We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEWARE and watch your charges\points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
salem, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEWARE and watch your charges\points”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

One month now since my stay and yet another charge!!!!

I have been a Marriott fan for many years and always try to stay with this brand whenever possible. I am a member and vacation owner and had always been able recommend Marriott until now.

Let's see, I was overcharged, my credit placed on hold (Causing me to miss out on some big-ticket items for holiday sales!!) They cancelled my rewards reservation then charged me for the night - a higher rate. A staff member came to my room after 9 pm - telling me they had my room listed as empty!!! (Wouldn't a call to the room suffice). Upon reversing their errors for cancelling my rewards reservation, they charged me more points that my original reservation. I now have yet another charge - 1 month later - yet I can't find out what it is until I call during business hours tomorrow. (No notification of what this new charge is for either)

I have written to marriott only to be referred to the hotel manager. I had tried to call but she was unavailable. I hadn't followed up as I already know that this is one Marriott I will never return to. I have spent hours trying to sort through the issues this hotel has caused and can only say that I hope this is an isolated incident....

(Ft. Lauderdale and Orlando quality far more superior to this hotel... they should take some management lessons from them)

Aside from all the billing and reservation issues, the only positive points I can make is the location and the bar staff.

The room was a good side and the bedding good yet the carpeting had many "Sticky areas" so wear your slippers!!! The hotel is extremely crowded as many pre/post cruise travellers are constantly filling the lobby to elbow room only.

The dining room is small and if your not ordering the buffet, expect a long wait (45 mins for yogurt and cereal) For dining, I would recommend going to the 1st level area under the adjoining Double Tree. They have dining areas (b-fast/lunch/dinner) with far better service\quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlee_salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    1,036
    391
    109
    62
See reviews for
706
739
125
790
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel after Christmas, 2010. Marriott was oferring a promotional rate becuase of the renovations, which were largely completed at this time - so we experienced no inconvenience as a result. As with any full-service Marriotts, the only limitations were paid in-room Internet (but a nicely laid out lobby area makes using free wireless, available there, quite convenient), and self-parking ($26/day, and with limited space - so the garage was overflowing by night). We had an east-facing room with a great view of the South Bay from the 29th floor. Hallways had unusually pleasant smell, my wife and kids really liked it. If you stay there, I recommend you drive 3 blocks for a breakfast at the S&S Diner, a downtown Miami institution.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed here for four nights toward the end of December. The renovations in the lobby are complete - everything looks sparkly clean and the lobby is fully operational. I understand the rooms were already renovated two years ago.

The rooms are typical Marriott fare - relatively large rooms and relatively cramped bathrooms. If you get a room overlooking the Bay, the views are fantastic (see attached picture). The rooms are well-equipped with ample power outlets and a safe. Rooms are relatively quiet and provide for a comfortable sleep. My only complaints about the room are about the bathroom: no place to hang towels; not large enough for two people to occupy at the same time.

The location provides easy access to major attractions and the beaches via 395, A1A, and 195 highways and causeways. The neighborhood is quite safe and pleasant.

Negatives: 1) Concierge Lounge: limited breakfast options and maddening crowds in the morning (not sure how all those people manage to sneak in) and a surly, disinterested, and uninformed attendant in the evening hours. 2) Parking: the garage is small and the spaces are rather narrow - you may run out of luck if you arrive late. For $26/night, one expects a bit more.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooneydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Lovely place to stay with friends, family.
Free internet at the lobby.
Clean, friendly, excellent.
The room is exactly the same as the foto in the website.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulli2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Wow! The hotel is upside down under major renovations. That said, they are making the best of it. The rooms are done and are very nice. The staff is amazing. But be prepared for a disaster parking garage entrance, no lobby, it feels dangerous driving up the ramp to the temporary lobby. One restaurant, no pools or outdoor areas, very difficult to get a taxi. Overall I would wait until the renovations are done. But kudos to the staff, they really make the best of it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine6225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Checked in with no trouble at all, was given a very nice room with a king bed and partial ocean view. Bed was so comfortable!

Business center was nice but a little tucked away

Restaurant food wasn't too badly priced.

Despite the renovations the hotel seemed to be functioning quite well.

Perfect location for a pre night cruise stay as it's very close to the pier.

Short distance from Bay View Marketplace for shopping.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klotz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Staff in red shirts useless.
Don't stay here (or any hotel nearby) until renovations are over!!! Woke up sunday morning with repairs noise.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#39 of 122 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,572 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Property: Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Address: 1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1215
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami
#8 Family Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Business Hotel in Miami
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing