We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location off of the Florida Turnpike”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Miami / Kendall
Ranked #35 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location off of the Florida Turnpike”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I took a few days to visit the National Parks of south Florida (except for the Dry Tortugas). After visiting Biscayne NP and the southern areas of Everglades NP we looked for a place to stay the night before we set out to visit areas in the northern part of the Everglades NP as well as Big Cyprus NP. After consulting the map and tripadvisor, we chose the Comfort Suites in western Miami just off the Florida Turnpike...a place approximatley in the middle of our two day excursion.

The hotel itself was very easy to find and was just off the ramp from the turnpike...in fact we saw driving south the day before. There were a number of fast food places within walking distance and the gas station next door was nice since we were going to need to fill up before leaving the next morning. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Even though the hotel was right off the turnpike, noice was not an issue and had no trouble sleeping through the night. Service at the front desk and at the complementary breakfast was second to none.

The only complaint I have is that upon our entry into the room, it had a smell as if someone had used powdered carpet cleaner to mask a bad carpet odor. This initial smell subsided quickly and we only noticed it again when we left the room and came back in later.

Even though the room was a bit overpriced, I would stay here again on a return trip to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    138
    53
    8
    3
See reviews for
180
113
18
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This place was wonderful. All the staff was very professional and the management was A-1.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the last two digits of 02, 04, 06, o8. They all over look the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I had two requirements for booking our pre-cruise hotel in Miami: it had to have a separate bedroom from the living room (my husband and I were travelling with my parents and we required some level of privacy) and it had to be convienent to the airport and to the cruise port.

We checked in around 2am due to delayed flights and a long baggage wait in Miami. The taxi attendant at the airport chose a van for us, which turned out to be un-metered. If it wasn't so late at night and we weren't so exhausted and miserable, I would have requested a different van. We had a gut feeling we were getting hosed when the driver quoted us $55 for the ride to the hotel, but were too tired and inexperienced with Miami and the area to make a fuss. (Later I found out it should have only cost around $35).

The fellow who checked us in was friendly enough and efficient. When I went to purchase a bottle of water from the vending machine and discovered that the entire machine was out of stock of everything, I enquired with the front desk about alternatives and he very kindly provided us with complimentary small bottles of water. Nice touch.

I booked a one bedroom suite, with a pull out couch in the living room. My parents got the bedroom and said it was quite comfortable. However, the pull out couch was the worst I have ever had the displeasure of "sleeping" on. All wires and coils and very little mattress. My husband and I kept rolling into each other in the middle. The bathtub/shower was in the bedroom and had a tall and wide side to climb over to get into. If you have limited mobility it would have been very difficult as it was very awkward.

Breakfast was okay. A couple of cereal choices (raisin bran, rice krispies and fruit loops), bread to make toast, yogurt, some yucky looking patties of egg and sausage. The highlight was probably the make-your-own waffles. But with the line-up of people wanting that, I didn't have time to try it.

It was difficult to get a taxi to take us to the port due to the distance of the hotel from the airport (where there are always taxis in the neighbourhood). It took an hour for one to arrive after calling and cost about $35 if memory serves.

Overall I'd say this was an average hotel, but for meeting my two requirements I have to give it a thumbs down. The pull out couch was a nightmare and the distance from the airport and the port make it very inconvenient. Google map it before booking and expect to pay high taxi fares to/from, as obviously other reviewers who rate this hotel as being convenient for cruises have very different ideas of what that means. The hotel we stayed in post-cruise was a much better option for our needs (Hyatt House Miami Airport).

Room Tip: Don't sleep on the pull-out couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iloveclubmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We like a firmer mattress. Otherwise, a good experience. Friendly staff at check-in, nice amenities in the room, decent price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The 2 young women clerks were delightful and welcoming. The lighting above the table was nice for working. The pool was warm and pretty clean. The exercise room is awesome.
In the morning i was greated by Eva.she was very kind and helpful asisting with breakfast.
i would highly recomend this location to anyone visiting Kendal. thank you so much.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Only had one night in Miami after a cruise, and booked here because of the decent prices compared to a lot of other Miami hotels.
Really was a great stay even if it was short. Room was big and very clean with everything nice and very new looking. Hot tub and pool were clean and open later than a lot of hotels which was great. Free breakfast was excellent, great selection of cold and hot foods. WiFi connection was one of the best we've ever had in a hotel, very good speeds.

Only minus, and it was a minor one, was the distance from Miami Beach. It's about a 25 minute drive, but it's pretty much all freeway so it feels fast at least. But all the ammenities you could ask for are very close by. Really though, can't imagine anything being better anywhere at this price range in the Miami area. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The 2 male front desk clerks were all business upon my evening arrival and did not acknowledge my frequent traveler status with this chain. The 2 young women clerks the next morning were delightful and welcoming. The lighting above the table was nice for working. The pool was warm and pretty clean. The exercise room had a working tv and treadmill. There is a CVS and public groc store within walking distance which makes this a convenient hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Miami (Kendall)
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Miami Dolphin Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Miami / Kendall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Miami / Kendall

Property: Comfort Suites Miami / Kendall
Address: 3901 SW 117th Ave, Miami, FL 33175-1705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Miami
#10 Family Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Miami / Kendall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Miami, 12 miles from downtown and Miami International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Miami / Kendall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Miami
Comfort Suites Miami / Kendall Florida
Miami Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing