We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for cruisers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #51 of 123 Hotels in Miami
north carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“good for cruisers”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Close to the port for those going out on a cruise. Great rooms. The marina view is wonderful. There are restaurants on the property. We did not know about Bayside being just down the street as they don;t tell you..they probably want you to stay and spend your money with them. But make the trip to Bayside for great shops and food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank ashea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    649
    303
    176
    144
See reviews for
609
570
96
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had a couple days to kill waiting on a cruise. Family of three and a good friend.
Great location for doing that.
Several good to fantastic restaurants on site or an easy walk. Convenience shopping and car rentals on site too. Close to the water.
Condo was large, well furnished, and comfortable with full kitchen, two full baths, two formal bedrooms and a couple easily convertible areas for additional sleeping space. Very clean.
Did show some minor signs of wear and tear due to it's intended use as long term vacation housing for families who are going to treat it as an apartment for a week or longer. Not a real problem, just noticeable.
Valet parking, daily housekeeping service, and bath amenities provided. But this is not a hotel.
If there was a bellman, I never saw him. Self service bags in and out. On your own for ice unless you want to fire up the refrigerator ice maker and wait a day.
Got above and beyond help from the valet people our entire stay. Highly commendable and way tip worthy.
It is possible there may be hotel rooms on the property. May want to check if you're planning the trip.
Alert and always manned security station to get to elevators. Felt good.
Staff friendly, available, and very helpful.
I was simply taken aback a little by the 'condo' effect. Eyes open now. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed here for the Sony Open tennis in March 2014. The location is great - beside the Marriott and right on the water. The hotel is not your ordinary hotel - it is more of an added amenity to the real estate development called "The Grand" that includes both condos and ground floor commercial space. The lobby is to the left of the concierge desk (shared by the hotel and condo owners) and is small. There's really no lobby or hotel restaurant so it's unusual. However, adjacent to the hotel is a shopping arcade that includes several restaurants, coffee shops, takeaway lunch places, sundry shop, salon and barber so this is very convenient. The rooms themselves were spacious with large flat screen TVs, a refrigerator, balcony, and the usual amenities. The balcony was large but if you want a water view you need to book a higher category room. Room service was prompt and good. Overall condition of the hotel was just OK - the property is starting to show it's age. If not for the location next to the Marriott (where the bus to the tennis picked up), I probably wouldn't return.

Room Tip: If you want a waterfront room you need to specifically request it - I believe the waterview rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations and was a nice place to stay before a cruise departure. The Italian restaurant and bar was good, too, and every staff member we encountered was pleasant. One member of concierge even let me purchase some stamps from her personal stash to mail a letter. The rooms are spacious and have a great view!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This Hotel Is A Piece Of Work! From checking in with the Valet Mgr Telling Me To Park My Vehicle On The Street to The Front Desk! I Reserved A King 1 bedroom AKA The Grand Suite with a Wrap Around Balcony With Wrap Around Views Of Biscayne Bay. What Do We Get A 4ft Balcony That Is Just Big Enough for the 2 Chairs And No View of The Bay Just The Marina! Ordered A Pot Of Coffee the next morning & had to cancel it after an hour wait! I Wonder How Many More People They Will Rip Off With The Their Deceptive Room Photos & descriptions!
Next Time I Will Stay At A Hotel That Actually Cares About Their Guests!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CaneFan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
CaneFan11, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and do apologize for the experience you had with the valet staff. I'm not sure why he would tell you to park on the street as we have the valet parking service for a reason but again, I apologize for that. I'm sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your view of the bay but hope you did enjoy your time in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, GA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at this property on the return from a cruise. We arrived early and the staff was very accommodating by storing out luggage until out room was ready. They gave us access to the pool so that we could enjoy the property while we waited. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Planned a weekend trip to Miami and chose this as a place to stay for 2 nights. Flight arrived at 10 AM, was offered early bird check-in so when I got to the hotel at noon and was told that no rooms were ready was very disappointed. Off to a bad start. The room was spacious but dated. Bed could have used a new mattress (sagged in the middle) Balcony view was fair (over an adjacent building and a park before you could see water). The concierge service was horrible. That did not seem to know the ins and outs of the local area. Hotel seemed close to public transportation (one reason for choosing) but they did not know how to give good directions or have maps to help us figure it out. In-house restaurants were also bad. Ordered a pizza which they did not get the toppings right on. Told them I did not want what was on it but wanted what I originally asked for. Gave me the same pizza back with the added topping. Hotel is not worth the cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_evi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
lil_evi2012, I'm sorry to read that you didnt enjoy, well it looks like everything about your stay with us. Not sure what an early bird check in is, but unfortunately we can never guarantee an early check in as it is always based upon availability. However, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I wish you safe travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#35 of 123 in Miami
3,672 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#17 of 123 in Miami
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Address: 1717 N Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Doubletree By Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing