We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #50 of 128 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Well I'll start with the Bay View Balcony. The view was amazing, but the condition of the balcony was terrible. Dirty floor, hairs, two toe nails, spit on the glass wall. The biggest problem, issue I had was we were spending the night there to get ready for a cruise, and we were looking forward to spending some time pool side to get us out of the cold New England weather, and into 'cruise' mode. WRONG... The pool had been closed, and was going to stay closed until sometime in December. Really? And in the age of the internet, no one could inform us so we could make other arrangements? They did have a sign on the pool room saying that their other hotel in downtown miami had a pool and you could use theirs. Really? I paid for the pool use in your hotel. Funny thing.... After a strongly worded email to this hotel, TODAY there is a yellow boxed notice at the top of their web page about the pool issue. At a cost of approx $300.00 a night I was hoping for a much better experiance. Get your head in the game doubletree... With the economy they way it is, and the easy access to the internet reviews, bad reviews can certainly hurt a hotels bottom line.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Squiggy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our first time in Miami - just stayed overnight before a cruise.

We stayed here on Friday night before our cruise on Saturday - you can't beat the location, just a few minutes from the cruise terminal. The property has everything you need on site with several restaurants, some small shops, a convenience store and a wine shop to pick up a bottle to take with you on the cruise if they allow it.

Check in was great - they have several outside staff that help you get your bags to the check in area if you need the help. The check in area is small, but the staff are friendly and efficient so the wait is not too bad. The property is clean and well maintained, the concierge was very informative with a lot of good suggestions for a short stay in the area.

We had a coupon for breakfast, I don't recall the name of the place but the food was just ok and the service was slow - it was small and if you are a late riser then you will have a long wait.

The Bayside Mall is a 5 minute cab ride - flat fee of $10. Very nice outdoor mall with a lot of great places to get a drink or just people watch by the water.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honors member get a higher room - much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights November 15 thru 18. The hotel is part of our vacation club, Royal Holiday. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get a nicer room, but that was a Royal Holiday issue, not the hotel. There is valet parking which cost us another $87 dollars over the 3 days. You really don't have any choice on this but it wasn't an issue and the car was readily available when we needed it. There are a few restaurants in the mall area adjacent to the hotel. None are great, but Primo was the best. It is Italian and very small. You need to get there early or make a reservation. The hotel also houses condos which are located on the upper floors. Our room was on the 9th floor and it had a slight view of the Bay. The room was fine, but the bathroom was very small. The sink was outside the bathroom, so that was a saving grace. The toilet and bath are in a very small separate room. Oh, yeah, if you don't like dogs, you may want to avoid this place. It wasn't an issue for us, but the residents of the condos must all have dogs. There were dogs being walked through the lobby every time we went through there. I'm an animal lover, so it didn't bother me. The mall adjacent to the hotel has a few very pricey shops and some restaurants, a coffee shop, and a bar. Very convenient! We stayed here because it was midway between Homestead, where we went to the NASCAR race, and Fort Lauderdale, where we boarded a cruise ship afterwards. Traffic around Miami is atrocious, so be prepared.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GennasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Doubletree most of time are very good, just this location have some problem, it combine residential people and hotel people together, so it is a little bit busy in the morning. breakfast was the worst part during my stay, they offer me coupon of on site restaurant which offer nothing almost.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Primos was the best italian food and service I have ever had! The room was nice and staff was friendly and helpful! I would stay again when in the city on business. Stay away from tony chans no one was in there the week of my stay....no one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Will never stay here again!! I could have gotten a better stay at a Motel 6. I will never recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. The room conditions were horrible. The tv never worked, the toilet wouldn't stop running all night, there was no shower door, and there absolutely was no real good service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Wonderful suite and service. Thank you Hilton!!! We were on our way to board a cruise and stayed here. Great service and a shuttle to the cruise ship. Very helpful staff and internet was very good. The suite was well appointed and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Alicia034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#33 of 128 in Miami
3,860 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#58 of 128 in Miami
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 N Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £121 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Doubletree By Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing