We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
Ranked #29 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

really enjoyed our stay here free shuttle to and from airport also close to shopping malls and not

too far from the beach. rooms very spacious. What really impressed us was the staff very

friendly nothing was too much trouble. The lady who looked after our room (Caridad Christina )

was so thorough the room and the bathroom was very clean, we also required a fridge for my

husbands medication again this was not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear christine r, Thank You very much for your generous feedback. We are pleased that your stay with us met your expectations and appreciate the note about our service performance, specially Caridad's.
We wish you continued pleasant journeys and hope to welcome you again when visiting Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    536
    235
    73
    40
See reviews for
241
434
129
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Got stuck in Miami on a trip. Found a room here. Transport came within 10 minutes. place was spotless had a nice bar and restaurant rooms were not overly large but nicely decorated. Great mattresses! Even had a refrigerator in the room (which we did not need)

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room not on the road side although it is far enough away from the road that it mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear cathying, I am pleased to read that we were able to provide you with some comfort and relaxation during your unexpected stay over in Miami. Thank You for sharing your feedback and the note on my Business partners friendly service performance.

Hope that future journeys will be less eventful and more relaxing. Hope to welcome you again whenever your journeys bring you to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Unfortunate to have a cancelled flight but we were lucky to stay at this hotel.
Very close to the Airport we found this hotel, the Hotel Shuttle takes only 5 minutes.
Rooms were fine for the four of us (2 adults and 2 children), modern and clean.
The hotel restaurant had a nice menu and the food was excellent, as was the service.
Unfortunately the gym was under renovation and temporary relocated.
Work on exterior upgrade did not affect service or convenience.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Magnus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Lars-Magnus E, I am sorry to read that a cancelled flight interrupted your journey but note that we were able to lessen the inconvenience of the stop over. Thank You for sharing this review with us and the recommendation of our property.

May future travels be safe and uneventful. Hope to welcome you again when your travels bring you to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Last year we stayed in South Beach a few nights before our cruise and didn't enjoy it. This year we decided to stay between the airport and the port. We chose this place based upon the stars, price and location. We stayed New Years Eve and got it for a very reasonable price. There is a free shuttle from the airport to the hotel, and it comes every 15 minutes. The hotel has recently been upgraded (fitness room will be done in February, but the current one is fine) and was nice. There is a shuttle to the port for $10 per person and they pick you up whenever you want.

We didn't eat there, but there was a lot of things in walking distance (Walgreens, fast food, gas stations, restaurants, etc...) I do believe the food in the hotel was pretty expensive. Hotel comes with everything you would expect. I would definitely stay here again between a flight and a cruise.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CAsmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear CAsmussen, we are pleased to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. I am sure others will benefit from your valuable information regarding the various transportation options and the diverse dining options around the hotel. Thank You for your visit and the endorsement of our property
Wishing you relaxing and enjoyable journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The restaurant, without telling you first, will add a 15% "Service Charge" onto your bill when eating in the dining room. Even if it is a buffet. They need to tell people this first. When I asked them about it, the manager took it off the bill, but still ran the credit card including the charge. I am still trying to fix it.
My question is, does the money even go to the server? I normally tip 20%, but I was angry that it was put on the bill without my knowledge. It is put on every bill, not just large parties. I ate at Latin Cafe across the street after that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Robert B, I am glad that you give us the opportunity to respond to the concern laid out in your feedback.
Let’s start with the automatic 15% Service charge added to all Café 950 orders. Being that we are at an Airport location that is frequented by many individuals of various cultural backgrounds, we noticed that it would be necessary to add this charge to the final bill, in order to protect the livelihood of our service business partners, which rely to a large part on the Service charge income. As it was in your case, when you objected to this charge it was removed and it was left up to you to add whatever amount you wish to leave behind. This practice is part of our operating procedure and applies to anyone requesting it. While it should have been verbally communicated, it is also clearly stated on the information poster at the entrance of the Café as well as included in the copy of the various menus.
Based on the available credit card transmission reports only the corrected bill, approved by you, was submitted by our property, nothing additional was processed.
What happens to the service charge income? 100% of the collected amount is distributed to our service business partners; the hotel does not keep any part of it. I also want to point out that the average length of service for our morning crew is in excess of 6 years. I doubt that this would be the case if we would not make every effort to treat them with respect and concern for their well being.
Again, Thank You for the opportunity to address your concern in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Whilst this hotel was perfectly satisfactory it was not, in my experience, reflecting of the Crowne Plaza brand. I have stayed in Holiday Inn Expresses that are nicer in terms of layout, ambience and decor. The classic giveaway is the infamous Holiday Inn bathtub in the room. You know the one...that shallow tub that's too small for a real bath but just large to make you think it's a real bath. I think the Holiday Inn chain bought a job lot of them in the mid-sixties as I've seen them all over the world and they need to be changed...really. Otherwise the rooms were nicely appointed with pleasantly optically distorted mirrors that make you look 10lbs lighter and 3 inches taller. Nice touch until you see your real reflection :-)

We had a few issues with the internet fees and I was annoyed to learn that the 'free' internet for Platinum members which was heavily touted last year has now been cancelled (literally a week ago).

The restaurant is not really an interesting place for an evening meal (unless you have no other choice) and is really only a breakfast buffet set up right in the reception area. Again, not Crowne Plaza standard.

So all in all, this is a perfectly pleasant Mid-range Holiday Inn. On the other hand, I couldnt fault the price....so maybe I'm being a Priority Club snob?

But then again it's the ICHG that promotes the different brands and you should know instantly when it's a Holiday Inn or an Intercontinental...or a Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilOakshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear NeilOakshott, we are pleased that the hotel provided a satisfactory experience and that the renovated Guest room experience found your approval. Thank You for taking time to include this statement in your constructive feedback. Areas under the control of local management will certainly be the main focus for creating a satisfactory experience for our guests.
As you will note throughout your travels at InterContinental Hotels Group Hotels, IHG Rewards Club benefits have changed systemwide and have been standardized and aligned with each Brand of Hotels.
Wishing you relaxing and productive journeys throughout the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I won a voucher to stay at this hotel in Miami so I didn't really take the time to research about it. Upon arriving to Miami we called the hotel to see if there was a free shuttle. We found out that one comes every 20 minutes or so. At MIA there's no designated area for hotel shuttles so its the patrons responsibility to spot the right shuttle and flag down the driver to stop. Once on the shuttle it took 5 minutes to arrive at the hotel.
The hotel itself was nice despite the repair in the middle of the lobby. We were told the hotel is still under renovation, hence the small, yet temporary, fitness room. I liked how a room key was required in the elevator before it transports you to your floor. I also liked the cleanliness and design of the hallways. The rooms themselves were clean and modern looking. The king size bed was comfortable and the pillows were perfect. Housekeeping restocked the room quickly every morning with fresh towels and linens. There was even some relaxation kit we were able to use before bed. (nice little extra)
I also received vouchers for 3 free breakfast buffets. The food was the typical breakfast: bacon, sausage, potato, eggs, toast, cereal, fruit, bread. I was hoping for maybe waffles or pancakes, maybe even oatmeal one of the days but the food was the same every single day. Good thing it was free and decent tasting. The waitstaff was also very courteous.
Our plan was not to stay at the hotel but we didn't want to rent a car so here are some helpful tips if you're like us: 1)Use the free shuttle available to go to the mall or else a taxi (one-way) will cost you $30. 2)Use the free shuttle to Magic City Casino. The casino itself was not so great but from there it was a 20 min. walk to a popular restaurant called Versailles located in Little Havana. 3) Want to go to South Beach? Take the free shuttle to the airport. Go to the Metrobus station at MIA and take the 150 bus. Only $2.35 each way. Otherwise, a round trip by taxi can cost you about $100. 4) Have a phone number of a taxi company with you because it is not very easy to hail down a cab on the street. We had to call for one from Little Havana, one from Coral Gables, and one late at night from South Beach. It took them at least 20 minutes to arrive - plan accordingly. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jade830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Jade830, we appreciate you taking time to post this very informative review. I am sure future guests will find it very helpful. We are please that you enjoyed our hotel and service and Thank You for your visit. Alson, we noted your comment re the Breakfast item rotation. The lay out of the buffet does not allow for any additional sections to be added. We are working on a new menu that will enable our guest to choose items of their liking and it will be prepared fresh in the kitchen for you.

Again, Thank You for the very constructive comment posted. May your future journeys be enjoyable and safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.1 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#38 of 122 in Miami
1,765 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
0.2 mi away
Miami Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
Address: 950 NW 42nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126-3695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#24 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Miami Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience, comfort and personal service makes the Crowne Plaza Miami International Airport hotel an ideal destination for business and leisure travelers. The Crowne Plaza hotel MIA, located on NW Lejeune Rd, is only half a mile from the MIA terminals with 24-hour complimentary MIA shuttle service. Our hotel offers a complete package of guest amenities, including a full service restaurant, lounge, a South Beach style pool, and fitness center. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in all 305 rooms and public space. To make your stay even more convenient, we offer on demand remote printing capabilities in our business center (complimentary for registered guests). This Miami hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment. Transportation can be arranged to the Port of Miami and shuttle service is also available to the popular Dolphin Mall (both services are available for a small fee). Enjoy being just minutes away from trendy South Beach, Port of Miami, Coconut Grove nightlife and Coral Gables. **We are a non-smoking hotel.** The hotel is centrally located near Miami International Airport and putting all the excitement of Miami within easy reach makes us one of the most convenient hotels in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing