much in Downtown Miami. Our staff is always pleased to make your stay more enjoyable. We appreciate you letting us know all was great on your trip to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    1,019
    527
    167
    98
See reviews for
814
729
95
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here prior to our cruise for one night only. The location is ideal as we went to Bayside Marketplace to walk around and for dinner. The staff is wonderful, friendly and helpful. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner or breakfast because we felt it was overpriced, which is typical for the location so we had other plans for those meals.

The room was fine, except it was lacking in storage space and not having a mirror in the area of the beds or tv is a problem when several people are getting ready and need a mirror and place to set items like makeup and curling irons when getting ready. Not everyone can be in the bathroom at the same time. Due to the set up and lack of storage space I couldn't imagine staying longer than one night.

I know they are working on the elevators and during our trip we had problems with them also. Waited forever for one and then the door wouldn't close and it would shift up and down while the door was still open. They are addressing this issue currently and they have signs posted stating so.

Again, the employees at the front desk are wonderful and deserve kudos as they are top notch.

We caught a taxi right out front the next morning for our trip to the port.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JollyCruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear JollyCruise,

Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Miami and for your feedback! I am happy you found the staff helpful and friendly, and out location wonderful. We are lucky to be near so much in Downtown Miami- Port of Miami, Bayside Marketplace, shopping, restaurants, AA Arena, and much more. Your feedback is appreciated so we can work to improve.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, CO
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was generally pleased with my stay and thought it was a good value for the winter season. I reserved several months ago and the rate was about $150 per night (plus taxes) using either AAA or AARP. I spent three nights here. The check-in process was fast and easy and the room assigned to me was fine. The staff was ALWAYS nice and helpful -- this was NEVER an issue. I was here during the time when work was being done on the elevators -- yes, they were a bit slow sometimes, but I planned accordingly and things worked out OK. The hotel could use a bit of remodeling, but it certainly isn't run down by any means. The location is outstanding!! Others have mentioned this before, so there isn't much point in repeating that. I had one dinner in the restaurant and the food was tasty and not unreasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. I've read some negative reviews of late and I certainly didn't have that kind of experience; and, when I first reserved, the comments were mostly good......go figure! Al in all, I was satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hbpLongmont_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear hbpLongmont_CO,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you had an enjoyable stay! We are happy to hear you liked the staff, location and the hotel. We appreciate your patience with the elevator, as we are working to replace them to be much quicker and more energy efficient. We are fortunate to have the best location near so much in Downtown Miami. Please come back and visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Spent one night here before departing on a cruise. The good is it’s close to the port and shopping at Bayside Market across the street but for $235 they should offer a shuttle to the ships. The front desk guy was friendly and check in went smooth. Only two elevators were operating so it took a while to get one. My biggest complaint is it’s very out dated and way overpriced. The restaurant was good but expensive, although everything in Miami is. For one night it will due, but would look elsewhere if spending any amount of time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear sirk14,

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the friendly service and our location during your stay with us! We have a great location near the Port of Miami, Bayside Marketplace, and much more in Miami. I appreciate your feedback so we can improve our service and amenities. We strive to offer a great value in the market.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Pre-cruise stay for one day. The negatives: Worst elevator service in a hotel at this cost that I have ever seen- only 1 of 3 was functioning during our stay and the one that was working scared me to death with the jerkiness and noise. No refrigerator in room. No shuttle service to port. Dead bolt lock to room would not work. Bathroom was disgusting with several hairs from previous guests on floor, tub, and a towel and also filth in corners of bathroom floor. Poor breakfast selection for the price. The positives: Comfortable bed. Great view from room window. Great location with Bayside across the street. Staff members were friendly which must be difficult for them to represent such a hotel with so many faults. Such a shame that a hotel in such a desirable location has been so neglected.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Julsern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Julsern,

Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry you feel the hotel has been neglected and I can assure you it has not been and we have renovated almost all of it in the last year. We do know the elevators need replacing since it is an historic building, and we are currently replacing them. We appreciate your patience as we are limited as they each need to be shut down for an extended period of time. I am glad you enjoyed the friendly staff, the location, and our great views. Your comments will help us in improving our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Donna




















































Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, wy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Don't stay here. Only 2 of the 3 elevators worked, and even so, were so slow and the lights didn't work so we often had very long delays trying to get in and out of hotel. We practically needed a crow bar to get in and out of the room cause the handle was so faulty. Constant hot water or constant cold. Big hole in the middle of the mattress that sucked you into it. Cracks in the tub. No parking on street to check in and... The required valet was a joke, cause you could see the car parked right in front of you but couldn't just walk to your own car and drive it in and out. Not what you would expect if you pay $200 per night for a room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Vicky M,

Thank you for giving us feedback regarding your stay with us! Please accept my sincere apology that you had problems during your stay and you did not enjoy the hotel. We will share your comments with the team in our efforts to improve our product and service.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Location is unbeatable!!! Across Bayside Market and close to the Cruise Terminal. Close to Metro Mover as well (which is free). The bus stop is across the street if u want to visit South Beach. Lots of great restaurants around the area. The hotel itself is a bit run down. The room walls are paper thin, so very noisy. And the water is hot doesn't matter how cold you turn the tap to. The front desk and staff are nice and helpful and the restaurant on site is very nice. We stayed for two nights and boarded the cruise. Pls note that the elevators are very slow! And no stairs to the lobby which is strange!

Room Tip: No idea. We asked for a quiet section as we had little kids and ended up with people partying till 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Tanya B,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! So glad you enjoyed the great staff, awesome location, and the rooms. We are upgrading our elevators now and they will all be much faster and more efficient. I am so sorry you did not find the stairwell that comes to the lobby. The other you used goes to our parking lot. Please come back and visit us soon, and let us know how you enjoy our speedy elevators.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 122 in Miami
2,635 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 122 in Miami
3,640 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing