We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Flight Hotel Minutes from South Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This busy hotel is top flight is you want to be minutes from South Beach and just about everything in Miami including the off-beat Haulover Park beaches.

Some reviewers say the rooms are small, but we got an upgrade from the awesome front desk staff to a wonderful huge room facing the bay with wall-to-wall glass. The room had no walls! It was 75% floor to ceiling windows. Of course the room had nice Marriott bedding and included a large dining room table, work desk, two end tables and a large dresser that doubled at a TV stand for the flat screen. Unfortunately, the flat screen didn’t have the newer laptop plug-in box.

Come one. Come all! The hotel has a nice concierge lounge. But over the holidays the breakfast can be a zoo. It was nice of Marriott to leave the door open for Platinum and Gold member to bring their entourage to the lounge to eat for free! And eat they did! They ran out of food, plates and utensil so fast people put scrambled eggs in coffee cups and ate them with spoons!

We ate twice at the new upscale restaurant that -- $41 for two breakfast buffet and about $90 for a dinner -- very good food!

You will need to park your car in the $26 a day lot. There is no street parking. Pay the $1.25 toll and drive to South Beach on the causeway directly in front of hotel. You’ll arrive in less than five minutes. Take route 1 when driving to North Miami. Save the toll and unnecessary route on 95 if you’re heading up near the beaches.

Overall, this is a wonderful hotel with a great staff and cool restaurant!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,432 - 2,438 of 3,234 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

One month now since my stay and yet another charge!!!!

I have been a Marriott fan for many years and always try to stay with this brand whenever possible. I am a member and vacation owner and had always been able recommend Marriott until now.

Let's see, I was overcharged, my credit placed on hold (Causing me to miss out on some big-ticket items for holiday sales!!) They cancelled my rewards reservation then charged me for the night - a higher rate. A staff member came to my room after 9 pm - telling me they had my room listed as empty!!! (Wouldn't a call to the room suffice). Upon reversing their errors for cancelling my rewards reservation, they charged me more points that my original reservation. I now have yet another charge - 1 month later - yet I can't find out what it is until I call during business hours tomorrow. (No notification of what this new charge is for either)

I have written to marriott only to be referred to the hotel manager. I had tried to call but she was unavailable. I hadn't followed up as I already know that this is one Marriott I will never return to. I have spent hours trying to sort through the issues this hotel has caused and can only say that I hope this is an isolated incident....

(Ft. Lauderdale and Orlando quality far more superior to this hotel... they should take some management lessons from them)

Aside from all the billing and reservation issues, the only positive points I can make is the location and the bar staff.

The room was a good side and the bedding good yet the carpeting had many "Sticky areas" so wear your slippers!!! The hotel is extremely crowded as many pre/post cruise travellers are constantly filling the lobby to elbow room only.

The dining room is small and if your not ordering the buffet, expect a long wait (45 mins for yogurt and cereal) For dining, I would recommend going to the 1st level area under the adjoining Double Tree. They have dining areas (b-fast/lunch/dinner) with far better service\quality.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlee_salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel after Christmas, 2010. Marriott was oferring a promotional rate becuase of the renovations, which were largely completed at this time - so we experienced no inconvenience as a result. As with any full-service Marriotts, the only limitations were paid in-room Internet (but a nicely laid out lobby area makes using free wireless, available there, quite convenient), and self-parking ($26/day, and with limited space - so the garage was overflowing by night). We had an east-facing room with a great view of the South Bay from the 29th floor. Hallways had unusually pleasant smell, my wife and kids really liked it. If you stay there, I recommend you drive 3 blocks for a breakfast at the S&S Diner, a downtown Miami institution.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed here for four nights toward the end of December. The renovations in the lobby are complete - everything looks sparkly clean and the lobby is fully operational. I understand the rooms were already renovated two years ago.

The rooms are typical Marriott fare - relatively large rooms and relatively cramped bathrooms. If you get a room overlooking the Bay, the views are fantastic (see attached picture). The rooms are well-equipped with ample power outlets and a safe. Rooms are relatively quiet and provide for a comfortable sleep. My only complaints about the room are about the bathroom: no place to hang towels; not large enough for two people to occupy at the same time.

The location provides easy access to major attractions and the beaches via 395, A1A, and 195 highways and causeways. The neighborhood is quite safe and pleasant.

Negatives: 1) Concierge Lounge: limited breakfast options and maddening crowds in the morning (not sure how all those people manage to sneak in) and a surly, disinterested, and uninformed attendant in the evening hours. 2) Parking: the garage is small and the spaces are rather narrow - you may run out of luck if you arrive late. For $26/night, one expects a bit more.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooneydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Lovely place to stay with friends, family.
Free internet at the lobby.
Clean, friendly, excellent.
The room is exactly the same as the foto in the website.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulli2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Wow! The hotel is upside down under major renovations. That said, they are making the best of it. The rooms are done and are very nice. The staff is amazing. But be prepared for a disaster parking garage entrance, no lobby, it feels dangerous driving up the ramp to the temporary lobby. One restaurant, no pools or outdoor areas, very difficult to get a taxi. Overall I would wait until the renovations are done. But kudos to the staff, they really make the best of it.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine6225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Checked in with no trouble at all, was given a very nice room with a king bed and partial ocean view. Bed was so comfortable!

Business center was nice but a little tucked away

Restaurant food wasn't too badly priced.

Despite the renovations the hotel seemed to be functioning quite well.

Perfect location for a pre night cruise stay as it's very close to the pier.

Short distance from Bay View Marketplace for shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klotz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#33 of 127 in Miami
3,819 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#9 of 127 in Miami
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Address: 1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1215
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#8 Family Hotel in Miami
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £138 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing