We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-cruise hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Bonita, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great pre-cruise hotel!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent hotel if starting a cruise from the Miami port. Just minutes away from the port, and a shuttle provides service every 30 minutes starting at 11:00am (sign up the night before when you check in). Shuttle service was a bit crowded and not too orderly in the lobby, so come early. Hotel itself was average for a Marriott Courtyard. Rooms were nice with good Wi-Fi, but the bathroom was rather small. Some construction nearby, but noise was not an issue. Service could be improved, as no help with our luggage was offered upon check-in. Breakfast at the lobby restaurant was included, but only continental. Full breakfast and other food available for purchase.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KyPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    529
    214
    62
    25
See reviews for
357
297
57
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Two years in a row we have stayed here the night before our cruise. You can see the cruise port from the hotel if you stay on the bay side. There is construction going on across the street, but we didn't hear any of the noise in our room. Every place that we were, common area, elevators, hallways, and room were spotless. Super clean and very nice employees. I would like to recognize Alexis Collura, Front Desk Supervisor for her excellent communication via email and in person when it came to a special request. My needs were met and exceeded my expectations. Thank you so much Alexis!!

Helpful hints (from personal experience):

1. If driving to the hotel, to enter the parking garage and check in area, proceed straight on SE 2nd STREET and turn left into the parking/check-in entrance. Most GPS devices or smart phone Apps do not route this. One cannot access that area on SE Second AVENUE (physical address of Hotel).

2. Parking in the garage at the hotel, parking is currently $18 self parking with in/out. There is a separate key card for this, not the hotel key card.

3. The hotel key card is required to enter the hotel from the garage, don't forget this.

4. The ramp is very narrow when using a luggage cart to enter the hotel from the parking garage on any floor other than the lobby level. Use caution and patience maneuvering the cart through the door way.

5. CVS is a short walk down SE 2nd Street if you forget any needed items prior to taking a cruise. We purchased our wine and bottled water from there and packed in our carry-on.

Room Tip: If you want to have a city/bay view room and a chance to see all the fancy and some exotic cars on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gm3fan4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night prior to our cruise. I had booked the stay months in advance and we decided to splurge a little since it was only one night. We chose to book an executive king suite and requested a higher floor and was terribly disappointed with the room. Although it was spacious, ( it had a separate living room and kitchen area and our bedroom was in another room), the room was outdated and had a horrible view. We had a view of the train tracks and all the litter below us ( We were on the 5th floor). In addition, we had booked a transfer to the which we paid extra for, and had a situation where the concierge was not aware we had reserved the transfer even though we told TWO of the staff members what time we needed the transfer to the ship. Overall for the price that we paid for the room, we will definitely stay somewhere else (Intercontinental Hotel) when we come to Miami.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJimenez305, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for the valued feedback. It will certainly help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ USA
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here with friends for a weekend in March. We booked it on a reward stay primarily due to the great location (within walking distance to restaurants and pubs). The hotel itself is just outside of the Brickell area (easy ~15 min walk to a large number of bars and nightclubs). However, if you don't want to walk that far, there's bars and restaurants within a 2 block radius as well.

The rooms are standard Courtyard rooms - large, clean, and recently re-done. Small bathroom but large living quarters. The gym was small but adequate and had a number of treadmills, ellipticals, and free weights.

From here ,the airport is about a 15 min drive. Similarly, South Beach is also approx 15 mins. It's a fairly central location and I wouldn't hesitate staying here again if my travels brought me to the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean spacey! There is a great pool and gym. The area does not seem dangerous at all to me. We were walking around last night at 2am and there was barely a soul in sight. I didn't not feel uncomfortable at all. The staff is great and very attentive. They ask a lot how the stay is going and if anything is needed. The Bistro downstairs is delicious. You can order anything on the menu all day! It is a very convenient location. About a 7-10 minute walk to Bayside where there is great music, food, shopping and entertainment. The Metro Mover is located directly next door and South Beach is a short and cheap cab ride away! I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Great price. If I don't stay at a friends place the next time I come I'll def stay here! The only reason I give it four stars is because of the price of snacks and drinks in the lobby. It is a little over $6.00 just for some Fiji water! Other then that its a great place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillside, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Marriott Downtown Miami. I stayed for Haitian Flag day. We were close enough to all the events, restaurants, South Beach, Little Haiti, Nightclubs, etc. Parking situation was great. William, night auditor, was excellent. He even found Krazy Glue for us. I had a wonderful stay!!!

The room was spacious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDJJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

First, it was not easy finding actual entrance to hotel. Drove by it first time thinking it was parking garage. Which it turned out it actually was. There are, I think, 2 spaces reserved for people registering with hotel where you can park for 15 minutes then decide if you are parking there or somewhere else. Anyway not a good start.

The desk staff were friendly and efficient. This was true of all employees who we ran into or asked for service. The issue with the hotel is it is kind of worn. Both things like elevators and room furniture. Bathrooms while clean have old equipment.

Overall place is dated.

One other piece of good news. The night we were there the weather was thunder, lightening and extremely heavy rain. So we decided to eat at the 'Bistro' on lobby floor. While the menu was limited the food we had was very good for what it was. And again the staff there were pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with an excellent hotel experience, and your comments have been shared with our team members accordingly. We will definitely look at what changes need to made in order to provide the best experience possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#24 of 122 in Miami
260 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#49 of 122 in Miami
3,342 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 122 in Miami
2,640 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 122 in Miami
3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Property: Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Address: 200 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2106 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area Florida
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing