We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of supervision”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regency Hotel Miami
Ranked #39 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lack of supervision”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel (Oct 7,2012), and was ok! I stayed there due AA flight delay thought!
The front desk agent at night when I got in, was very professional and friendly, and the room 212 was clean and neat. The wifi internet worked very well, also the free shutlle bus was very convenient for me. Of course I saw some gaps (not that I was looking for it, but I am a very good observer)...First, the driver from the shuttle that picked us up from the airport, was very rude and unprofessional ( not even greated us or reply to us when we greated him). He left us inside the shuttle without opening the doors, not even helpped us to take the luggages from the mini-bus. We had to ask him, if was ok for us to open the trunk for our belongings (again no answer from him). When it happened he was almost inside the hotel already (no manners at all). When I got to the room 212 the facial tissue box was empty (only one sheet on top for decoration).The water pressure in the bathtub is a joke thought! When I went for breakfast I was greated by the server, but as soon as I pay, she and the others co-workers just ignored me and started to chat very loud in Spanish...I needed some coffee and I got it in a dirty cup ( I show to them the lipstick marc and some kind of black oily mark as well, and she just removed my cup, gave to me another one without any kind of appologize or concern about the issue. It is not a big deal, but I expected at least some carisma for the situation. She just naturally turned back and went back for her business with the co-workers . I saw some crew members from INSELAIR, commenting about the disgasting service they were getting in the restaurant. Actually I thought it was happening to me, because I had a $7.00 voucher from American Airlines, which did not covered the bill ( but I added 12 dollars plus tip for my breakfast before I take the seat)... I realize that was too early and there was no manager in. Good opportunity for them to feel free of doing what they feel like doing, or just it may be lack of training. It is a cozy hotel and I wish the management fix those bad issues, first impression counts a lot, especially when they are serving people with different wants and needs and from all over the world. I was very impressed with the housekeeping lady who takes care of the lobby ( I saw her in the main floor close to the elevators), she was very, but very friendly, very natural, also very helpful. She saw my unhappy face, so she did her best to make me feel as a regular guest. My expectations are never for anything fancy (because I am simple person), but I expect some kind of respect and dignity. We are talking about hospitality and people paying for services and products in the USA.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncleddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseMiguul, Front Office Manager at Regency Hotel Miami, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us of the issues you reported. I do hope that you accept our sincere apologies for this short coming.

I have taken the necessary steps to inform the appropriate departments of the problems raised. I already open an investigation of the driver that worked on that shift ( please send me the time or name if you remember), also I send a copy of your review to our F&B Manager which I am assured that he will take the necessary action within his department to ensure that the shortfalls you encountered do not happen again in the future. I can assure you that this incident is an isolated one, and I am sorry that we failed you on this occasion.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. I am only sorry you did not receive our normally high standards of service. If you wish to contact me, please do not hesitate in call the hotel and ask for myself.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Jose Miguel Batista de Pool
Revenue & Front Office Manager
Regency Hotel Miami
josemiguel@regencyhotelmiami.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    612
    257
    93
    63
See reviews for
487
456
172
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I'm writing from the lobby of the Regency, having spent the night due to a cancelled flight from Miami Airport. Nice lobby, clean room and comfortable bed, but - very noisy AC unit and high level of street noise (bring earplugs!), outdated furniture and a clean, but shabby washroom with barely functioning shower. Staff is bilingual (Spanish/English) friendly and efficient. There is a shuttle to the airport and some kind of transportation (not free) to a shopping mall. An OK buffet-type breakfast.
The lobby is definitely the most impressive feature of Regency!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramlincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseMiguul, Front Office Manager at Regency Hotel Miami, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us of the AC noise you reported. Also at the same time thank you for your compliments on the Customer Service, and all others areas of the hotel.

I have taken the necessary steps to inform the engineering department on the AC noise, This shouldn’t happened since the AC units are new and still under guaranty, but we will revise the unit for sure.

I am sorry that you did not have an excellent rest because of the AC unit. If you wish to contact me, please do not hesitate in call the hotel and ask for myself or write me an email.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Jose Miguel Batista de Pool
Revenue & Front Office Manager
Regency Hotel Miami
josemiguel@regencyhotelmiami.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

When we arrived on the free shuttle from the airport, we were very impressed by the beautiful lobby area , but the person checking us in wasn't very welcoming or helpful and when we got to our room we were very disappointed .
We had 2 double beds and the room was spacious but very dated...the water pressure in the bathroom was very bad , and there was so little water coming out of the tap that it was very hard to brush your teeth and rinse your toothbrush..
Our room was above some very noisy equipment which kept us awake most of the night.
When we checked out and asked if we could leave our bags with the concierge for an hour while we went for a walk , we were told we could but there was a charge per piece..this is usually a free service in other hotels..
I would definitely not return to this hotel as there are much better hotels for the same price .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

On our way to Mexico, my husband and I had an unscheduled night in Miami as our flight was delayed from London. British Airways therefore told us at the airport that they had reserved a room for us at the Regency Hotel and just after midnight we arrived at the front desk ready to check in. However, British Airways had not made the reservation as promised, but the receptionist, Mr. Tomas Cruz found us a room anyway. In addition, he borrow us his personal mobile, without charge, so that we could make a call to our hotel in Mexico to reschedule a hotel transfer. We were very grateful and wanted to pay for the call, but he would not accept. Also the next day, as we were waiting for the shuttlebus to go back to the airport, he offered us a lift to the airport as he was going the same way, and this way we didn’t have to wait anymore. Even here he wouldn’t accept any form of payment (or tips). We have travelled to many hotels throughout the world, and most of them have been five-star, but we have never received such kind and considerate service and it made our one night stop-over in Miami memorable. So if you read this Mr. Cruz – thank you.

The hotel in itself is nice and what you expect when your airline provides a free stopover stay due to delays. The hotel is close to the airport, the reception is small but friendly, the rooms are spacious enough and clean and the breakfast is continental. We would definitely recommend it for a stop-over, but have no idea how close it is to any of the sights in Miami as we didn’t have enough time to explore.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria_mdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel is near to the airport. I spent there one night as my flight was cancelled. You have to know it is NOT luxurious. It is a low level hotel that airlines would expectedly send their clients to because they most probably get a good offer. I had dinner there. It was more of home-made food style. An open buffer including a minimal salad bar, and rice and macaroni, and chicken and beef. The water and coke etc were in jugs. No proper hotel serving although the people were helpful. The receptionists tried to help in every way and were nice. The elevators are oldish style. The rooms had a lot of non-working TV channels, and a manually controlled air condition (split unit), without a remote control. The bed only had a sheet and a semi-thick cover. You can spend a night there to be close to the airport with a cheap alternative. I dont know their rates, but I wouldn't expect them to be as expensive as the Hilton or other high level hotels near the airport. They have a shuttle every 30 minutes going to and from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ameshref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Dushet'is Raioni, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

It is very rare to get a genuine smile and service at the hotel front desk, especially when you are exhausted, your flight got cancelled and you have to stay overnight far away from miami beach. Edwin, Rose and Jose Carlos took my stress away the moment I got to the hotel. They have been so kind and sweet about any matter. If your flight gets cancelled with Delta and you have to choose a place to stay at Miami airport, make it Regency Hotel - that smile and help at the front desk is more value than any stars you can get elswhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel had good reviews at TripAdvisor, which is why we booked our room there. This is NOT the case. First of all, the pictures are deceptive. This hotel is not at all what the pictures make it look like. Everything inside of this hotel is cheap; from the furniture to the elevator to the details in its design. We had extremely mediocre dinner in the restaurant and were loudly woken up at 2am by the family in the room next door. Paper thin walls, half the tv channels didn't work, just a sheet is provided on the bed. Would not come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Urbano
#51 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#55 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Miami

Property: Regency Hotel Miami
Address: 1000 Northwest le Jeune Rd, 1000 NW (42nd Ave), Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Airport Regency Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Hotel Miami 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel features 176 spacious guest rooms on 6 floors. Having recently undergone a half-million dollar renovation, the property features two deluxe suites, thirty six Regency Club rooms, thirty four premium Regency rooms, and one hundred standard rooms each with private balcony.With a distinctive boutique ambiance, the Regency is a leading choice amongst Miami hotels. Our personalize service; attention to detail, fine dining and independent mind set differentiate us from our competitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Airport
Regency Hotel Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing