We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #49 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Booked a room online for £79, wasn't too sure what to expect. Valet parking was $29. Went to check in, the receptionist was a stuck up snob and didn't want to serve us and passed us on to another member of staff. Once checked in we received nice warm cookies.We made our way up to the 29th floor, i was expecting a standard room, we had a kitchen, dining room, 2 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms one with a separate shower and Jacuzzi, a lounge with a leather sofa, large lcd tv with cable and internet.There was a balcony overlooking the ocean. Both bedrooms also had large lcd tv's. The pool was on the 10th floor and was a large pool with lots of sun loungers, there was a bar and a separate Jacuzzi area. Defiantly worth the money we paid. The concierge desk had the most helpful staff and we booked a boat and bus trip through them.We used one of the restaurants in the hotel which was fab. There is also a mini shop which sells hit food to take away or you can order it for room service. Would defiantly use this hotel again. Well worth the money we paid. !!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a bayside view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillyhilly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Hi sillyhilly74, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the condo. We hope to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,024)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights during our holiday in June.
After a long search in Miami beach we decided to take a town hotel. We got a good rate for a standard room (112 Dollars per night with AAA). Parking is only valet parking which is additional 29 Dollars per day. Thats too much and I would like to park my car myself.
The first room we got was in the 8th floor with look to a wall and green just in front of the window. It is a never ending way from the elevator to the room and in the end you have to take some stairs with your cases. So no good choice. The room was very dirty. Especially the windows and the carpet inside and outside the room. So I went back to front desk with my little daughter to complain. And all people working on front desk are not looking like they would do this job with heart. - All the time we were there!! - You always had the feeling to disturb them. So no wonder, it took over 45 minutes to find another room for us. This one was bigger and had a balcony but it smelled awful inside. Somebody had smoked inside and there was also some dirt to find. But we didn't wanted to move once more and stayed here. It would have been great but the windows are so old that they don't close enough to put the town noise outside. So it was very difficult to find sleep because you can hear people talking on the street at night with closed windows. And there was a bar across the street which had open till late in the night. Also the furniture was damaged on several pieces and should be repaired in a hotel like this. The pool was great but very windy and the location is also good. You can take serveral free bus lines to go to town or beach. We got really good information and help from a woman who worked on the concierge desk. There is also no free internet in the room. And the quality of internet in the free areas is horrible. I wouldn't stay here again. There are so many other town hotels in this area. It is not really what we are used of doubletree.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frosite-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Hello frosite-1, thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do hear the comment that valet parking is priced too high, however we are almost the same price as the hotel located next door and across the street from us. Another factor is that they are an outsourced company so we do not manage them or have full control over the rates they charge. I'm glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the pool and take advantage of the complimentary local transportation. Again I apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay but do wish you safe travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our stay was short but we left very satisfied with the hotel. The room was nice and very clean. Good location, it only took us 15 minutes to get to the Mia airport. The valet attendant was amazing, he went out of his way and had our car ready at 5 in the morning so we did not have to waste time. We will come back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the valet staff member was able to assist you with your early morning departure. We hope to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

Arrived on 15 July for a 2 night stay. We are a family of four, 2 adults and 2 children (aged 9 and 6). The positives are first and foremost the staff - without doubt some of the friendliest I have ever come across. The second positive was the size of the room with 2 comfortable double beds. The 3rd positive was the delicious cookies which the kids loved. Negatives were no free wi-fi, the very expensive valet parking (feel like you are being hustled). Another negative was that the firealarm on the floor we were on had a fault which meant that it went off intermittantly over a fifteen minute period around 11pm. It was very loud and while it was going off it woke the kids and frightened the living daylights out of them. This led to both finding it difficult to sleep through the night as they thought there was going to be a fire in the hotel while they were asleep. This is turn led to a broken nights sleep for my wife and I which kind of ruined our next day. The final negative relates to the room. We were given a room overlooking the bay on the sixth floor and our floor was the first containing bedrooms. Below us was I believe a formal reception room and the roof of this room stretched out about 30 feet just below us. I am not too sure how often this roofing area is cleaned but it was littered with various things, some not too savoury looking.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notuslimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Hi notuslimited, thank you for staying with us and for taking time to review us. Thank you as well for your kind comments regarding our staff. I do want to apologize for the incident with the fire alarm going off late at night. Not something very pleasant to be woken up in the middle of the night especially if its not a real emergency. I have informed the building maintenance staff about the refuse on the terrace roof to help prevent future guests from having the same unpleasant views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is where I always stay when I visit Miami. It is close to everything, the staff is super friendly and I love Primos! This trip was a getaway for my family and I. My kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool area. This time we stayed in a 2 bedroom 3 bed condo, loved how the kids did not have to share a bed. Great setup in the condo, well furnished and decorated. Nice size flat screens in rooms and living room area with direct tv. The layout was also very spacious. The waterviews from the extra large balcony were very realxing. I enjoyed drinking a nice glass of wine while sitting on the balcony winding down my day. Great place to stay with or without the kids. Just a heads up do not be surprised to see dogs, as this is a residence as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandee509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hi Mandee509, thanks for being a return guest, its always nice to hear. Very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy one of the condos while you were with us. Thank you again for staying with us and for your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

When we arrived we where met by a friendly staff. We also got a warm chocolate chip cookie! The rooms where comfortable, big and modern. We also got a nice view towards the "river". The only negative thing I can think of about the room must be that the balconydoor was very hard to open. Right by the hotel, a free Trolley has a stop. So if you want to see some of Miami, you can take the trolley, and jump of any stop you want. Got a positive experience staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n0rwegians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hello n0rwegians, thank you for your comments regarding the friendliness of the staff, we take pride in welcoming all of our guests. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the signature warm, DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies. Hope to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had booked 2 standard doubles for our party of 8. Upon arrival at 12:30 pm we were upgraded to 2 bedroom condos in the penthouse bayside!!! No wait (till 3:00). It was wonderful after a flight and transport from Fort Lauderdale. They were gorgeous and so spacious. We felt like royalty, all the amenities you could want with amazing beds and a view to die for. In the morning we watched our beautiful cruise ship pull in to port. You are a mile or less from the port. Fantastic. Local taxi charged 26.00 for ALL of us to go to the port. You are next to a public transportation hub so taking the bus for 2.00 to South Beach was easy, interesting and inexpensive. Our only complaint was lunch at the sports bar, food was not up to the standards of the hotel. But breakfast at the little steak house was definitely redeeming. Although we were looking forward to our cruise, we sure hated to leave this wonderful hotel. We will be back, as we are planning another cruise for 2014. This time I would like to stay longer and get to know Miami a little better. Also, pool and hot tubs are beautiful, pool at hotel next door looked dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelindawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hi travelindawn, thank you for staying with us and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgrades. Thank you for your great review of the hotel and we definitely look forward to your return for your next pre cruise stay, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#35 of 124 in Miami
3,707 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Conrad Miami
#12 of 124 in Miami
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 N Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £114 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Doubletree By Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing