We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family base for Miami and beyond.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #50 of 128 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at the Doubletree Grand Hotel in July 2013 as part of a mini vacation with my children. We stayed in one of their condo suites which had all of the amenities of home. Spacious living room and two separate bedrooms. The decor was modern and somewhat dated (and maybe that's because it's not to my taste) but fitting for Miami. The apartment really felt like two living spaces connected with a living room. The full room had it's own separate sitting room, bathroom and bedroom. The master was humongous and the master bath didn't disappoint. Our room had access to three balconies (one off the living room and one each off of the bedrooms). Add a full kitchen and laundry facility and you have a great space for a family of 4 to enjoy Miami. Our room overlooked the pool area below, faced the hotel next door and if you looked left Biscayne Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond.

The hotel was interesting in itself. The hotel is a combination of hotel space and private condominiums. The lobby had a shopping gallery which catered to both the residents and guests. How often do you see a high end dog groomer in the lobby. The hotel boasted at least 4 restaurants (chinese, italian, deli/bar and a coffee place). The food was ok, nothing spectacular but good in a pinch if you were hungry. There was a supermarket a block away so it made sense to shop and cook/prepare snacks and meals instead of dining in the hotel restaurants.

Great home base to explore Miami and the surrounding area. It's an expensive taxi ride to South Beach. Was able to use the hotel's reciprocal deal they have with the Hilton Bentley South Beach. For a small fee per person, you were given a parking pass and vouchers for a chair/umbrella on their portion of the beach. Nice way to experience South Beach without paying South Beach Hotel prices.

Would return to this hotel in a heart beat.

Room Tip: The suites appear to be on the higher levels of the building. If available, I would upgrade for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbcfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent service and good quality facilities, especially the surrounding amenities under the same roof - shops, restaurants, nearby cultural and recreational facilities. Great neighborhood. There are three or four sit-down restaurants in the building, Chinese, Italian, seafood and South American, plus two massage facilities, barber shop, full-service hair salon, several shops for clothing, jewelry, pharmacy, etc., all under one roof. There is also a very nice park down the street and a major supermarket a block away. The hotel is in a neighborhood and is two blocks away from the major performance theater and a few blocks away from a major arena which includes the Miami Heat basketball games. There is also a free trolley and people mover that takes you to a shopping center and other venues. Fifteen minutes from Miami International Airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

DoubleTree Hilton overlooking Biscayne Bay offered the perfect location, fantastic 9th floor room with balcony overlooking the bay and marina. VERY comfortable bed & linens - our experience was all very positive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Service by the reception and reservation agents was outstanding. Everyone was extremely polite and professional. Room was lovely and in pristine condition. Finest hotel I've stayed in and I spend 60-70% on the road! On great hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I like the Doubletree brand, simply more than just for their cookies, but also for their spacious rooms. I chose to stay at this Doubletree due to it's close proximity to the Port of Miami.

Upon arriving to the hotel, it was a little confusing as apparently the main lobby is for The Grand, which is kind of like a little shopping center and condos. The front desk for the hotel tucked away in an enclosed entrance off the lobby. Check in was quick and friendly.

Upon entering the room, it had the usual Doubletree feel although the room felt a little bigger, probably because it had a little bar area. The bedroom area was nice and spacious and the balcony which overlooked the marina was really nice. The bathroom had a stand in shower as well as a bidet. Our stay was very comfortable but I have to comment on the minor cleanliness issues such as smudges on the wall mirror, sliding glass door, and hair found in the bathroom area. This doesn't gross me out but, it certainly makes me shake my head.

For food options, you have to head down to the main lobby and the shopping center area. Deeper within the shopping center there's a food court however, the food was mediocre and overpriced. With that said, I'll never complain about how there are too many Starbucks locations, there's a difference between brewed Starbucks coffee to an actual Starbucks store, or at least a Dunkin Donuts, for myself being a California deprived DD fan!

In terms of location, not much to do in the area however, if you're catching a cruise ship, the location is gold! It was about a 10-minute cab ride costing $12.00.

Overall, even if this wasn't the best Doubletree I've ever stayed at, my general expectations of the hotel were met, especially in terms of location to where we needed to be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norcalnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We chose to stay here after reading many reviews, like we always do before we go anywhere. We are a family of four with mom/dad (40s) and two boys (8 and 13).

LOCATION:
* For a pre-cruise hotel, this was amazing. We were right on the bay and could watch the cruise ships coming in in the morning and leaving in the afternoon. We arrived early afternoon, so our boys were able to see some ships pulling out, which got them excited for our ship to come in the next day.
* When we went to walk around and explore, it was not so amazing for us. The city shuttle (nothing to do with the hotel) that was supposed to come every 15 minutes did not come for half an hour and then was too full and told us we had to wait for the next one. In their defense, the National Red Bull Flugtag was going on, which is what we were trying to get to, down in Bayfront Park, and we just ran out of time to go explore that with all the waiting. However, we did find a Publix close by that had a buffet in the store that was not too bad for the price. We were able to pick up snacks, drinks, etc., for the room from there too. We walked for a while and then decided to just come back to our hotel to swim and just hang out there until we left in the morning, which this place is great for. We stayed on South Beach after coming back from our cruise, and that was a much more interesting area for sightseeing. We would suggest spending your time in this area at the pool area here. :)

HOTEL/CONDO:
* Okay, so the building is part hotel and part condo. There are people just spending the night or a few nights and there are people who live here. There are a few sections that are only able to be accessed by the people who live here, but we were able to get around to where we wanted to go with no problem. We actually loved the mixture. My youngest son spent a good part of the night in the pool with a little boy his age who lives there and they had a blast. His mother was talking to us about all the interesting people they meet. Very cool!
* The hotel front desk staff members were wonderful. We all loved the warm delicious chocolate chip cookies we received when we got there.

ROOFTOP: Everyone has access to the pool, hot tub area, and bar area on the rooftop.
* The pool was clean and refreshing. I know there was a shallower end and a deeper end, but I don't remember exactly how deep the deep end was.
* The hot tub was in an area by itself and was very nice. It was a large clover-shaped tub with four sections.
* The bar area was great. It was nice to go up and order a drink without having to run back to your room. The price was a little expensive but not bad for the area. It was definitely way less than on South Beach.
* We saw people with snacks and drinks, and no one said anything, so I think this was okay. I would think if you just used common sense and didn't bring glass or what not, it would be okay.

ROOM:
* Two comfy beds. Clean, white, soft sheets and blankets. Comfy pillows.
* Small sofa and table, mini fridge, room safe. Not overly crowded.
* Amazing balcony facing the bay. You can watch the private boats below you on the docks or the big cruise ships coming and going from here. It is kind of a narrow balcony but is pretty long and has two chairs and a small table.
* Very nice bathroom with large tub, toilet, and bidet.
* There is also a sink and counter area outside the bathroom to help with space and privacy for more than one to get ready at a time.

FINAL THOUGHTS: If we were just needing a place to stay before a cruise, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The roof top is amazing without having to go anywhere else if you don't want to. You could spend some time on your balcony and then leave for your cruise that you actually watched come in that morning. If you have a few days, think about throwing South Beach into the mix too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawni_and_Buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

From the time we drove into the covered entry until we left, we experienced first class service and accommodations. Our room was nicely appointed, and the hotel offered many dining and shopping opportunities. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#33 of 128 in Miami
3,910 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#60 of 128 in Miami
2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 N Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: £117 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Doubletree By Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing