We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful architecture.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location in the downtown area ,its right next to the bay. Walking distance to many shopping areas and restaurants. The hotel has plenty of amenities to enjoy, the pool is relaxing and has a cool little café/bar to enjoy for lunch and have cocktails with great views of they bay. The staff is very friendly from the cleaning service to the restaurant staff. Toro Toro is a great restaurant to visit for dinner. The spa offers a great number of services just walking in there with the dim lighting and the soothing scents is automatic relaxation. Kudos to the management of this property they operate a great hotel. Almost forget to mention, I love the dancer that illuminates at night on the side of the building. Hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for Bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieB320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear JulieB320,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so happy to hear that you had a 5-star experience and enjoyed our location, amenities and the service you received from our staff. Guest feedback is important to us and I'm so happy that we were able to offer you a memorable stay. I appreciate the recommendations that you've shared with our future guests! Thank you for the accolades but please know that without the genuine hospitality and care from our staff, our hotel wouldn't be half of what it is today. I am truly lucky to work with a great group of individuals who take great pride in their work and love what they do.

I'm so happy that you enjoyed our "Dancer in the Sky". Miami is evolving into a global Arts, Culture, Culinary & Entertainment destination. We want to be innovative and push the envelope too using technology & design. The hotel is at the center of this excitement and with our recent renovation, the InterContinental Miami now captures the pulse of the New Miami - high style, international, sophisticated, artistic, edgy, urban and fresh. The Digital Canvas with LED lights on the tower enhances the entrance with new technology, adding lighting, similar to what you see in Times Square in New York.

Thank you again for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back. Please email me at icmiami@ihg.com prior to your next visit so that I can offer my assistance and ensure that we continue to exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Arminio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,903 - 2,909 of 6,374 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is my third year staying at the hotel for the annual conference. Clearly they do not have enough staff to handle the amount of guests. Same ole problems. The Valet staff are either talking with each other or running around like chickens with their heads cut off. You can stay there all day without being noticed. You have to hunt someone down and it seems no one can be bothered. Too much confusion and clearly not enough staff to assist guests. Always a problem with Valet. Can't find the car, no one knows who moved it. Very stressful environment. Its not how can I serve you but, what can I do the least to serve you. Lots of confusion, never look forward to the valet.
Front desk check in was fine, he straightened out the valet issue.
The room, dirty carpet, worn. Blanket yellow stained. (Not even going to guess what that was) Called down, took 45 minutes for someone to come to the room to change the blanket and arrived not knowing why he was there. Then another 10 minutes to get a new blanket. Guillermo the Bellman very nice. Wifi code did not work and front desk did not know why. I was then given another code and it worked.
The fact that you have to pay to use the gym is ridiculous.
Management is friendly to help fix problems and give out their cards and comps.
Pool area is fine but the sofa pillows are dirty and garbage is overflowing. Clearly its a ritzy hotel but not enough staff to keep the property up.
I go there for a conference otherwise I would go there.
I wish I remembered the front desk gentlemen that checked me in. Nice guy, fixed all the issues, young kid. Very nice. I checked in on May 29, 2014 at about 10:30pm.

Room Tip: For great view, higher floors. To get an elevator in a reasonable amount of time, lower floors. Now...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear P E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you received great service from the gentleman who checked you in and our management staff. However, I am disappointed that the rest of the service you received fell below your expectations.

I do hope that you accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you describe. While these events are inexcusable, please know that they do not reflect the level of service that we strive to provide to our guests and I am sorry that you were so severely inconvenienced.

You state your hesitation to return but I hope that you will give us another chance to change your impression of our hotel. I am confident that if you returned you would leave with a more memorable and pleasurable experience. Please email me at icmiami@ihg.com prior to your next stay so that I can be sure we exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Arminio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at the Intercontinental hotel in Miami on June 7, 2014 for my daughter's 15 birthday. The hotel was amazing. My daughter had 3 other friends who stayed with us. We were able to get early check in and they spent all day long in the pool. At night they walked around the hotel and took tons of pictures. The people at the front desk and at the concierge desk were amazing. So nice to deal with. The next day we had breakfast on the 29th floor which was also really good. Very classy and had a variety of different things so everybody enjoyed it to the max. In the afternoon we did late check out and so we were able to enjoyed the pool a lot more. The restaurant by the pool was also really nice and the service was outstanding. I could have not asked for a better place than here to enjoy my daughter's 15 birthday weekend. Thanks to the concierge desk for helping me plan and for making it so easy for me.

Room Tip: higher floors are the best ones. We stayed in the 29th floor amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soledad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Soledad G,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the InterContinental Miami. Happy Belated Birthday to your daughter! I am so happy to hear that we were able to make her 15th birthday a memorable one! I am thrilled that you all enjoyed your time by the pool and the service you received from our staff. I truly appreciate your accolades to our front desk and concierge staff for the top-of-the-line service they provided during your stay. They will be so happy to hear that their genuine hospitality and care doesn't go unnoticed.

I do hope it's not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back! We look forward to having you again soon.

Regards,
Arminio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a one night stay before leaving for a Caribbean cruise the next day. It's close proximity to the port( a 5 min drive) made it a great choice for us.

We had a beautiful room with a view of the harbor where we enjoyed watching all the activity. Right next to the hotel is a lovely park and boardwalk. There's a mall across the street as well that seemed popular.

Inside the hotel there is a restaurant, bar and a Starbucks. The night we were there they had the World Cup on in the bar with a big crowd around. In the morning, we grabbed a quick coffee from Starbucks.

There are only two things we found annoying about this hotel. First, they charge guests for WiFi. Most hotels provide free wifi to guests these days. The other thing was they have limited and expensive self parking so your only option is to use the valet parking which is also expensive. Between tipping and the parking fee it cost $50 for our car to spend the night at the hotel.

Other than these two things, We had a very pleasant stay. The staff were extremely friendly and the grounds around the hotel were beautiful.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Lori G,

Thank you so much for your review of InterContinental Miami. I am so happy to hear that we were able to offer you a great pre-cruise stay. It's always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed everything from our premiere location to the accommodations and most importantly, the level of service they received from our staff.

I do apologize for the shortcomings you described. As you mentioned, we do have a fee for both standard and premium internet access. However, please note that we do offer complimentary access to our IHG Rewards Club members and enrollment is free! We do try to keep our valet parking charges competitive with others in the area. Since we are unable to offer self-parking at our hotel, our guests do have the option to park at one of the nearby parking garages or metered lots if they feel the charge is too expensive.

I am thrilled to hear that despite these challenges, you did have an overall enjoyable stay. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Regards,
Arminio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the InterContinental Miami. Spacious, clean, comfortable rooms with great views of Miami. The hotel staff was helpful and accommodating. My only complaints are minor. 1. Charging for wifi. In this day and age, charging $17.99 for wifi is just plain ridiculous. 2. Overpriced valet - To keep a car overnight is $39 per night. No thanks, we used UBER to get around the city. 3. Pool closed early. It's Miami for goodness sake, and the pool closed at 9pm?
Other than that, the hotel was fantastic. We are planning on returning next year.

Room Tip: The higher the floor level the longer the elevator ride, but also the better view you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JonWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear JonWolf,

Thank you so much for your review of InterContinental Miami. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, beautiful views and the top of the line service that you received from our staff. I do apologize for the shortcomings you described however I am so happy to hear that despite your concerns you plan to return.

Please note that we do offer complimentary internet access for our IHG Rewards Club members and enrollment in the program is free! I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with valet parking. Since we are unable to offer self-parking, our guests do have the option of parking at any of the nearby garages or metered spots if they feel the charge is too expensive. I will share your comments regarding the pool with our team.

Thank you again for your feedback. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back. Please email me at icmiami@ihg.com prior to your next visit so that I can offer my assistance and ensure that your next stay is flawless.

Regards,
Arminio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I try to review based on a total package offered by an establishment. This hotel has a great location and is a beautiful hotel, not even my experience can take away from that. That being said when I arrived I was checked in quickly and paid for an upgrade to a club level room. The room ended up being on the 19th floor. The room was everything it was claimed to be, a very nice room. We always arrive a night before our cruise vacations to settle in and rest up before we board our ships. We have very hectic schedules and work up to the minute we leave for vacation. With that being said we are simple to please, we enjoy an early dinner and usually have a quiet night. This was simply impossible due to a party that was on a very large boat directly below our room. The music began at about 10pm and went on and off until well after 3 am. The music could literally be felt shaking our window 19 floors up. I called down to the desk and was told to speak to a manager in the morning. We has arranged for a shuttle to the port in the am and were pressed for time. While speaking with a manager he offered us 2 coupons for Starbucks in the hotel lobby. Which we would not be able to redeem. Our shuttle was waiting and we had to leave. After returning from our vacation, before writing my reviews. I again contacted the hotel and gave them a recap of my experience. I spoke with Monique at the hotel who was very professional and kind on the phone. She offered us reward points for our stay, which in turn never posted to our account. All in all, a poor customer service experience with no results. If I stayed at a lower star rating hotel I would of expected this result and follow through. There are a lot of positive feedback from this hotel. I do hope you do no run into the problems I had, they simple put a damper on the start of a much needed vacation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wannago30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear wannago30,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my deepest apology for the experience you had due to the noise from the dinner cruise next door. I apologize for the inconvenience and I'm sorry that it negatively affected your stay. I also apologize that the service you received from our staff fell below your expectations. Please email me at icmiami@ihg.com with your confirmation number and reservation details so that I can personally follow-up on this situation and ensure that you receive your IHG Reward Club points.

Thank you again for your feedback. I do hope that you give us another chance to change your impression. I am confident that if you returned you would have a more memorable and pleasurable experience.

Regards,
Arminio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before our cruise. We absolutely LOVED it. The staff was wonderful, the hotel (inside and out) is really nice and the location was perfect. We had a bay view room. Loved it. There's a really nice park right outside the front door and a great shopping and eating complex at the end of the park. I have cruised many times from many different ports and this was the first time that we were both a bit sad to leave the hotel to go on the ship. We can't wait to come back and won't stay anywhere else in Miami.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Lori B,

Thank you so much for your review of InterContinental Miami. I'm so happy that we were able to offer you a great pre-cruise stay and I am thrilled that you loved the experience you had at our hotel. It's such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, beautiful facilities and the service you received from our staff! I appreciate your gratitude and will congratulate our team on a job well done.

I do hope it's not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Regards,
Arminio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#18 of 125 in Miami
3,323 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#6 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £146 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
InterContinental Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing