We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Service”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My fiancée and I stayed here both before and after a cruise. We chose the Courtyard based on good reviews and a decent price. We travel to Miami fairly often, and typically stay at a different hotel in South Beach. We decided to give the Courtyard a try due to it being much closer to the Port of Miami and about half the price of the other hotel.
I have to say, we were pleasantly surprised. First of all, service is excellent. Everyone we encountered and dealt with at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. It seemed they went out of their way to provide good service. This is not something we've come across often in other hotels. After returning from our cruise, the front desk staff even remembered us and asked how our trip was. I didn't expect that!
The location of this hotel is great. There are lots of shops and amenities within easy walking distance. CVS is across the street, Starbucks just down the road (although the hotel has a Starbucks in the lobby as well), and several restaurants are in the area. The Bayside mall is an easy and pleasant 10-15 minute walk away and is a great way to spend some time. And if you're going on a cruise, the Port of Miami is a very quick taxi ride away. A taxi from the hotel costs about $7, but you can also book the shuttle service for $5 a person. The shuttle will bring you directly where you need to go.
Rooms are simple, maybe a tiny bit dated, but that didn't bother us. One thing we liked is that we encountered no noise issues. My fiancée is a VERY light sleeper and typically has trouble sleeping in hotels due to noise from the street or adjoining rooms, and we didn't have that problem here.
The hotel has a gym that we looked at, but didn't use. It seemed to have all the basics. There is also a rooftop pool which unfortunately was closed during our stay. We were a bit disappointed about that.
We tried the Bistro in the lobby once for breakfast. It was a good selection at decent prices.
The business amenities are good. There are several computers and printers available for free use. The internet is VERY slow, but we were grateful for the free usage.
Overall, I would stay here again if going on a cruise or looking to spend time in Downtown Miami. The price is good and the service excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtbwordly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    515
    209
    62
    24
See reviews for
353
289
52
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this downtown Courtyard hotel. The location is excellent. It's very close to the cruise port, and actually convnenient to the airport as well. The front desk staff were great. Our friend from S.G., California was great at the front desk. We had come off a cruise ship and arrived very early, but he was able to get us into a room right then. The location is great and you can walk all over. The Bayside park area is very close, and there all sorts of things to do there, as well as bus tours, etc that one can take. The room was comfortable, and the A/C worked great! Free wifi and a nice little restaurant on the premises. The pool was open and looked nice. For purposes of pre or post cruise, or for being in a central location, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jldjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have very mixed feelings about this location - but my gut would recommend staying at another hotel in the downtown area. The hotel itself is in a good location for downtown and easy to get to many nearby areas by foot, people mover, or cab. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean, quite and plenty of hot water for a shower. The food in the cafe is very good as well. That's about all you'll get here - the customer service is average at best (and I am being generous). I was less than impressed with the response of staff to a few strange situations that occur - they all gave that "blank stare" - it's definitely not the Marriott customer service that I have seen at most every other property. My security door latch to my room was broken - and I told the front desk and they said "really?" and followed by that Courtyard Marriott Downtown blank stare. I was surprised to that I had 2 flyers slid under my door in the early evening - that bothered me - how can the hotel not know there is shady flyers being placed under paying customers doors? With unregistered people allowed access to the floors makes me wonder if security is really important. I left early - there are other hotels in that provide good customer service, rooms with door latches, and security.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AtravelJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Overall this is a very nice hotel, with large, well appointed rooms, in an excellent downtown location. Free wifi and good connection, nice beds, large room. Really a very nice room.
We checked in early, around 11.30, and a room was ready for us on the 7th floor.
When we got there we noticed our room was right across the entrance of the swimming pool and the fitness center AND the elevators.
That was kind of tricky.
The 1st night was OK. All nights after that we were woken up constantly because of slamming doors and obnoxiously loud and shouting people in the hallway. (I can never understand how people seem to think they're all alone in a hotel and talk like they're in the market)
Of course I called reception and all they said they could do was to send security. They didn't even suggest moving us to another room, something I was hoping for.
Maybe we were just unlucky to be staying there for the 4th of July, at the other hand I had the impression the 7th floor was some kind of "special" floor.
One more thing was the service in the breakfast room : not very friendly and terribly slow.

Room Tip: Forget about the 7th floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dezdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is probably one of my favorite places to stay whenever I go to Miami. The hotel is basically in the heart of the financial district in the Brickell/Miami River area. Walking distance to the people mover and Bayfront Park. Plenty of choices around for shopping/restaurants however mostly Latin American cuisine. Hotel well kept and rooms are extremely spacious with comfortable beds. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful when answering questions. Area around the hotel has reminders of Miami's grittier past unfortunately, but in my opinion gives it plenty of character and attitude! In the numerous stays however I have not had any issues and honestly feel more than comfortable walking around late, late at night. The best part is good nightlife is within walking distance/cab ride away as well as museums and interesting architectural designs that tend to be hidden away. When staying here, take a moment if possible, and just go exploring...you will be pleasantly rewards.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies, so if looking for one for great vistas you will need to request a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patterd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel offers excellent value! The rooms are clean and the staff are very professional and attentive. It gives the impression of a very well run hotel. There was a quiet and peaceful atmosphere. One needs to keep in mind that this hotel is not on a par in terms of appearance and amenities with the very high end hotels in the vicinity, but it is also a fraction of the cost! For me I see no need to spend the extra money when I can have such a pleasant experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorbaitnTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

When catching a cruise ship what better place to stay than downtown Miami. The hotel is located just a 10-15 minute walk from the water and offers easy transportation to the piers. Last time I was at the hotel it was under going renovation, it was a complete success. Rooms and service by the staff have only got better and their professionalism makes you feel even more welcome. From check-in staff and housekeeping - thank you for a great stay. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#19 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#50 of 122 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 122 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#47 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Property: Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Address: 200 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2106 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area Florida
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing